Yes.Originally posted by LinYu:"counter insurgency" - ring a bell?
Elfred,
What case? NKF is NKF... You know politics? Gahmen won't take it as what case... Last time all support and defend and celebrate NKF, Durai salary cheong-ed like bullish bubble for 4cts every dollar to patients... People even talked in this forum how come Malaysia charge so much lower... Now gahmen all quiet. Wait open mouth another groundnut drop out then how?
You cannot think like this. If first batch leaders, Durai probably hanged with what new hanging laws oredi.
I tell you, NKF thing we no talk directly say Gahmen like NKF and all that... Just keep quiet, f**k Durai, f**k those simpletons. People got eyes to see... not everything must say "NKF you know so much problem... eh? Similar to gahmen... ok, got case gahmen must change..."
You think you tell Durai like that back then, he'd change? He maybe even sue you, understand?
You invite Lui for what? He agree with you, he finished. He no agree with you, he also finished. If he nobody member, maybe he say something if righteous enough... now he kena minister, you say he got virtue or not? He got virtue you are wrong, he no virtue you invite him also you wrong...
Robert... u never change abit... Useless one lah... This is the time to idle.
BTW, whether you right or wrong is not my issue here.
Anyway... which virtuous leader will have a bunch of clueless leaders... ...? Robert... Robert... You ever endorse begging robbers not to rob will stop robbers from crime? Or telling angels to go to hell and heaven will shut doors?
If you assume who-and-who no virtue... such asking to offer virtue is like asking for miracle from empty air. Aiyah...
If OM had expressed his views with clear logic and without deriding others, one could perhaps even grudgingly accept his uniquely controversial points of views.Originally posted by LazerLordz:You can't blame them because OM stands strongly, many times, too strongly, on one side of the fence.
The YPAP is a bloody sham and totally chaotic now and without any form of systematic debate. YOu have tantrums, you have clowns, and you have morons who one would wonder if they had even a neuron in the brain.Originally posted by BillyBong:If the rabble plying their trade in PAPforums is anything to go by, Lui Tuck Yew better send people with less emotional tandrums and buckets of cold hard facts.
The seriousness of humiliating failure at such a campaign will certainly backlash the govt in more ways than one, more so if their drones type in the wrong things.![]()
The most disturbing fact is not just the Govt's heavy involvement in the business sector but the very fact they control essentially the dynamics of the Singapore market at almost every corner. Essentially, the Govt control of Singapore is near absolute and the Govt can manage us like employees of a nation and retrench us at will etc. etc. The term "Singapore Inc" takes a whole new meaning when one considers the overarching arm of the Govt.Originally posted by robertteh:(Another topic worth debating with Rear Adm Lui Tuck Yew)
With the government heavily involved in business, it is becoming a different government from one which is supposedly elected to serve the people.
Many of us will remember that many insurance companies together with government linked insurance companies were at one time protected by the government being allowed to form cartel to prevent people from inviting competitive quotations. As a consequence from such cartel, many people were made to pay exceptionally high and punitive premium especially after a claim has been made.
Owing to recessions, opening up of the market, finally the government was pressured to give up such self-protectionism.
However, government today is getting into banking and finance businesses.
Now after the Asian Financial crisis government was given the excuse to restructure the financial system. It took advantage of the situation to protect its own banking privileges by similar cartel-like protectionism allowing banks to charge loan-shark interest rates against the working people so that its own government banks like DBS could charge penalty fees and loan-shark interest rates.
Because of government own self-interests are at stake, citibanks and american express continue to be sheltered in protectionism being allowed together with DBS to charge penalty interest for late payment and card interest rates at 16-20%.
This is the sort of self-interests which are now affecting all our people. Like the insurance cartel being forced to give up their premium protection, eventually people must again rise up to the occasion and be vigilant against such protectionism of self-interests and ask government to stop all its own malpractices to protect their own business and other related interest which is basically wrong doings which must be changed by opening up to market practice.
The big ass of a problem is that the Govt believes in not justifying why their face matters but believes in crushing any opposition questioning why they should have face.Originally posted by mistyblue:Our govt cannot take criticism?
I tot all they tell us that their understanding of the world is mee siam got hum and to get out of their uncaring elite face if we have problem.
They should post comments as themselves using their real identity.
Using anonymous accounts smacks of cowardice.
Why are they so defensive if they had done nothing wrong?
redbean wrote:I thank you for your playing an active role in this matter - debating on government policies and actions.
what robertteh said deserves a good counter argument. would we be seeing the counter insurgents coming here to rebut robert's statement? this will be very meaningful for everyone to read. or are they going to keep quiet and let this become the truth?
this is a good forum to clear up all the myths and misinformation and to help the people understand the rationale of what robert has said.
i also post at www.redbeanforum.com
Yes.. and it's so ironic that David Marshall did such a great job on non-PAP scale pay (and he even felt it should be the way).. but now that our ministers enjoy the highest salaries in the world, we don't see people like him up there anymore..Originally posted by LazerLordz:David Marshall. Truly a statesman and a honest chap.
Originally posted by spinsugar:This is the difference between people who entered the political scene based on passion for the country and scholars who entered politics based on their academic qualifications.
