U r rite!!! we hve the heart here 2 KPKB but when we give up!!!Originally posted by ShutterBug:You know ah...
Sing so many songs and talked up an entire chicken coop of roosters, and still there's NOUGHT that all of us can do to change things.
Might as well don't bother lah...
Singapore will eventually become a ghost town when most of the locals migrated.
Then the MIW can have this place along with their FTs, FWs, and F-whatevers...
Originally posted by reyes:Thats how the system works now. Blame the older generations for supporting only one party.
[b]He is not just a representative. He is the HEAD OF STATE.
not government. but HEAD OF THE COUNTRY. certain respect must be given to him.
for a country which has spending capabilities, i think the salary is justifiable.
respect must be earn not given. why he cant do what Mr Ong teng cheong has done for the ppl of singapore.
why forumers like us like Mr ONg and not nathan?
frankly speaking, we really cant see what he has done for the ppl of singapore besides shaking hands, posting pic, attending ceremony.
talk about elected president, he was not even elected. it was a walkover.
guess most singaporean prefer to work hard than to earn easy money.
that why no one stand out to get elected.
or is it the criteria become so strict that the next candidate who are quality is the PAP MP themselves.
I know we should not insult him, but seriously mhcampboy, we don't need another flower vase, I would rather have someone vocal like our late Mr Ong Teng Cheong... we don't need a Yes man, that is not the job of the President! He is not suppose to side with any political side!Originally posted by mhcampboy:Thats how the system works now. Blame the older generations for supporting only one party.
So u think you are right? So go out there and do sumtin for a change!! Promote your views!
You dun like a person does not mean u can call him names and be rude to him. Our own citizen got no respect to the president... how on earth would other countries wanna respect us?
Country developed so nicely already.... and you all making noise calling ppl names. mr nathan worked so hard to get where he is now. of cos other ppl work hard also.... but he was just lucky to get the job...
im not saying his salary is justifiable... but u ppl got not the least respect!
respect the presidency if not the person... or otherwise!
how vocal u want him to be with limited power?Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:I know we should not insult him, but seriously mhcampboy, we don't need another flower vase, I would rather have someone vocal like our late Mr Ong Teng Cheong... we don't need a Yes man, that is not the job of the President! He is not suppose to side with any political side!
Based on the minimum requirements for being a president, I am nowhere near any of the requirements...Originally posted by mhcampboy:how vocal u want him to be with limited power?
and wad makes u think he is not doing as wad the constitution directs him to be and do? are u by his side 24/7?
the way u ppl throw judgement on him as though all of you are capable of being in the presidency!
Hallo,Originally posted by mhcampboy:Thats how the system works now. Blame the older generations for supporting only one party.
So u think you are right? So go out there and do sumtin for a change!! Promote your views!
You dun like a person does not mean u can call him names and be rude to him. Our own citizen got no respect to the president... how on earth would other countries wanna respect us?
Country developed so nicely already.... and you all making noise calling ppl names. mr nathan worked so hard to get where he is now. of cos other ppl work hard also.... but he was just lucky to get the job...
im not saying his salary is justifiable... but u ppl got not the least respect!
respect the presidency if not the person... or otherwise!
Sure i do not know behind the scenes of the presidency...Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Based on the minimum requirements for being a president, I am nowhere near any of the requirements...
Maybe you can ask me how I know he is doing his job or not? The same question can be directed back at you. All in all, if a president's job is to pose for pictures and appear at charity events, he has done his job. Fair enough.
If that is the role of the president, do you think the pay raise is justified?
do not call me names when i did not do so....Originally posted by foomwee88:Hallo,
U r so 4getful one making us worrying where u r in?
On one hand, u said his salary is justifiable on the other posting to us but we did not give him the due respect!!! and now,u said the above statement!!!
Do u need a Doc 2 examine yr brain????
i dun care abt economics... again i say... wad i care is the respect u all not giving him as a president!!Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:I respect the man, but I think he should turn down the pay raise and I would respect him even more.
Plus that would send a signal to the MIW that monetary rewards are secondary to his Want to serve the people.
Look... you all can discuss abt his pay increase whether its justifiable or not for all i care...Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:I know some of us shouldn't have called him names.
But I guess some of us forumers simply cannot understand why he is getting a pay raise now... when the cost of living is spiralling upwards and the common people's salary remaining stagnant. Many of us are helpless and can only accept this as the sad truth.
