Partially agreed with U!! but not the last parag!Originally posted by FireAndHell:Bigmouthjoe, u should'nt have called ppl s@#$%d. It reflects very badly on yourself. If ppl here are wat u say they are, they would'nt be able to communicate at all. Perhaps, if u are smarter than all the ppl here, u should be actually making tonnes of money and be so rich that u will be living in cloud nine!U would'nt need to worry about what goes on in Singapore. U can be residing in the best country [if there is such a country] with no worries about a country's political scene at all.
Junta chief Sonthi Boonyaratglin on Wednesday said all mobile-phone conversations were being picked up and relayed to Singapore, so that the country could spy on Thai security.http://www.nationmultimedia.com/2007/01/19/headlines/headlines_30024495.php
Bro, do u know that if this matter was not handled properly,it will affect our sporeans's companies and their investments in THAILAND!!!! Billions$ u know or not!!!!Suck!!!!Originally posted by FireAndHell:I don't see why so many ppl here want to make such a big hoo ha about the political happenings between Sing and Thai. It's not as if Sing is going to be in the dumps just because of a bad patch with the Thai. Worried that Singaporeans will have a problem visiting Thailand's "tourist spots"? Which country in this whole wide world don't have a hiccup with another in its' lifespan? Even the best country have such problems. It will go away.
Why be so uptight with Sing government? We should really appreaciate that we still have a home and jobs in Sing, though it may not always be a bed of roses. Think them 1st world European, American, Japanese etc countries don't have a problem? We are not white, think we won't be discriminated against if we live in Europe or America? Maybe if you have millions in the bank, you will be welcome in Europe or America, but up to a point-the government will welcome you with open arms or should I say-your millions. But when yoiu are on the streets, you will be discriminated against, just because you are not white.Think we will be accepted in Japan? Wait long long ar!
Maybe in China for the chinese. But than again, China have 1 bn citizens. Think we can fit in?![]()
An informed government source said this diplomatic retaliation could also affect the planned summit later this year between the leaders of the two countries if the situation does not improve.
Last week in Cebu, Chan informed Foreign Minister Nitya Phibulsonggram and Krit Garnjanagoonchorn that Thaksin would be visiting Singapore for four days on a private visit and that Jayakumar would host him a private lunch. No immediate action was taken after the message was relayed to the Thai side. But Thaksin appeared to have crossed the threshold when he went to the foreign media during his visit to attack the government and the junta.
A Thai source said Thaksin's visit was at the invitation of Singapore.
In his interview with Wall Street Journal, Thaksin discredited the Thai government's economic policies and also derided the power seizure that deposed him from power on September 19.
Thaksin also took a political pot-shot during his five-minute stint on CNN and reminded the audience that he was democratically elected.
The indefinite suspension of the important summit retreat between the two leaders scheduled for later this year represents a low-point in Thai-Singapore relations
This informal retreat has been the main forum for leaders of both countries to engage in a tete-a-tete on pivotal bilateral and regional issues. The fourth summit retreat was scheduled later this year in Singapore. The first was held in Phuket in 2003, the second in Sentosa Island 2004, and the latest summit was held in Chiang Mai in 2005.
Another important bilateral meeting, known as Thai-Singapore Civil Service Exchange Programme (CSEP) has also been suspended.
Singapore Foreign Minister Yeo was scheduled to fly in for the CSEP meeting in early February. This programme started in 1998 and was aimed at strengthening cooperation between the civil service sectors as part of the "strategic partnership" banner.
Singapore is now run by a Brigadier General Lee, no? you have a better general in mind?Originally posted by drawer:I do hope there is a military coup to overthrow this dictatorial PAP government!!!
You never know if they spying on us back. If they know we are spying on them and we don't know they are spying on us we are all in deep shit.Originally posted by lionnoisy:ha ha make me laugh.Thai Intelligence so bad that SG can spy them.
[b]
http://www.nationmultimedia.com/2007/01/19/headlines/headlines_30024495.php
Yes I agree with you, these sillyporeans only think of their face...Originally posted by foomwee88:Bro, do u know that if this matter was not handled properly,it will affect our sporeans's companies and their investments in THAILAND!!!! Billions$ u know or not!!!!Suck!!!!
Sillyporeans!!!!
Be more mature!!! as a sporean doesnt want 2 reveal so much 2 o/siders!!!Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:You never know if they spying on us back. If they know we are spying on them and we don't know they are spying on us we are all in deep shit.
It's open secret. All countries eavesdrop on each other.... don't tell me you don't know that...![]()

I don't know what to say... please go an google on how you can tap phone conversation... Now is 21st century leh... you think we all now cavemen huh.Originally posted by Short Ninja:How could Thai intelligence top secret phone converstation now have to past through Singapore first??Is that smart or toopid.No wonder some people are super pissed off.