Yes.. and it's so ironic that David Marshall did such a great job on non-PAP scale pay (and he even felt it should be the way).. but now that our ministers enjoy the highest salaries[b] in the world, we don't see people like him up there anymore..[/b]
Hey Joe,Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:This is the difference between people who entered the political scene based on passion for the country and scholars who entered politics based on their academic qualifications.
normalsing wrote:My starting point is for a country to be well governed, the basics must be right. The basics include honesty, integrity, commitment to serve the people to attain the greatest benefits for the greatest number.
Robert,
I know you got great posts and great arguements. But let me ask you again. Do you actually think that by lowering the pay of all the civil servants, you will lower the income gap?
goldameir wrote:The president's pay obviously was increased not because there is a need to award or retain talent or not enough to meet his needs but with the obvious intention to justify the total pay packages of the ministers and the civil servants since ministers' self-rewards have been under queries by the people.
NeutralParty888 wrote:
If don't like what the president is doing, can always convince someone else to try out for the job ie the legal way.
i liked your jokes
and your view
who approved for the president latest pay rise?
you?
me?
please convinced us
just liked you
convinced mindef to reduce ippt
Given the extremely bigoted and caustic remarks expressed by opponents of the government here, a robust rebuttal is not only to be expected, but required.Originally posted by LazerLordz:You can't blame them because OM stands strongly, many times, too strongly, on one side of the fence.
I can't believe you delight in digging your own graveOriginally posted by maurizio13:Hey OM! You still have not rebutted my post on medical cost and doctors from India to reduce cost. Ran out of websites to cut and paste; or you just busy cleaning wc?
weapon of mass distractionOriginally posted by the Bear:is this why STOMP is now tragi-comedy?
it would be comic if it wasn't so tragically effective in diverting attention away from important issues...
exactly... the high costs of maintaining the 'commercial justification' of ministerial pays is 'provided for' by the people... how long can this last.. looking at the way the pappies' treatment of the opposition wards u can speculate how they will treat u if their positions are compromised... what was promised as 'reduction n keeping down costs' in the public transport system is never honoured... if u can get hold of articles in the past when omo bus scheme was first introduced... what was the generalisation then, now... has that ever been fulfilled, with technological advances, costs should be brought down but instead... u got justification of all sorts n in the commercial ends, its the shareholders' interests never the people's interests...Originally posted by robertteh:[quote]JJ wrote:
The widening income gap is a problem because of 2 things:-
1. costs have risen faster than wages for the folks at the bottom rungs.
If price increases didn't outstrip wage growth, this would mean the quality of life for lower income earners would not deteriorate. Which means that while upgrading of lower income folks is important, it is also equally important that cost of living in general is managed to prevent it from outstripping wage growth. If prices outstrip wage growth again in the next few years, all this upgrading would still leave the lower income folks worse off.
2. even if costs did not rise so much, this widening income gap would fuel envy in the masses as they see high earners flaunt, travel, live it up and not give back to the lesser fortunate.
Hypothetically, if prices did not increase so much, would lower income folks feel resentment and envy at the higher income folks? And would we have to manage this resentment and envy? I would certainly say we have to manage the mindsets of some higher income group folks who tend to rub their success in others' noses, flaunt endlessly and not give back to society.[quote]
JJ,
You have generalized the costs of living as being caused by the market forces.
However, the rising costs affecting people's necessities and causing job losses in Singapore have been substantially contributed by the government by devious and deliberate policies to tax and recover all costs to build government's surpluses and claim success of government.
The costs went up in Singapore largely because the government incurred higher costs in paying continuously increasing salaries to its ministers, and civil servants under the Goh Keng Swee doctrine of restructuring the wages to phase out lower labor intensive manufacturing.
Under that policy, government could not lower costs in providing essential services. It had to jack up costs as what we have been paying for our tansportation, utilities, medicare and public housing over the past 20 years or so.
HDB which was originally set up and given the power to acquire lands cheap to provide for people's low cost housing began to think of making more monies like the private developers.
Mah Boh Tan changed the past policy of Lim Kim San of charging for HDB flats by the construction costs and began charging the HDB flat prices at market prices less a little discount to look good to the people.
From S$7,800 for a 3-room improved flat, (priced at construction costs) people are now made to pay the full market value of the flat up to S$160,000.00 for a 3-room flat.
Although lands were owned by citizens Minister Mah has ignored that fact and double-charged on lands in selling the HDB flats from the late 1970s.
In the name of avoiding welfarism, all government farmed out or sold all such services e.g. medicare, utilities, tv and radio, etc. to FLCs and given power to GLCs to charge full market prices for all these services.
In the name of solving traffic congestion, LTA started vehicle excise duty up to 170% of import value or OMV.
It was announced that excise duty would be replaced by COE, but LTA kept the excise duty after COE was introduced and went further to charge the ERP.
Through corporatisations of essential government services into GLCs, government raised all the costs of living making tons of profits in selling its infrastructures and lands to the GLCs and making GLCs to charge the fullest costs like medicare, utilities, public transportation etc. against the people.
This has been a most uncaring and money-making government who is only interested in taxing and recovering all costs from the people and we as citizens must know it is wrong and ask for change.
People have to earn S$1,000.00 per month in order to pay for the necessities and struggle against the rising costs jacked up by the government.
If only our government has learned to leave well alone and refrained from tinkering too much with the private market economy, and charged reasonably at construction costs for HDB flats and taxed the vehicle ownership at COE today we would not have reached our present state of high costs and our factories and businesses in HDB shops would not be closing in large number and we would have been prospering.