i believe you are just be sarcastic right?Originally posted by mhcampboy:How to be world class if we dun depend on them..![]()
Aiya bro., best we just save up whatever we can as much as we can and just move out when time comes.Originally posted by Lowclassman:The "privatisation" effect has in fact made our transportation system worse.
Taxi fares are going up too. Real wage of an average Singaporean reamins "Stagnant" ( If you ask me it has fallen dramatically ).... so taxi usage will not improve in the near future until the IRs are completed.
So I have absolutely no idea how did LTA pull manage to assume those figures which it has hope to improve. And to be frank, after the Bozos from Aussieland finished their report, expect more MAD Hare schemes to be implemented. We have the most complex payment system in the world for our fares. T
The fact remains that we are only a small island... there is simply no excuse where the Transport providers sees itself fit to be ALWAYS passing the cost of their infrastruce building and the renewal of their fleet to the consumers.
PUBLIC transportation is a utility item. It is something that every country must invest in with their taxpayer's money, to built land transport infrastructure. But our transport providers have always maintain their position of charging every single cent to us while KEEPING ALL THEIR PROFITS to themselves.
To be blunt, it is also a simple issue of addressing the commuters' needs rather then creating more complex schemes to make things work. If the system is efficient, simple and the fares are reasonable, it is only logical to expect more commuters to use the transport system extensively.
Not far better lah!!u must also taking into account of intangible loss like inconvience cost ,time etc s well.Originally posted by LinYu:this is far better than the $400,000 spent on renaming Marina Bay - MARINA BAY![]()
You never know, the consortium might come back to say, "well, at the end of the day, I think you already have a top class transport system. no changes needed, just maybe make the following slight changes...." duh....Originally posted by LinYu:this is far better than the $400,000 spent on renaming Marina Bay - MARINA BAY![]()
Actually there is another renaming event that was held.Originally posted by LinYu:this is far better than the $400,000 spent on renaming Marina Bay - MARINA BAY![]()
I just dont understand why they engaged an Australian's consultant firm, r their transportation system same as us???Originally posted by red_amoeba:You never know, the consortium might come back to say, "well, at the end of the day, I think you already have a top class transport system. no changes needed, just maybe make the following slight changes...." duh....
I've worked with consultants before (esp foreign ones) - they will, (a) on context of gathering information, talk to each and everyone involved, from the planners, to the policy makers, ask you to tell them how the current system work, what are the difficulties you meet, what are the challenges you forsee, blah and blah and they'll diligently jot down what you tell them.
Then, they will so call do "some problem modelling" using some propietary software or algorithm that supposedly come up with a model. Then they will propose lengthy analysis, list down the core factors / problem areas that should be addressed / taken care of.
Last but not least, they will give recommendations on the problems and lo and behold, the recommendations are gleaned from what was told to them by the various staff / person in charge during the interviews ! Because only the top top management reads these reports, they don't know that probably uncle tan fifty hierarchical ranks below them actually have this solution / proposal.
And if you read further, you realise its wishy washy, broad motherhood statements - rationalise the operations of the departments, centralise the decision making process, cut down the lines of reporting, blah blah...and most of time means - RETRENCHMENT.....
I firmly believe that for transportation problem, it is an unique problem for Singapore and I really don't see the point of asking an Australian consultant, you mean we have no one in Singapore capable of doing something like this? Whatever happened to the LTA scholars? Whatever happened to the Policy making ppl? Why can't Singaporeans solve a Singaporean problem? If you look at metropolis like New York and Tokyo, most of those problems are solved locally using ingenius ideas conceived locally. Give the locals a chance, don't everything run to outsiders.
Hanor, I always thought they were the ones learning from us.Originally posted by foomwee88:I just dont understand why they engaged an Australian's consultant firm, r their transportation system same as us???
Why we cant send the schloars to HK and looking into and learing from their tansportation system at where is 100% better than us i.e with sea,land and ferry transportation system all housed in an airport .
Why should we throw $ to a consultant firm which is operating in a country where there is a different transportation system, to look into the problem ???
haha...who reputed us? our 148th media or our elite ministers?Originally posted by dragg:i thought our transport system is reputed to be one of the best in the world.
why do we need others to assess it for us?![]()
the price hike!!!Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:haha...who reputed us? our 148th media or our elite ministers?
World class my foot!!!Originally posted by dragg:i thought our transport system is reputed to be one of the best in the world.
why do we need others to assess it for us?![]()
Perhaps, a world class legalised corrupted country!!!!Originally posted by Lowclassman:World class my foot!!!
A tiny singapore.....with endless national tax funding & maintaining of roads, highway of such short distances, putting up many signages.....If they can't manage with with tiny island...than they go and die!!!
thats why they get such high pay.Originally posted by 4getmenot:knn ask singaporeans not to whine and complain and instead tackle their own problems, yet they 'engage an outside help' to solve their transport problem.. get so high salary for what?
knn.. you should have kept it for yourself, they might come up with a new contest to give a new name or image for the singapore girl..i think you just lost 100k...Originally posted by siaokao:Next.. rename Singapore Girl.. SINGAPORE GIRL?? Please award me this contract.. i charge only 100K..![]()