x2Originally posted by spinsugar:I definitely agree that we need to set more stringent immigration rules, and tighter rules for our working FTs. Right now Singapore's legs have literally been spread for the foreigners. Our National shame!
But hitting out directly at these foreigners who accepted our country's invitation to come over is a waste of our time. Neither Locals nor FTs stand to gain from indiscriminate bashing of FTs..the FTs don't, and won't, fully understand our actions. Plus our govt will simply take the opportunity to announce that Singaporeans aren't mature enough to have a say in our country's affairs.
Let's keep our quarrel focused on the people responsible for these stupid lax rules.. let them feel the heat. After we get the influx of FTs under control, we can subject our existing FTs to a system of stringent checks, like a yearly review, in order to prove their worth and stay on. Eventually, we can filter all the bad ones out and reverse the govt's terrible mistake.
I absolutely agree on you on the points above. As I said, these Indian nationals earned more than us (some twice as much), and they siphon taxpayers' money or the company who paid them, to India. Thus I don't see anything good about them as our money is outflowing.Originally posted by sourketchup:Let's be balanced about this. There is NO way we can close our doors to foreigners. If companies and factories cannot get cheap labour here, they would go elsewhere. But these are my gripes:
1. Why is it that we cannot compete with them on salaries? We are here for the long-term, we have to buy HDB flats, we have to pay for our children's education, we have to save up for our retirement here. ALL OF WHICH ARE EXPENSIVE. Foreigners can take the low pay and cramped living conditions because many are here for the short-term ONLY.
3. To elaborate on point 1, not ALL foreigners are cheap and good. Cheap? The professionals demand the same pay. The government is opening up the medical sector to foreign (Indian) doctors, most of whic have been ejected from UK. Does anyone think they will accept long-term lower pay than our own doctors? If they are going to get the same pay anyway, why not train more of our own as Singaporeans prefer to be seen by Singaporean doctors? As for being good, well, in anecdotes I have heard and incidents I have witnessed, our friendly Indian FTs are good in putting up shows, but ask them to "cho kang" and .................
Not that I am a racist, but during my time in Jcs and uni, many indian scholars are way too good at promoting themselves(which is wat locals are lacking--bragging skills) but when it comes to work, many of them are even lousier than locals....I can understand why some locals hate FT so much...Originally posted by soul_rage:I absolutely agree on you on the points above. As I said, these Indian nationals earned more than us (some twice as much), and they siphon taxpayers' money or the company who paid them, to India. Thus I don't see anything good about them as our money is outflowing.
Also, as my experience is similar to yours, I too find that Indians are good at "YES, I KNOW!!!" But actually don't know.
I would say that this stems from one-sided policymaking, with only input from "trusted" sources and none from the man in the street.Originally posted by spinsugar:I definitely agree that we need to set more stringent immigration rules, and tighter rules for our working FTs. Right now Singapore's legs have literally been spread for the foreigners. Our National shame!
But hitting out directly at these foreigners who accepted our country's invitation to come over is a waste of our time. Neither Locals nor FTs stand to gain from indiscriminate bashing of FTs..the FTs don't, and won't, fully understand our actions. Plus our govt will simply take the opportunity to announce that Singaporeans aren't mature enough to have a say in our country's affairs.
Let's keep our quarrel focused on the people responsible for these stupid lax rules.. let them feel the heat. After we get the influx of FTs under control, we can subject our existing FTs to a system of stringent checks, like a yearly review, in order to prove their worth and stay on. Eventually, we can filter all the bad ones out and reverse the govt's terrible mistake.
Sigh.............Originally posted by soul_rage:I absolutely agree on you on the points above. As I said, these Indian nationals earned more than us (some twice as much), and they siphon taxpayers' money or the company who paid them, to India. Thus I don't see anything good about them as our money is outflowing.
Also, as my experience is similar to yours, I too find that Indians are good at "YES, I KNOW!!!" But actually don't know.
Sigh.............Originally posted by soul_rage:I absolutely agree on you on the points above. As I said, these Indian nationals earned more than us (some twice as much), and they siphon taxpayers' money or the company who paid them, to India. Thus I don't see anything good about them as our money is outflowing.
Well, it doesn't surprise me that many top lawyers are from the Indian community.Originally posted by sourketchup:More than just "yes, i know!".
They can talk till the cows come home, and the crows turn white, before anyone realise they have been talking nonsense.
Yes, and they send the money home, money which could have stayed in Singapore.
