Good. You accepted the fact that it's society's fault and societal norms that dictates the action of this person.Originally posted by fymk:Cool it people.
In my opinion, the blame cannot be placed all on the government. The government policies may be linked (and disliked by me) but it does not present a direct causal effect on the outcome. It can also be argued that there were courtesy campaigns during my time ( anyone remember that smile campaign with that silly looking lion?)
It is the society's fault and the failure of parents to bring up a civil minded person. Societal norms dictate that if it is not your business, you just turn and look the other way - so people don't bother unless it is an accident and they want to buy 4D numbers off the carplate then it becomes their business to be busy bodies. Another norm involves expecting someone to take the initiative instead of asking directly for something because the person did not want to seem rude. But if they expect and their expectations fall short even though THEY NEVER BOTHER TO ASK-- they will whine like this woman did.
However the fault cannot be laid totally on the society because you still have considerate Singaporeans around who would gladly do the right thing when it happens in front of them.
So we can only conclude that it is more of the result of the upbringing and societal norms. People who don't ask and expect to be given something ,as well as People who just look the other way.
Originally posted by maurizio13:Societal norms and societal agendas are far different. Definition of a norm states that "a behavior or belief that is considered typical of a community " . The definition of an agenda is " item/s to be acted on " . No way does it say that formal politics is involved in creating a norm . Influencing perhaps but not creating.
Good. You accepted the fact that it's society's fault and societal norms that dictates the action of this person.
What governs society and societal norms?
Abstract from Sociology by Macionis & Plummer:
This chapter investigates the dynamics of power, the ability to achieve desired ends (often despite resistance from others), and focuses mainly on it as a process within societies and among nations. Formal politics is the social institution that distributes power, [b]sets a society's agenda, and makes decisions; and governance is the exercise of political, economic and administrative authority in the management of a country's affairs at all levels.[/b]
Originally posted by spinsugar:Sometimes I feel that in a society like this, you've gotta stick up for yourself... My younger sis recounted this incident on an MRT a few yrs back and we had a good laugh over it. She was weary and in a foul mood that day.
When she boarded, there was only 1 empty seat.. just as she was about to sit down, a strange woman (who boarded the train behind my sis), then used her bag and threw it onto that seat to "chop" it for herself!! My sis said since there was no point scolding the woman, she simply ignored her, swept the bag onto the floor, and took the seat for herself. The other commuters were stunned at 1st, but some started snickering. The strange woman merely glared, retrieved her bag, and hurried off to another part of the carriage.
I'm not trying to say people should just take matters into their own hands.. it's just that I feel most Singaporeans don't get what we want because we're too soft, too timid.
I didn't equate societal norms with society's agenda, we know it's different.Originally posted by fymk:Societal norms and societal agendas are far different. Definition of a norm states that "a behavior or belief that is considered typical of a community " . The definition of an agenda is " item/s to be acted on " . No way does it say that formal politics is involved in creating a norm . Influencing perhaps but not creating.
A norm gives a person a rule of thumb for how she should behave and how others will act in a similar situation. An agenda is more of a action to be taken on a plan.
I say the society and family is to be blamed : less on the society but MORE on the family upbringing.
Maybe they should enact a law, fine for those who don't give up seats to others who need it more than you.Originally posted by vito_corleone:some old pple are really farked up, on the bus also take up 2 seats and refuse to allow other passengers to sit.![]()
but then again they only have a moral and not legal obligation to give up the empty seat
Agree, it's a "No Free Lunch" society here, like the not so recent issue of the girl being stabbed in public, yet nobody steps out to help. They were busy taking video so they can post it on the net.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Basically, there are some who will do the ethical thing.
But as I pointed out before, it is the general characteristics of living in a "No Free Lunch" society.
No, our gov did not imposed on society, but they have however unwittingly or not, raised a society in which every act is based on monetary values.Originally posted by maurizio13:Agree, it's a "No Free Lunch" society here, like the not so recent issue of the girl being stabbed in public, yet nobody steps out to help. They were busy taking video so they can post it on the net.
Everything here is determined by monetary value, that's the kind of society the government imposes on us.
she say excuse me if you had read the article properlyOriginally posted by dragg:did she tell him he wants the seat?
so it's her own fault for being shy and not doing more than asking for the seat while it is perfectly fine for the old guy to be so inconsiderate?Originally posted by mistyblue:Seriously, If she is so in need of a seat, she can lift the bag off and put it on the floor. She didn't do anything to help herself beyond asking and expecting people to give way. Anyways, the old guy is entitled to ignore her.
old men in cars are worse. They think they build the road you walk on even if you have the right of way on a crossing.Originally posted by Wanjing83:This is why i hate old men nowadays...Grrrr...They are not only inconsiderate but super rude!
I was walking along a street and then "BAM", an old man ram right past me and he look ard and stare at me...(=_=) Not a single apology...![]()
Did I assign any blame?Originally posted by UandMe:so it's her own fault for being shy and not doing more than asking for the seat while it is perfectly fine for the old guy to be so inconsiderate?
i agree that no one is obligated to give up their own seat but putting some stupid stuff on an empty seat is downright inconsiderate and wrong.
Yea! Even worse de is those pedestrains tat are old ppl...Red Man liao still can purposely walk slowly lor...If its coz they old then walk slow can understand...But they purposely de...My fren had to Rev his engine at him sia...I guess they must be feeling proud that they are old sia...(=_=)Originally posted by mistyblue:old men in cars are worse. They think they build the road you walk on even if you have the right of way on a crossing.
Solution is simple ma...I agree with misty blue in as much as a commuter can always ask the old man to remove his stuff. If he does not not, just throw the bag on the floor and take the seat lor.Originally posted by confusedboi:there doesnt seem to be a solution to this problem
excuse me, to a lot of people, means only excuse me.Originally posted by ghimpheng:she say excuse me if you had read the article properly