Go ask government lor .Originally posted by NotFromVenus:Hey , Why aren't there FTs working in our grassroots organisations ? They are part and parcel of Singapore?![]()
Malaysia is the potential enemy, not Indonesia.Originally posted by fymk:If there is a war, how long do you think Singapore can last? No offence, Look at how densely populated and small Singapore is. A bomb could create massive casualities and level places quickly. HDB flats will look like a mini domino rally . Those bomb shelters they built under HDB Flats. They remind me of a pre-prepared mass grave.
Nope , there would not be a war on Singapore unless Indonesia wants to be funny. But it will be stupid . There is nothing to gain from warring on Singapore . War only stems from 3 reasons- Money Power and Greed. If you quote me the iraqi invasion , I will laugh my ass off ....Kuwait has oil . No resources , no oil . If Singapore is levelled - no economic wealth to gain . No power to be gained from taking over a small country.
In an event of a war, Malaysia will have to step in because Singapore is too strategically important to lose to Indonesia . I don't think Malaysia wants Indonesia at its door step .
Well said, human!Originally posted by (human):"1st they take your jobs, next they want to change yr lives." Those who allowed them to come in are not directly being affected, they are still getting their pay and bonuses. Be wary of the man who urges an action in which he himself incurs no risk!
if not defensible, we need to whack our government on spending $3-4 billion on defence every year!Originally posted by StMichael:You obviously have no idea of Singapore's "defensive" strategy. Our troops are trained mainly in jungle warfare (seen jungles in Singapore?), an important proportion of our troops are armour (ATTACK units), our troops practice beaching and storming of beaches (why would we want to do that in Singapore?) while our air force practises air support (not just interception).
I hope I've not spoken too much, but this away-from-home Singaporean needs to let our citizens know that Singapore is "defensible"...
I remember reading an article on PR n they mentioned Spore PR is like a stepping stone to migrating to other countries.Originally posted by fymk:You should write to the Government on this.
And you should write to Straits Times.
It is really an outrage that a PR dare make a comment this way when it is part and parcel of Singaporean citizenship.
*applause*Originally posted by fymk:Go ask government lor .
About 10 years ago , I remember arguing with an MP over this issue in a forum. My argument was against the rationale for keeping foreign talents in Singapore. I asked him why not let FT come in for 3 years and teach the Singaporean how to do things if you cannot find the skilled people instead of telling us all about requiring people with global experience. Or either that, send out your own Singaporeans as FT to gain the global experience and come back. He just kept trying to protect their FT policy and he just didn't bother to answer me , probably because I wasn't elite enough mah. I remember he was just giving assurances and some idiots actually believe that shat .
Most of the forumners were worried about it but you have some idiots who say Singapore will be for Singaporeans still and we need bangladeshi workers ( who are actually not FTs but FWs).
That was an indicator , a sort of forewarning to me that I cannot just stay in Singapore and expect to go up further in life if I don't have the elite education or elite connections. Not to mention the MPs will just do lipservice to the FT policy and as you can see from Wee Shu Min's daddy - they won't care because they just want you to get out of their uncaring elite face .
They allow employers to age discriminate against Singaporeans and you will definitely see a brain drain go out of Singapore once they figure what is going on.
Take for example what I heard about SIA from a friend's father who was an engineer with them . Once proudly owned and managed by Singapore and Singaporeans. Now you employ new and cheaper foreign people to work there - use the old ones to teach- then retrench the old ones - you get a nutbolt falling from the sky.
The old technicians are offered lucrative contracts back but they won't teach anymore because they got the sack for teaching - so they are wiser . No loyalty left - no one to pass on the skills at all. Why? Because the culture is such in Singapore that once you teach anyone - you outlive your use and you get sacked and replaced by the cheaper newer foreign talent. I learn all these from talking to retirees who are enjoying life in Australia now.
Good point!!!!!Originally posted by PoRen:Are Australia immigrants allow to change the lives of native Australians?
Nope. You respect them as they respect you.Originally posted by PoRen:Are Australia immigrants allow to change the lives of native Australians?
What to do? Singapore pays 1 million to ministers and the best policy they come up with is FT ....Originally posted by PoRen:That's what the article I posted right at the top is saying.
We have to change our lives to accomodate the FTs now.