2.Military to return to use two-way radios: Sonthi
Foreign Minsiter Nitya Pibulsonggram said Friday that he had personally warned his Singporean counterpart that there would be "reactions" from Thailand if ousted prime minister was received by Singapore Deputy Prime Minister S Jayakumar early this week.
The military will return to the traditional mode of communication - two-way radios - amidst concerns of possible wiretapping by mobile-phone operators, General Sonthi Boonyaratglin said Friday.--http://www.nationmultimedia.com/breakingnews/read.php?newsid=30024590
"We will use more radio communications. We already have the equipment so we'll get back to our old tools," he said.
Sonthi, the Army commander and chairman of the Council for National Security, on Wednesday dropped a bombshell by saying that mobile-phone conversations were picked up and relayed to Singapore. He suggested that the island state could spy on Thailand.The Nation
Originally posted by lionnoisy:A small dog near my house always bark to everyone passing by its place, knowing that nobody bother to bark it back. It's so proud of its courage and will brag about it to other dogs nearby. One day my son ran passing it and kicked it as soon as its mouth is open. The dog, with bloody tounge, outcried that it was "bullied". What a pathetic dog!
3.Spore is not a small bro any more,to any one,even to US.Take note.
4.Tell me which country will crash with US President just for
canning a teen whose name is Michael Faye .
ONLY SPORE DARE TO DO THIS AND WILL CONTINUE TO DO SO.
Singapore never made any noise, we just cane Michael Faye or anybody who dirty our walls, we have tea with friends from overseas, it is indeed the dogs around us that are barking.Originally posted by Sleepless in Bangkok:A small dog near my house always bark to everyone passing by its place, knowing that nobody bother to bark it back. It's so proud of its courage and will brag about it to other dogs nearby. One day my son ran passing it and kicked it as soon as its mouth is open. The dog, with bloody tounge, outcried that it was "bullied". What a pathetic dog!![]()
hehe, isn't typical message below called "bragging" in your country?Originally posted by sgdiehard:Singapore never made any noise, we just cane Michael Faye or anybody who dirty our walls, we have tea with friends from overseas, it is indeed the dogs around us that are barking.![]()
you proud of your son who kick a small dog?? I thought you should be proud only if he takes on a bigger boy!
Like father like son. Pathetic.
If you are so farking good, go and challenge Mr Sonthi la, why take on us small boys... only know how to talk big.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Singapore never made any noise, we just cane Michael Faye or anybody who dirty our walls, we have tea with friends from overseas, it is indeed the dogs around us that are barking.![]()
you proud of your son who kick a small dog?? I thought you should be proud only if he takes on a bigger boy!
Like father like son. Pathetic.
I wonder what is the criteria to be a general in the SAF. Get distinctions in your studies?Originally posted by sgdiehard:Singapore is now run by a Brigadier General Lee, no? you have a better general in mind?![]()
Thai FM warned S'pore over meeting ThaksinUnfortunately, our govt apparently decided that it was a 'trivial' matter and permitted it to go ahead despite the warning signs.
Foreign minister Nitya Pibulsonggram says he informed S'pore counterpart George Yeo at Cebu summit that planned meeting with DPM Jayakumar was unacceptable
The Nation
Jan 20, 2007
Thai Foreign Minister Nitya Pibulsonggram said yesterday that he had personally warned his Singaporean counterpart George Yeo that there would be "reactions" from Thailand if former prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra was received by Singapore's Deputy Prime Minister S Jayakumar during his visit to Singapore last week.
Mr Nitya said that after having been informed of Mr Thaksin's pending visit to Singapore, the Thai Foreign Ministry notified Singapore "at least three times" that the treatment to be accorded Thaksin was "unacceptable" to the Thai Government.
Speaking to a group of senior editors during their lunch meeting with Prime Minister General Sura-yud Chulanont at Baan Phitsanu-loke, Mr Nitya said his warning to Minister George Yeo during the Asean summit meeting in Cebu, the Philip-pines, had been unmistakable.
"I told him: 'We cannot accept the fact that Thaksin is going to be received by Singapore's deputy prime minister'," Nitya said. "I emphasised that it was something unacceptable." The Thai foreign minister said he also warned Yeo "there would be reactions" from Thailand if Mr Jayakumar received Thaksin.
Mr Nitya was apparently trying to counter media reports that the Foreign Ministry had not been forceful enough in impressing on the Singaporeans how serious the consequences of such meeting would be.
Despite Thailand's protest, the Singaporean government went ahead and arranged a meeting between Mr Thaksin and Mr Jayakumar which subsequently prompted the Thai Foreign Ministry to retaliate by suspending all high-level meetings with Singapore, including a ministerial dialogue scheduled later this month. The invitation to the Singaporean foreign minister to attend the dialogue was also withdrawn.
Mr Nitya said that while other countries were sensitive to the Thai Government's stand on Thaksin, Singapore had made itself an exception.
"It was a slap in the face to Thailand and tantamount to recognising the former government," said the Thai FM.