But did you read the post by spinsugar? Sometimes you think whether the president is just a figure that's there for show... our late Mr Ong proved that fact. He wasn't invited back (although he wasn't interested too) after he started probing into ''affairs of the state''.
Ok, I've not called him any names throughout this thread, but I will try to explain why fellow forumers (and me) feel this way.Originally posted by mhcampboy:Look... you all can discuss abt his pay increase whether its justifiable or not for all i care...
but when i see u ppl call him names...like prata man... and comparing him to a pig and orang utan... someone has to defend him.
how would u like it... ppl call u all tat... call u names...![]()
There is no need to call him names wad....Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Ok, I've not called him any names throughout this thread, but I will try to explain why fellow forumers (and me) feel this way.
Mmh they are comparing his job, we all know ah meng's job was just to take pictures with visitors to the zoo.
Regarding the prata man thingie, the poster was obviously very unhappy with the decision to raise the pay. If you read his post carefully, he was suggesting that the people of Singapore has no power whatsoever to oppose and question the gahment... and for that he is furious (and he has reasons to be).
His achievements is sumtin we shld be excite abt.... but so far....Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Anyway I started this topic to question whether the presidential candidates are actually ''selected'' by the MIW... handpicked if you like. Not meant as an insult to the man himself.
With all due respects, his achievements are extraordinary...
I can always boycott the neighbourhood shop and go NTUC, but here, there is absolutely nothing we can do... it sucks to be so helpless you know? So some of us resort to name calling, wrong but I understand how it feels to be helpless...Originally posted by mhcampboy:There is no need to call him names wad....
so example...if i dun like the neighbourhood shop maned by a muslim guy for increasing the price of a potato chip....i call him terrorist?
same analogy...but wrong idealogy.
name callings to a person who represent us is uncalled for.
ok... but i will still come in if got ppl call him names!Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:I can always boycott the neighbourhood shop and go NTUC, but here, there is absolutely nothing we can do... it sucks to be so helpless you know? So some of us resort to name calling, wrong but I understand how it feels to be helpless...
But don't start on his good points lol, this thread is about the requirements to be the President of Singapore and how many people is actually qualified enough to be one... (which is a good and bad thing).
Wat is yr name ? somemore u said yr names? how many names u hve??>Originally posted by mhcampboy:do not call me names when i did not do so....![]()
wad i meant by tat.... i dun care abt his pay or anitin!
wad i care...is u ppl call him names when his office and presidency represent the sovereignity of this nation!
no respect for his leaders at all!! ppl look at us and criticise us... this singapore... even when they are having good life...good progress... they still call their president names... tsk...
and i have no issue with u... so pls refrain from examin yr brain quote or criticising me!
someone is on a hot streak...Originally posted by foomwee88:Wat is yr name ? somemore u said yr names? how many names u hve??>
U dont care his pay but we do,fruck U!!!!
I said you r so 4getful cauz on one posting,u said his pay of S$2 millions is justifiable and now u said, dont care now, F U!!!!
Dont act cute, we dont buy it !!!
sometimes, u have to spare a thought of the people who aired their views so aggresively in this forum. What have triggered them to do or post these words? Certainly not something pleasant, if not i myself would also just call them siao.Originally posted by mhcampboy:someone is on a hot streak...![]()
dun start to call me names... if tats wad u meant...
and i already explained abt the justifiable pay post...
u care its ur business... but when u start to call other ppl names... i will interfere.
i act cute? defending my own president is not an act cute thing.
Yes i understand... tats y i say... u can debate about his pay abt his office...Originally posted by TYING:sometimes, u have to spare a thought of the people who aired their views so aggresively in this forum. What have triggered them to do or post these words? Certainly not something pleasant, if not i myself would also just call them siao.
A lot of people are suffering out there, yet as a president, surely he can do something to help his people to improve on their life? Not by throwing them the money, but at least make their life easier.
This is the difference between Mr Ong and Mr Nathan, one who dared to aired his views and speak against the government and someone who have yet to do something.
Name calling is definitely not something nice to call others especially when that person so happen to be our president. But there is no other choice than to vent their frustrations here where there are other people around to interact and most of the time, share their opinions. Try doing that in public or voice out as you suggested, i believe most of the sgforumers will be squatting behing the bars in black and white horizontal stripes eating bananas.
There must be a small leeway for people to voice out their opinion where their safety is ensured too. And by quoting you, im not trying to oppose you or force your oppinion that others repsect the president, im just trying to tell you to understand the other forumers. Views can still be aired freely though, just no forcing of ones perception and views.