You've got to find what you love,' Jobs saysSingaporeans are lucky to even have a job compared to third world asian neighbours, stop being picky
So I decided to drop out and trust that it would all work out OK. It was pretty scary at the time, but looking back it was one of the best decisions I ever made. The minute I dropped out I could stop taking the required classes that didn't interest me, and begin dropping in on the ones that looked interesting.Looking at how Sim Wong Woo is treated by the govt when he has only a diploma, if you dont even have a diploma, you would be selling tissues paper in the streets.
Reed College at that time offered perhaps the best calligraphy instruction in the country. Throughout the campus every poster, every label on every drawer, was beautifully hand calligraphed. Because I had dropped out and didn't have to take the normal classes, I decided to take a calligraphy class to learn how to do this. I learned about serif and san serif typefaces, about varying the amount of space between different letter combinations, about what makes great typography great. It was beautiful, historical, artistically subtle in a way that science can't capture, and I found it fascinating.Dont be stupid on learning Calligraphy. Its not practical. You think you can make money from it?? If you cannot find a job how?
None of this had even a hope of any practical application in my life. But ten years later, when we were designing the first Macintosh computer, it all came back to me. And we designed it all into the Mac. It was the first computer with beautiful typography. If I had never dropped in on that single course in college, the Mac would have never had multiple typefaces or proportionally spaced fonts. And since Windows just copied the Mac, its likely that no personal computer would have them. If I had never dropped out, I would have never dropped in on this calligraphy class, and personal computers might not have the wonderful typography that they do. Of course it was impossible to connect the dots looking forward when I was in college. But it was very, very clear looking backwards ten years later.
Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life. Don't be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people's thinking. Don't let the noise of others' opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.The govt needs lots of researchers in bio-medical research. What study what you like? Must be crazy. Make sure you get all As,take only those modules that are easy to get As so that you dont get kicked out of the scholarship by Philip Yeo
Bill Gates you know.Originally posted by Bontakun:Who is Steve Jobs?![]()
Originally posted by Bontakun:Who is Steve Jobs?![]()
Really, I dun...Originally posted by charlize:Bill Gates you know.
But Steve Jobs you don't?
Better den being a moron.Originally posted by missqi:![]()
swaku
Don't think so.Originally posted by kilua:waah... you know ipod? Mac? His company created that. If we had one steve jobs in Singapore, There would be plenty of jobs created here.
Therefore,Originally posted by charlize:Don't think so.
It's the system here. It's not conducive for creative thinking.
Creative accounting yes, but not creative thinking.
Aiya, forgot Window.Originally posted by Hogzilla:Then we dun have Apple, iMac, iPod, iShuffle lor.
LOL.... wrong... although both are hackers.Originally posted by Hogzilla:Aiya, forgot Window.
Bill Gates steal the idea from Steve Job one.
We all can be hackers. Take parang in hand and HACK HACK HACK!!!Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:LOL.... wrong... although both are hackers.![]()
Vincent Kennedy McMahon is more yandao and as rich.Originally posted by Diesel_Dimension:Donald Trump![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Don't think so.
It's the system here. It's not conducive for creative thinking.
Creative accounting yes, but not creative thinking.
bill,steve how to road sweeper?? no matter wad we still need either a window or a mac leh.. they are still billionaires wherever they go..Originally posted by mistyblue:Steve, Bill, Donald and so many more would be road sweeper, toilet cleaner, delivery boy in singapore. Even shakespear, he might be living in hougang chalet or under isd detention depending on what he wrote.
No lah. Shakespear won't appear in Singapore one lah.Originally posted by mistyblue:Steve, Bill, Donald and so many more would be road sweeper, toilet cleaner, delivery boy in singapore. Even shakespear, he might be living in hougang chalet or under isd detention depending on what he wrote.
And the items will have spikes...Originally posted by gasband:If he born here, Apple might be called Durian instead. Durian Ipod, Durian Imac
Wrong!!Originally posted by Diesel_Dimension:bill,steve how to road sweeper?? no matter wad we still need either a window or a mac leh.. they are still billionaires wherever they go..
if Bill, Steve and Donald were born in Singapore in this time and age and believe that they drop out of school, born in middle to low class non elite familys and such things etc.. Do you think they would make it this big as they did in USA or they might just end up as the road sweeper or toilet clean?Originally posted by Hogzilla:No lah. Shakespear won't appear in Singapore one lah.
Which MIW dare to talk cock about the gahmen? All Shakespear's work is about Elizabeth government one.
Muses tend to be busty hot babes.Originally posted by mistyblue:if Bill, Steve and Donald were born in Singapore in this time and age and believe that they drop out of school, born in middle to low class non elite familys and such things etc.. Do you think they would make it this big as they did in USA or they might just end up as the road sweeper or toilet clean?
if shakespear were born in this time period in singapore, if he were to write his plays about our government. Do you think our government will leave him alone? Do you think he will not receive warning for using Singlish, or NKF will not file a lawsuit against him for writing about their gold taps?
people here don't get the scarcism or the dry humour and succulent writing that requires someone to read between the lines....
Sigh.... I need a MUSE!