The yankees had all the glorious strategies and war machines, the reality is that they got booted out of vietnam, and got stuck in iraq.Originally posted by vito_corleone:strategy is different from reality. bay of pigs, vietnam, iraq all had glorious strategies and supposed results, look what happened in the end![]()
you private GD man in the army huhh ? so poor on military history and strategies.Originally posted by fymk:Japanese wanted domination - utter and complete imperial domination of Asia. Singapore , aka part of Malaya back then , had the British there therefore Singapore must be invaded . Understand?
ever heard of hydrogen bombs? Nuclear weapons? Forget the A bombs on Nagasaki and hiroshima...you have the H bombs as well as very advanced thermonuclear weapons . H bomb makes A bomb look like a freaking toy. Why do you think people are so worried about North Korea's arsenal?
Ok lor u win lor . However like I said , no one will come bother Singapore because any war on her means a drain on their resources and rebuilding her means a larger drain on their resources.Originally posted by sgdiehard:you private GD man in the army huhh ? so poor on military history and strategies.
Japan didn't want domination for the sake of domination, Thailand kawtao and gave them whatever they wanted, so they didn't take over Thailand. Singapore was taken over because Singapore was the base for the British forces in the Far East, and also strategic port for merchant vessels from the West, until they completed the railroad from Burma to Vietnam.
Who has got nuclear weapons and want to use it on Singapore? who has got the ability to launch the nuclear weapons at us? Are we really worried about the North Korean nuclear weapons? You need to think carefully how these weapons can be used or you will s h i t brick everytime you hear about nuclear weapons.
Nobody build a conventional armed forces for fear of nuclear weapons. Conventional armed forces are built despites of the present of nuclear weapons.
10 years ago, I used to believe in PAP. But as the years passed, I found it increasingly difficult to believe in them.Originally posted by pearlie27:Singapore govt's dollar-and-cent style has made Sg not only unattractive to foreigners to want to sink their roots here but also to locals to raise their next generation!
This is the reason 800 Sporean migrated to other countries each year. It is so funny to read report 5 room HDB flat is empty until need to be converted toOriginally posted by ShutterBug:10 years ago, I used to believe in PAP. But as the years passed, I found it increasingly difficult to believe in them.
To date, I think I hate them....
I think you share the same sentiment as like a growing number of Singaporeans.Originally posted by ShutterBug:10 years ago, I used to believe in PAP. But as the years passed, I found it increasingly difficult to believe in them.
To date, I think I hate them....
Do you know why is this so? It is harder for people to support that kind of price of a 5 room flat this days. Why? Because the price of the house increased until a level where by typical salary can be hardly to subtain it.Originally posted by will4:This is the reason 800 Sporean migrated to other countries each year. It is so funny to read report 5 room HDB flat is empty until need to be converted to
smaller flat
thats my whole point: a strong military with picture perfect strategies might not work.Originally posted by sgdiehard:The yankees had all the glorious strategies and war machines, the reality is that they got booted out of vietnam, and got stuck in iraq.![]()
It all depends on which side you are looking at. May be the americans should not have any armed forces....
Ya bro., I have this exact same notion!Originally posted by charlize:I think you share the same sentiment as like a growing number of Singaporeans.
To think that only maybe 10 years back, the party enjoyed a reasonable amount of support from the people.
Slowly but surely the support is eroding and at an increasing rate for the past few years.
But the irony I would think is that the catalyst for change will not come from Singaporeans but from the new immigrants and/or within the party itself.
And it will happen suddenly.
Looking at your previous postings, I can say that except for this NS issue, I agree with you on most of your postings on FT.Originally posted by fymk:Ok lor u win lor . However like I said , no one will come bother Singapore because any war on her means a drain on their resources and rebuilding her means a larger drain on their resources.
How about the foreign talent policies in regards to Singapore's NS men's morale? Serve 2 years and then worry about holding on to a job while doing reservist and when 40 , expect to become redundant with some girl telling you to get out of her elite uncaring face and her MP daddy supporting her.
Look at what one of the forumners said about what a foreign talent HR person said to him when he applied for the job. You think that will help morale of the civillian army ?
Any regrets or looking back would be too late once you make your move, and you bet your ass you would need to work hard wherever you go, unless you have a lot to bring from here. Anyway, no venture no gain, I wish you and all like you all the best when you leave.Originally posted by Coquitlam:Well I do agree that NS is a must....so let those who are keen to stay on and those who are keen to come here, let em all serve...as for me and the other 800...mind you, our numbers will grow larger every year...and then we will move out of here with our families and children and wish Sillypore all the best...
No regrets and no looking back....if Sillypore does not want to change or changes too slowly...I don't deny there is change but its too slow....Good luck then....Adios
We will still work hard in our adopted overseas land....