Well If i remember correctly, banning of chewing gums is because got ppl eat liao stick at MRT door causing it unable to close.... (I may be wrong here).....if i noe who i think i will kill him....Originally posted by ngjy22:Singaporeans are lucky, but this is when the good ministers are still here.
But Singapore is a bit too strict on the law, like what the 'Today forum'(21 Jan) says, Singapore is a city of fine.
Fine something that can affect a lot of ppl health
, like Smoking, split etc.
I still dont understand why Chewing Gum is banned in Singapore (maybe dirty?). Lucky thing is, eat Chewing Gum wont get Fine.
Not all Singaporeans are lucky, for the ppl who buy 4D, TOTO etc. and want to sell away their things, no business (esp. online selling).
Frankly... banning the gum was one INSANE... but Great move... If not, our MRT cabins will be infested with dried up gums... and we will be complaining about inconsiderate brats who sticks their used gum on the seats!Originally posted by sirAdrian:Well If i remember correctly, banning of chewing gums is because got ppl eat liao stick at MRT door causing it unable to close.... (I may be wrong here).....if i noe who i think i will kill him....
anyway dirty is also the 1 of the reason lah...some ppl eat liao any how throw...removing those sticky gums is hard work....
As for singapore is the luckiest people, well we should count ourself luck as we r not under Malaysia.......if not sg would be wat it is today....
I got other suggestions.Originally posted by Squiggly:Frankly... banning the gum was one INSANE... but Great move... If not, our MRT cabins will be infested with dried up gums... and we will be complaining about inconsiderate brats who sticks their used gum on the seats!![]()
And when I stepped on a gum in KL, I realised we don't really have gums all over the floor back here in Singapore...
Ok... whatever you say dude...Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:as usual.. sarcasm containing hidden agenda...![]()
Hmm...Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Yeah the Government is lucky because the people who don't like the government only gather at kopitiams to complain... so next time if got hear any plans about coups just bomb the kopitiams can already...
u r so right...water always flow downward from a higher level... contentment flows too with higher examples.. our president just got his pay adjusted transparently upwards in the midst of yet another charity queries... haiz... compared to other countries' peasants... haiz.. gahmen set the pace leh, so just follow law wat.... so jealous meh?! what's there to envy... ah, politics, how advantages can work to camps wi no harms done?!... all other than elites be contented and volunteer-minded to do the part for the country... long live the contented!Originally posted by decemberflower:yes singaporeans are one of the luckiest people in the world. happiness with CONTENTMENT is great gain :]
be happy you need not fear for your life currently, there are earthquakes, wars, killings, bombings, everyday all around our city but we're spared all that. instead of complaining about ministers highest pay, be thankful your pay is already thousands more than other people from countries all around us. eg indo, cambodia, vietnam, thai, etc. or north korea, where the govt spends $6 billion a year on military while the people starve.
perhaps they wish they could live in a safer peaceful city like us, and have enough to eat and a warm clean place to stay even. while you nitpick on nonthreatening issues.
Originally posted by spycampers:singaporeans go to other countries for retirement, the good part... u r old so f.u., the bad?
To add on..
if singapore is not that nice.
that why singaporeans didn't go to other country to be maid or construction workers or cleaners or painter... etc?
Originally posted by spycampers:don't inconvenienced the commuters at large, 'if only go die quietly'... only say the nice things...
generally we have a good life..
it just that ppl tends to look at the smaller picture instead of the larger picture..
Just want to add, nurturing and growing a country has many similarities to raising a kid and the parent, which is analogous to a government, has a big influence on how the child will grow into. The direction, the discipline influences a lot on what values the child holds.Originally posted by Meat Pao:Ya, I just want to say abit.
Singapore has a natural resource, its strategic location, good for port. It is true.
But look at other countries with natural resources such as oil or timber. In middle east countries, many have oil.
But what about economic dependancy on a single sector? What about other non-economic indicators like education, health care, crime level, all these.