He added that that during his conversation with Mr Yeo, he had also reminded his Singaporean counterpart of President SR Nathan's recent pledge to General Surayud that Singapore would not do anything to "betray" the trust and understanding between the two countries.
"I looked Yeo in the eyes and reminded him that he had been there when President Nathan said that," Mr Nitya said.
Asked how the two countries would repair the damage from the row, Mr Nitya said the Foreign Ministry would assess the situation "on a daily basis" before deciding what to do next.
"But if you are asking me if I am going to fly to Singapore tomorrow, the answer is no," he added.
An informed source close to Surayud said that during their meeting in Cebu Chinese Foreign Minister Li Zhaoxing had told the Thai leader that China was very uneasy about Mr Thaksin's presence and activities in Beijing, where he spent most of his time after London following his ouster from power in the Sept 19 coup.
Mr Li also assured Gen Surayud and Mr Nitya that Beijing would not allow the former Thai leader to engage in any activities that would displease the Thai government.
"Li also assured Surayud and Nitya that no Chinese official had met Thaksin during his stay in China," said the source.
The source said the Chinese understood the situation very well.
"When Khun Nitya tried to explain at length to Li what Thaksin shouldn't be allowed to do while in China, the Chinese foreign minister even helped him to get straight to the point, asking him: 'So you want him to do nothing damaging to his own country, is that right'?" the source said.
Meanwhile, Gen Surayud said that former prime minister Thaksin was welcome to return to Thailand but only when the "terms" had been worked out. "He can return, but first we have to talk about certain conditions," he said, without elaborating.
The General earlier said that Mr Thaksin should only return to Thailand after a new government came to power following a general election.
He also insisted that the Thai Foreign Ministry's decision to suspend all high-level contacts with Singapore in retaliation for Thaksin's recent visit to the island state during which he met Mr Jayakumar was appropriate and necessary "to let Singapore know how Thai people feel".
But when asked for comment on the claim by General Sonthi Boonyaratglin, chairman of the Council for National Security, that Singapore had been eavesdropping on Thailand's communication channels, Surayud said it was only a "technical matter".
"If you ask them, they will of course deny it," he said.
On Thaksin's ongoing tour of the region and media interviews, the prime minister said his government had no objection as long as he was not accorded recognition by host governments the way he had been in Singapore.
In a related development, Singaporean Ambassador to Thailand Peter Chan met Interior Minister Aree Wongsearaya but played down the meeting as "a normal courtesy call".
"Mr Chan said Singapore would continue to work with Thailand to strengthen their longstanding good relations and looked forward to an improvement in relations," said a statement from the Singaporean Embassy in Bangkok.
Meanwhile, Mr Thaksin arrived in Japan late on Thursday on a private jet from Beijing. He is expected to continue with his attack on the government in Bangkok and reportedly will meet business leaders.
Mr Thaksin played down the trip, telling waiting reporters there was no pressing reason for his visit.
"Now is a time for me to relax, get together with my family and see my old friends,'' Thaksin was quoted by the Associated Press as saying upon arrival at Narita International Airport outside Tokyo.
Japanese officials reportedly said they were aware of Mr Thaksin's visit but had no plans to meet the former leader.
Tokyo University spokeswoman Kayoko Hayashi dismissed media reports that Thaksin was planning to deliver a speech at the university and receive an honorary degree.
S'pore FM George Yeo confirms Thai warning over Thaksin's visit
But he assured his Thai counterpart that the former premier's meeting with DPM Jayakumar was "completely social and private".
AsiaOne
Jan 20, 2007
Singapore's Foreign Minister George Yeo, who is currently in Calcutta, has confirmed that Thai Foreign Minister Nitya Pibulsonggram spoke to him "two to three times" in Cebu about former Thai Prime Minister's visit to Singapore.
A spokesman for the Foreign Minister, responding to the Mr Nitya's comments reported in The Nation today, said: "Foreign Minister George Yeo said that he had the highest respect for Foreign Minister Nitya Pibulsonggram.
"Minister Yeo said that while he understood the Thai Government's concern, he also sought Minister Nitya's understanding of the Singapore Government's position.
"Minister Yeo assured Minister Nitya that Dr Thaksin would have no official meeting in Singapore and that his meeting with Deputy Prime Minister S. Jayakumar would be completely social and private."
Mr Thaksin, who has been living in exile since the coup, said in an interview on CNN this morning that he came to Singapore to play golf and meet old friends.
Absolutely nothing wrong with the ordinary ThaisOriginally posted by Advante_101:I think enough is enough la..Stop contributing to this thread liao..I think threadstarter motive is trying to stir up the hatred between singaporeans and the thai pple which he is unable to do so successfully la..Enough is enough la stop
We should hope that our relationships with the peaceful fun loving Thai pple and her goverment are established back to normal..Just like the old good days
Life goes back as usual..
Peace..