Sigh.............
that's assuming that the majority of Singaporeans will accept the status quo.Originally posted by Coquitlam:I say let FTs all come in, let them all come in and make life more comepetitive for Sillyporeans....you think your gahmen will listen...will cut my wrist if they ever stop the inflow.....just like Changi Airport, its a wake up call to Sillyporeans to work either harder or smarter....the only concessions the gahmen will ever give are ERS shares...NSS shares etc or some rebates every now and then. period.
kekekeke
True to certain extent, but I dont see how those type 1 will rally help increase ur salary since they only BOAST of themselves, not their profession. They are not really creative....bragging skills are excellent...yes that i agree....Originally posted by livspore2006:Think the FTs come in 2 different types:
1) those who are going at creative ideas and talk a lot to market themselves (essentially bragging, lots of hot air but very interesting out-of-the-box ideas, sometimes an engineer's nightmare)
2) those who are going at doing things or getting things done (essentially literate at engineering, maths, accounting, trading, analysis, process, procedures)
let's face it, Singapore need both types to be around. As of now, our local education system has created a lot of type 2 but a bit weak at 1. Those FTs who come in as (2) typically will threaten our skillset. So who tend to resent them somehow. Those who come as (1) will complement us.
let's recognise that employers and society will pay differently to these different types and those who are type (2) (including myself) need to keep our type (2) skills sharpened as well as do more of type (1) in order to maintain our salaries lah!
I have met some Chinese national despite being here, they still like China better.Originally posted by carrotsoup:Of course more and more if not population how to reach 6.5m?
All these incoming Singapore PRs that have left China are deemed by our govt as foreign talents, and they are not quitters, as they have left their own country.
Jiang ren shuo ren hua, Jiang Gui shuo gui hua.
Our singlish slogan should be Come come, dun shy, join us.
It is possible that some of them may be using SG as a stepping stone to go to USA or Canada. I once had a PRC-bron classmate whose family later moved to Toronto.Originally posted by will4:I have met some Chinese national despite being here, they still like China better.
I kena told once by a local that if a foreigner worked in Spore,they will be held in high regards if they happened to show it to potential employers.Originally posted by iveco:It is possible that some of them may be using SG as a stepping stone to go to USA or Canada. I once had a PRC-bron classmate whose family later moved to Toronto.
That's why I say our gov is trying to hold sand in a basket made of chicken-wire...Originally posted by Arapahoe:They are everywhere.
the PRC nationale does come to Singapore as a Stepping stone so that they can travel to the US. Because Singapore passport does not require Visa.
Not all chinese come to singapore with good intention. Some are political observer send by PLA. Some want a better life, some want to go other place.
But I can tell you most would not assimulate well into Singapore until the 2nd generation.
The indian mirgrant are more rooted into India, most will move on after a few years.
You mean some of them are spies sent by Beijing?Originally posted by Arapahoe:They are everywhere.
the PRC nationale does come to Singapore as a Stepping stone so that they can travel to the US. Because Singapore passport does not require Visa.
Not all chinese come to singapore with good intention. Some are political observer send by PLA. Some want a better life, some want to go other place.
But I can tell you most would not assimulate well into Singapore until the 2nd generation.
The indian mirgrant are more rooted into India, most will move on after a few years.
Accent or not accent , they speak better mandarin than us. Period. How many of us can hold up our hands and say we can speak fluent mandarin (without english ) . So far I have seen the youths , sad to say most cannot speak very good mandarin. Even the mandarin educated chinese can't speak fluently, you can hear them speaking with a mixture of hokkien in the conversation .Originally posted by Hogzilla:Accent ~.
I would beg to differ on the last point.Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Accent or not accent , they speak better mandarin than us. Period. How many of us can hold up our hands and say we can speak fluent mandarin (without english ) . So far I have seen the youths , sad to say most cannot speak very good mandarin. Even the mandarin educated chinese can't speak fluently, you can hear them speaking with a mixture of hokkien in the conversation .
I am one of those who can put up his hands and say I can't speak good mandarin ? Most malays and Indians can speak their language well but why can't we ? This is talking point.
I never come across such nonsense from a Singaporean who obviously know nuts about the Chinese in China. Please Arapahoe, don't waste this forum's bandwidth by posting such mediocre rubbish .Originally posted by Arapahoe:They are everywhere.
Can't even spell properly.Originally posted by hellomotosxq:that is good . i like . i hope more and more china ppl go to sg . and the pmore ,the better .![]()
That's the key thing. We need to sometimes be able to talk and "brag" about our achievements in a formal setting. I think generally, we S'poreans are the "doers" and the "writers" and somehow lacking in this area. Not many of us are able to stand out there and "brag" about something that we do. When I say "bragging", I mean actually marketing ourselves.Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:True to certain extent, but I dont see how those type 1 will rally help increase ur salary since they only BOAST of themselves, not their profession. They are not really creative....bragging skills are excellent...yes that i agree....