Actually hor, if I remember correctly, I voted for him as best chicken rice in 1994 (or 95, cannot remember) when a keling vendor turned up with power assistants. But he said one of the keling assistants was chauvinist cos the assistant only sold white chicken and not roast chicken as well. So I gong gong voted for him mah. What to do, even though I went to a world class university, that does not mean I have a world class blain.
Anyway, can you imagine my shock in 2001 (or izzit 2002) when there were no tender and I did not get to vote? Turned out that even though my subsidized seat did not move physically, it was now part of another Great Relak Corner. strange leh.
Anyway, for some reason, the Great Relak Corner other vendor also wan in 2006. But by then, I decided not to eat chicken rice leow. Anything but chicken for me. The problem now is my subsidized seat how?
Today lunch time i order chicken rice, this stall owner is so good.
Normally his chicken rice is $2.50 per plate. He subsidized me $0.50 from the market rate and charge me only $2.00. <<<<<
Sorry dumbo, your calculation is wonky. The market price for chicken rice a la Mandarin is $20 + + +.
The hawker is subsidising or giving you discount of at least $20.
What about yellow chicken from ? What if you breed it with white cockerel? Will it make good chicken rice?
What much will be subsidised?Even though i bought one seat, i still have to pay other monthly charges for that seat. Still i am considered one of the lucky ones to be able to buy a seat cos according to the owner it is heavily subsidized.
But now i am working my arse off to pay for this seat!!!
Main thing is that it is affordable, even it takes you 30 years to pay it.
Juz spoke to the chicken rice seller. He said if he worked in a 10 star restaurant, he could charge $2,000 per plate. So u're right lah, the market price is $25 and it's heavily subsidised at $2.50.
Actually hor you must take your hat off to them.
They have a fantastic marketing strategy.
They tell you that chicken rice is an important staple food and we must have enough people willing to sell chicken rice. Cos not every good cook or talent may want to sell chicken rice. So there must be some support to the price structure. but from what i understand whenever people want to open chicken rice stall, they will point fingers and criticise and also try to find ways to make it difficult for other stalls to open.
And one of the sales line is that - "we do this business not for money but so that all of you can have chicken rice during lunchtime."
Another sales line - They will tell you the cock and bull story about how sometimes chicken rice in the hotels and restaurants can cost S$25 a plate and we ought to be grateful to have chicken rice for S$2/-.
One other sales line - To give you a little more chilli would have to raise price to cover costs.
the last time i knew they gave me some old cucumber as garnish and said that it was the special for the day and it would make the rice taste better. And charged me 30cents for it. The problem was - i did not ask for the cucumber!