its subjective i think......for some people its ok, for some people they'd rather do other things with 2 years of their lives. and i would think NSmen would be taxpayers after they enter the working world (assuming they don't go abroad to work) so in a sense we're paying for ourselves to serve NS.Originally posted by FireIce:2 years to train the body and the mind quite ok wat....
dun forget it's taxpayers money oso.......
Den I pay u $240 a mth and u go serve loh! Talk is easy!!! train wat mind wat body? u dun even knows wat happens inside!!!Originally posted by FireIce:2 years to train the body and the mind quite ok wat....
dun forget it's taxpayers money oso.......
y u dun go sign-on? wat u mean no obstacles? IPPT, iCT?Originally posted by Thailand_Hero:Be a man...defend your land for that 2 and half years.
after that you have the future all ahead of you with no more obstacles. As young men we must protect our country from our foreign assholes....
I dont want to have some foreign dick poking my wife's pussy...raping her...
i rather defend my homeland for all its worth
Originally posted by Centaur:training is completed within 1.5 yr but datz oni training, u still nit to go unit to train wif ur men wat, or else how u learn to co-ordinate with them to fight a battle. if u reali r such a wimp n dun wana protect ur family n dun mind ppl fuckin ur wife, go somewhere else, den u dun haf to do reservist.
NSF is too damn bloody [b]LONG liao!All those kind of crap training that can be finished in 1 to 1 & half years took away our 2 & half years. It's a waste of time and our youth serving for this country that doesn't care about us. The government is like an money-generating enterprise. Costs keeping increasing and nothing decreases except our pay!!!
Originally posted by nooki:training is completed within 1.5 yr but datz oni training, u still nit to go unit to train wif ur men wat, or else how u learn to co-ordinate with them to fight a battle. if u reali r such a wimp n dun wana protect ur family n dun mind ppl fuckin ur wife, go somewhere else, den u dun haf to do reservist.
Well said!! And the government doesnt even care if people has strong objections to certain changes (eg fare hike, CPF, parking fees, night ERP, GST, etc etc) They are just too high and mighty to reverse these changes, perhaps afraid to leave the impression that they are not decisive enuff or afraid to lose authority. So how can anyone not feel short-changed? Singaporeans are 2nd class citizens in their own country, migrate oso 2nd class. It's a lose-lose situation... sighOriginally posted by poisonpoppies:I don't really have anything personal against these foreigners, after all, its their right to seek oppurunites wherever they are, but doesn't anybody feel cheesed off that we are expected to fight and die for a country that can't even garuantee us a job / education over the 'outsiders' ?
Originally posted by Magpie:Well if u pple think that u are 2nd class citzens what's the point of staying then, guys tend to lose out to gals in the begining but don't u get a higher starting pay. Nothing in this world is garunetted.... where got such thing? Even if u buy a product seldom got life time garunette.. got to work for it man. Well personally would u rather have some other countries rule us.. Malaysia, Indon or china? Look where the country are now? Or maybe u guys like to be ruled by UK or USA.. got pension scheme so got free money good rite.but u guys never look at the bad side of things .lolz I'm not really Pro-PAP they got some good things going and there are bad things too but no one's perfect. But look at some of the opposition candidates.. Dr Chee Soon Juan geeezsh what a character !! Think he will make a good PM? Beside Mr Chaim and Mr Low don't see any other good ones around. Coming back to NSF hey NDP who do u think besides Mindef got the capaibility to organise it?don't think any private company go the power to pull so many strings. Must be a govt one... and the biggest of them all??>>>Mindef. Hey NDP wasn't that bad although burnt many suns but still got off and free food(always got extra) plus the occasion babe. Get to get out of camp too it beats any shit job i got Beside me rather go do NDP then spent 4 days 3 nites seeing stars in Choa Chu Kang or Mandai or doing PT. Don't think I remember any civilian guy got called back to prepare for NDP as a NS man. Well the Problem now is that spore is too small and is now too saturated in almost every industry don't u think? Govt planning wasn't really good should have saw the recession years coming, But at least NS wasn't that bad.. less worries then don't u think? mon-sat in camp, book out chiong.. or work part-time then book in again. kiannia not like now must worry abt so many bills and savings.. But ain't complain and there is no use complaining.. Chin up.. always think of a better tomorrow.
Cheers guys![]()
Originally posted by tripwire:Eh.... wat kind of a deterence forces is SAF ... if the enemy believes that all its current standing forces are merely trainnee soldiers??/
True... the training can be completed earlier... but... being trained and being really trained and skilled in the art of war... is a different matter....
By being part of the ORBAT daily... even if you are resting in a bunk ... you serve the nation in deterring enemy.. cos the enemies knows.. as long as there are troops in the bunk... they can suit up, armed, load up and move out.... to challenge unwelcomed visitors....
in fact... wat do you think our enemy's regular units do everyday? do you really think they trained everyday?? i know that they everyday like our NSF... must eat, shit, sleep and grouse.... but... do you think they everyday train and train and train?? i mean.... how many things are there to be trained in?? eventually... they regular units also sleep in their bunk most of the time... if not conducting some patrol...
Tat's y so many local talents arent locals anymore. Indeed I would like to work overseas.Originally posted by Magpie:Well if u pple think that u are 2nd class citzens what's the point of staying then,
guys tend to lose out to gals in the begining but don't u get a higher starting pay.Dont be so gullible. That's just an impression made for us to believe. U think the government can control the whole private sector's pay scale? Wat? Guys get 50-100$ more starting pay? Who decides tat? Government? or the company employing u??
U may be rite about that, provided u are still stuck inside as a NSF.
Hey NDP wasn't that bad although burnt many suns but still got off and free food(always got extra) plus the occasion babe. Get to get out of camp too it beats any shit job i got Beside me rather go do NDP then spent 4 days 3 nites seeing stars in Choa Chu Kang or Mandai or doing PT.
Tat's up to u to believe or not. My friend was working for free, altho it was not this year. I'd check wif him if u insist on details.
Don't think I remember any civilian guy got called back to prepare for NDP as a NS man.
I believe they will always welcome u back there.
But at least NS wasn't that bad.. less worries then don't u think? mon-sat in camp, book out chiong.. or work part-time then book in again. kiannia not like now must worry abt so many bills and savings.. But ain't complain and there is no use complaining.. Chin up.. always think of a better tomorrow.
Originally posted by Magpie:I am not talking about a female being my superior. Please dont mis-understand this to be a sexist comment. I am talking about the time we lost while serving NS, and when we are out starting a career, people from your same batch (be it the girls or foreigners who doesnt need to serve NS) would have had 2~3 years experience already. They would probably be your superior by the time u start work. 2~3 years is too much time wasted for a young man.
Anyway [b]User Name, I have no objections about a female being my superior but I do beilieve the govt can control the whole private sector pay scale. [/b]