That don't just come from having natural resource, it comes from good management.
I still remember an interview with a prince from middle east. He said he copied Singapore.
Amazing.
It's amazing because he is from UAE, and he is the one in charge of Emirates airline. Now Emirates airline and Dubai are very advanced, it is like Singapore of middle east. I remember that interview because it set me thinking, wow there must be something in the Singapore model.
Actually it is a historical coincidence that LKY and PAP came to power in Singapore during its crucial stages. LKY is smart, lawyer, educated in Britain. Singapore uses English language, put emphasis on education, meritocracy, recruit scholars for government, follow capitalism and free market.
It is really a historical coincidence, luck, accident, that Singapore had LKY and PAP.
As a comparison, look at another new nation, East Timor.
The leadership were educated in Mozambique. They put Portuguese as the national language. They were also socialist leaning.
The trajectory is completely different.
Just from these comparisons, one thinks how influential it is, in the crucial early stages, what kind of people is in charge.
I think the true 'luck' of Singapore is the way it steered the early stages. It could have been a totally different story.
Meat Pao.
What are you trying to say? If you are comparing Middle Eastern countries and Indonesia with Singapore; aren't you reinforcing my point about demographics playing an important part in the progress and development of a country.Originally posted by Meat Pao:Ya, I just want to say abit.
Singapore has a natural resource, its strategic location, good for port. It is true.
But look at other countries with natural resources such as oil or timber. In middle east countries, many have oil.
Originally posted by Meat Pao:If you are trying to compare other indicators.
But what about economic dependancy on a single sector? What about other non-economic indicators like education, health care, crime level, all these.
That don't just come from having natural resource, it comes from good management.
Originally posted by Meat Pao:UAE is classified as an Authoritarian Regimes in "The Economist", whereas Singapore is classified under Hybrid Regimes, there is nothing to brag about if a backward country copies your model, I would be impressed if Switzerland, US, Germany, Sweden, etc copied our model.
I still remember an interview with a prince from middle east. He said he copied Singapore.
Amazing.
It's amazing because he is from UAE, and he is the one in charge of Emirates airline. Now Emirates airline and Dubai are very advanced, it is like Singapore of middle east. I remember that interview because it set me thinking, wow there must be something in the Singapore model.
Originally posted by Meat Pao:Who's to say what more we could have achieve if we had stayed with the British colonial system, our achivements might have well surpassed Hong Kong. We would probably have ended up with more home grown industries like Hong Kong and would not have taken the course taken by Mr. Lee (the elder), who relied heavily on Foreign Direct Investments, all of which have taken flight seeking greener pastures in China, India, Vietnam, etc. Thus leaving us with a fragile economy and an uncertain future.
Actually it is a historical coincidence that LKY and PAP came to power in Singapore during its crucial stages. LKY is smart, lawyer, educated in Britain. Singapore uses English language, put emphasis on education, meritocracy, recruit scholars for government, follow capitalism and free market.
It is really a historical coincidence, luck, accident, that Singapore had LKY and PAP.
Originally posted by Meat Pao:East Timor, aren't you reinforcing my point about demographics playing an important part in a country's development again?
As a comparison, look at another new nation, East Timor.
The leadership were educated in Mozambique. They put Portuguese as the national language. They were also socialist leaning.
The trajectory is completely different.
Just from these comparisons, one thinks how influential it is, in the crucial early stages, what kind of people is in charge.
I think the true 'luck' of Singapore is the way it steered the early stages. It could have been a totally different story.
Meat Pao.
I believe that if SG were to be still under British colonial system like Hong Kong....we would have been better off. Singaporeans 3rd generation would have become much educated. Or else, we would not have to go thru' economic restructuring to enhance stock & shares values at expense of poor singaporeans!!!Originally posted by maurizio13:East Timor, aren't you reinforcing my point about demographics playing an important part in a country's development again?
Who's to know whether our achievements would have surpassed our current if we had stayed on with the British colonial system like Hong Kong.