I can still remember my BMT, so many wayang kias... bloody useless people who only know how to run but cannot get the respect of their platoon mates..Originally posted by Hogzilla:Frankly speaking har, I'm always thinking about "Can a person with higher paper qualification lead a combat forces better than one who can really leads?"
Of course, I'm not denying that there are really good leaders with really good paper qualification. But choosing officers based on paper qualifications alone? That's way too stupid.
I think army is the place where meritocracy fails and elitism kicks in. A lot of our politican came from the army, sadly....
In fact the more money you taste, the more you want to taste it.Originally posted by mistyblue:Arnie is running which big american state again?
Common sense would tell anyone that high pay does not mean lower corruption. Common sense, no in fact my arse would have answered that question in the title.
I remember my unit har. One guy sibei garang one leh. He second in his BMT company, wants to go SISPEC and even wants to sign on one. But he O' lvl, deny of SISPEC entry and also the denied the chance of becoming a full-time soldier.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:I can still remember my BMT, so many wayang kias... bloody useless people who only know how to run but cannot get the respect of their platoon mates..
Wah!! Imagine he is our MP in the future....Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:I also remember one guy cannot make it, but he sign on navy officer. Fail BMT, very sia lan, no one like. But what to do... people clever.
He is now a captain. Just because he sign on. Cannot make it siah...
Frankly speaking, help yourself.Originally posted by bila_prem:If your mp never help your problems, what will you do?
Right on.Originally posted by (human):Scholars don't always make the right choice in life, they are human too, to err is human. Educating the mind without educating the heart is no education at all.
In politics we presume that everyone who knows how to get votes knows how to administer a city or a state. When we are ill, we do not ask for the handsomest physician, or the most eloquent one.
Wah who is Plato... why he so clever one?Originally posted by bangkokboy:Those who are too smart to engage in politics are punished by being governed by those who are dumber - Plato
Originally posted by Hogzilla:Wah!! Imagine he is our MP in the future....
Meet-the-MP (no mistake, when it's meet-the-people, it's MP going around meeting the people) session.
MP: You come here see me for fuck?
People: Blah blah blah (of life-and-death problem)
MP: I cannot help you. You go solve the problem urself. Next.
This time, rich guy come in.
MP: How can I help u?
Rich guy: Blah blah blah (small things like stray cat making loud noises in the middle of night)
MP: Oh. I will help you get SPCA to get rid of the stray cat. Do not worry too much.
If really like that, then si liao!!
That's why LHL needs to give up the PM seats because wise men don't want to serve someone who is dumber.Originally posted by bangkokboy:Those who are too smart to engage in politics are punished by being governed by those who are dumber - Plato
Heard there's alot of paperwork to even fail a BMT/OCS cadet. Especially more if he is a regular. Guess the instructors dun bother and just let him through...Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:I also remember one guy cannot make it, but he sign on navy officer. Fail BMT, very sia lan, no one like. But what to do... people clever.
He is now a captain. Just because he sign on. Cannot make it siah...
Yep that's what happened... they arranged another last last last last shot at IPPT for him and he manage to somehow pass on his very last attempt...Originally posted by airgrinder:Heard there's alot of paperwork to even fail a BMT/OCS cadet. Especially more if he is a regular. Guess the instructors dun bother and just let him through...
Maybe there are better leaders out there lah or maybe don't have, but we will never know because most know of our MIW pattern lah... you run for opposition party you make your family life cham...Originally posted by airgrinder:was just wondering how do we measure "likeable, openess, ethics, high EQ, street wise"??
Else how do we know who will be a better leader then what we have currently?
Also, the past generation of singaporeans viewed paper qualifications as the key to success. That's most parents are so adamant about their child getting the best education, degrees, etc. Hence, with all things being the same, people with degrees are preferable than people without one, esp by the older generation.
So how to push a "likeable, openess, ethics, high EQ, street wise" leader without paper qualification into the government, even if there's some way to seek this people out in the first place?
The resentment towards scholars largely stems from the Govt's heavily streamed and flawed education system and the fact that LKY practices elitism which he openly mouthed it some 20 years ago.Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:It is true that many scholars are useless people, but there are equally many scholars that are very good. If u are boss would u want someone who have good academic results or one that has super lousy result? Even if I assume that both are of equivalent intelligence, the one with good result must be a hardworking soul and takes his work seriously. The one wif lousy result must have been dilly dally all time round..How can i entrust big projects to a clown like him??
It is right to say scholars=good leaders is not a correct statement, but is there a better indicator to choose potential leaders? If there are say it out!! Dun hide behind ur comp and complain this complain that when u ppl cant even come out wif a decent solution. If u have any, post it out, suggest to the government. If it is a good solution, I am sure they will use it....talk everyone can talk...but comes to doing things many Singaporeans just point the fingers![]()
Is there an over emphasis on results in places like the SAF? Let's get thinking guys... Are scholars better tacticians? Can they necessarily command the respect to lead the men?Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:It is true that many scholars are useless people, but there are equally many scholars that are very good. If u are boss would u want someone who have good academic results or one that has super lousy result? Even if I assume that both are of equivalent intelligence, the one with good result must be a hardworking soul and takes his work seriously. The one wif lousy result must have been dilly dally all time round..How can i entrust big projects to a clown like him??
It is right to say scholars=good leaders is not a correct statement, but is there a better indicator to choose potential leaders? If there are say it out!! Dun hide behind ur comp and complain this complain that when u ppl cant even come out wif a decent solution. If u have any, post it out, suggest to the government. If it is a good solution, I am sure they will use it....talk everyone can talk...but comes to doing things many Singaporeans just point the fingers![]()
The problem with the SAF is the existence of a scholarship system which guarantees accelerated advancement. This contrasts with the US where officers who enroll in Military run training institutions such as West Point, or perhaps in universities with military training facilities (ROTC and what not). All officers in general have bachelor degrees so everyone has equal footing who either rise to top either by connections, or by merit. However, the SAF instead decided to have a fast track advancement for SAFOS officers.Originally posted by bangkokboy:Is there an over emphasis on results in places like the SAF? Let's get thinking guys... Are scholars better tacticians? Can they necessarily command the respect to lead the men?
Is there any rating systems for the scholars? I am sure there are, but based on my unit's scholars (mostly young captains who know nothing but b*tch around without any thoughts for the men), I am sure none of the men will be pleased if they are to lead us on into the battlefield, or to even follow their so called sound tactical judgements. Many actually felt the Warrant Officers decisions make better sense...
Currently the peer appraisal in the BMT is flawed as it is introduced only about a month into the BMT. Introduce it towards the end of BMT, by then everyone should know who is a real leader, who is a wayang kia...
I can fully understand ur agony....but is there any way or any better indicators that we can use to pick up potential leaders?? Coming up with a good indicator is the toughest thing. In short, I do agree many scholars are yan guo qi shi but is there a better way to pick up potential leaders???Originally posted by bangkokboy:Is there an over emphasis on results in places like the SAF? Let's get thinking guys... Are scholars better tacticians? Can they necessarily command the respect to lead the men?
Is there any rating systems for the scholars? I am sure there are, but based on my unit's scholars (mostly young captains who know nothing but b*tch around without any thoughts for the men), I am sure none of the men will be pleased if they are to lead us on into the battlefield, or to even follow their so called sound tactical judgements. Many actually felt the Warrant Officers decisions make better sense...
Currently the peer appraisal in the BMT is flawed as it is introduced only about a month into the BMT. Introduce it towards the end of BMT, by then everyone should know who is a real leader, who is a wayang kia...