malaysia is HUGE. singapore is SMALL.Originally posted by Meat Pao:I indeed think Singapore is very lucky.
Just pay attention next time, when you step outside of Singapore, to JB or Batam, compare them to Singapore.
There is no reason why JB and Batam have such a difference to Singapore, if it is not due to Singapore management.
You walk through JB....then go Singapore.....or you take a ferry from Batam....to Singapore....see the difference....
If the boundaries are not artificially drawn, if Singapore is not separate and unique on its own, there is no reason why Singapore would not look just like JB or Batam.
Just from this comparison, it is a prove that Singapore is very lucky.
Meat Pao.
Small, easy and yet running out of ideas to the point of now upping GST, tweaking CPF, lowering corporate tax...Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:malaysia is HUGE. singapore is SMALL.
i think its easier to manage a small country than a big one eh?
Originally posted by Cystaire:We are the luckiest people in the SEA region, probably the world.
We have a government that is legendary for its efficiency and foresight.
At the same time, Singapore's government is the luckiest in SEA, likely the world.
They manage a hardworking people who are obedient, have a can-do attitude, and don't ask too many questions.
If you read the history of other countries you will realize just how lucky we are. Look at it both ways.
If we have an oppressive government, then no matter how good the people are, there will be widespread suffering. The only real vote that anyone has is her or his feet. In Singapore, people migrate as professionals, often living rich and happy lives elsewhere.
In other regional countries, they migrate as despised boat people or illegal labour.
If we have a violent, uncooperative people, then no matter how good the government is, there will be widespread bloodshed. In other countries where there is deep ethnic and religious or civil strife, everything is much much much harder for any government to handle.
Always count your blessings.
Things can't be much better, but they can sure be much much much worse.![]()
Yes, I made a sweeping statement, to stimulate some discussion.Originally posted by spinsugar:
Now that's a sweeping statement. If what you said were true, how come the title of "The Lucky Country" belongs to someone else?
Y'know honestly.. I once believed that we're the luckiest lot in the world.
I was born into an upper class family.. and I was constantly surrounded by equally happy, well-off people, because my folks watched me like a hawk.. in fact they once threw a fit and warned me to stay away from my best friend "or else" just because she lives in an HDB.
But after my family took a bad fall, no more high life for me.. I started to mix with regular heartlanders, live a normal life.. that's when I came to realize things are not as they seem in Singapore... there's so many things hidden from us, things you almost have NO way of seeing when you're above the clouds.
This may sound cliche, but how else can I put it ..? You just have to see it, live it, for yourself.![]()
Heh, that is entirely opposite to what I mean.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Are we better of then a lot of other nations? Certainly.
Should we always count out blessings? Certainly.
Should we be happy for the things that we have? Of course.
But does all this mean that we turn a blind eye to the injustice and wrongs that still exist in our nation and convince ourselves that there's really no need to speak up or do something about it?
Certainly not!
It's like saying there's no need to work to reduce crime as long as it is under a quota. Let's say there are 500 robberies in JB every week, as long as there are 499 robberies in Singapore we can be considered lucklier... which is pretty much nonsense. Also by that "lucky" logic we can conclude that when I see Cystaire being robbed and realize it's just the 458th robbery I can pretty much ignore it as we are still considered "lucky."
Is HK really so good?Originally posted by maurizio13:Ermmm....
Why not compare with Hong Kong, which has a colonial past like ours?
Are we much better off than them?.
Originally posted by cockaholic:sure anot?
Argh..the reason our history is good is because we only have a little over 40 years as an independent country! Yes yes..singapore may have a good government system, [b]but this damn country is just too boring man! i rather go to taiwan or thailand, though things may not be safe, bombing, people getting hacked suddenly, but all this excitement actually make life fuller[/b][/b]
If your point is Singaporeans have it a lot better then most other nations, then it stops there and then that's fine. But beyond that there are still plenty of things Singaporeans ought to be doing about their country and your posts here seem to be suggesting a passive grass-is-green-enough attitude to all this.Originally posted by Cystaire:Heh, that is entirely opposite to what I mean.
Also, everyone seems to have missed my real point, which was in no way hidden.![]()
1.Join CSJ seminar lah or his personal party!Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Are we better of then a lot of other nations? Certainly.
Should we always count out blessings? Certainly.
Should we be happy for the things that we have? Of course.
But does all this mean that we turn a blind eye to the injustice and wrongs that still exist in our nation and convince ourselves that there's really no need to speak up or do something about it?
Certainly not!
2.Dunt truth the manipualted figures fr SG and MY.Ask your fren,relatives and colleagues thenu know the crimes rate.
It's like saying there's no need to work to reduce crime as long as it is under a quota. Let's say there are 500 robberies in JB every week, as long as there are 499 robberies in Singapore we can be considered lucklier... which is pretty much nonsense. Also by that "lucky" logic we can conclude that when I see Cystaire being robbed and realize it's just the 458th robbery I can pretty much ignore it as we are still considered "lucky."
Originally posted by lionnoisy:STOP AT TWO; FOREIGN TALENTS MORE THAN WELCOME
Luck just plays 1 %.
SG can stand up and needed not crawl back to JB because the leaders
Find out the problems or forecast them,list out all the options and pick
up the most appropriate policy and DO IT WITHOUT FEAR AND FAVOUR,
even the policy is very unpleasant.
1.Like NS,CPF,HDB racial restriction,COE,ERP.
All are not welcome.
But we have to see the overall result of each policy and
the overall results of ALL POLICIES.
There are not perfect policy,just the best policy which is even
not welcome.
[b]We carve our fate
2.SG was lucky to choose the right options in critial policy.
We were advised by foreign big consultans to upgrade Paya Lebar
International Airport instead of building new one in Changi.
Paya Lebar International Airport --drop it
Build it
We were also told to build up bus network for mass transport
system instead of heavy rail like MRT.
Drop it
Build it
How luck we are not listening to them!!(Read LKY books then u know)