I noticed you use the word they ''find'' singapore to be a good place for PR. How many people have you asked? For your information, I have asked my indonesian Chinese friends, my Thailand friends, my Australian friend. I can tell you what they think of Singapore. Would you want them to send you an email? I would make sure they describe to you how they felt about their life in Singapore as compared to their home. These are people who have spent some time in Singapore, not some newbie immigrant who's easily impressed. Most of them are now back in their homeland, good riddance you might say, but they are glad they did not give up their passports.Originally posted by stupidissmart:If u ask me whether do I treat gov as NKF, then my answer is no
But everybody here seems to treat the gov as some NKF and keep on blaming all their social problems on the gov. They also view other countries much better than singapore. Up till now on my overseas trip, I don't feel singapore as being inferior to other country in terms of living .In fact the people there find singapore to be a good place to go for permanent residence. But I guess opinions differs and the grass always look greener on the other side
Let me start by asking you this. How many years have you been in the civil service? If you want examples I can give you aplenty.Originally posted by stupidissmart:Ok, can u suggest wat do u mean by non-performers ? How do they fail their performance ?
I noticed you use the word they ''find'' singapore to be a good place for PR. How many people have you asked? For your information, I have asked my indonesian Chinese friends, my Thailand friends, my Australian friend. I can tell you what they think of Singapore. Would you want them to send you an email? I would make sure they describe to you how they felt about their life in Singapore as compared to their home. These are people who have spent some time in Singapore, not some newbie immigrant who's easily impressed. Most of them are now back in their homeland, good riddance you might say, but they are glad they did not give up their passports.Well given the fact tat I do not know u and u do not know me, it is equally likely tat I may have asked more people than u
Let me start by asking you this. How many years have you been in the civil service? If you want examples I can give you aplenty.Frankly speaking, the only years in civil service is when I am in NS
You want failures in terms of leadership quality, failure in terms of motivational quality, failures in terms of job know how, failures in terms of general knowledge?Why don't u just start by telling me your bext example of poor performance
Tell me what you want and thou shall receive.
47WYL18RW wrote:If the root of the problem "taxing and recovering all possible costs" is not solved, such a thing will always happen and keep happening.
nothing gov. do will match u guys cynical pessisum.
if give money--too little
if no give money--cheap not caring
if give money--must be tax payers" money.
how ?
I find it funny to actually discuss this topic with someone who doesn't even know how things are like in the public sector. Maybe you might even say that my examples are fabricated (to quote you). Why don't you ask your friends that are working in the public sector (namely the SAF) since you don't believe me.Originally posted by stupidissmart:Why don't u just start by telling me your bext example of poor performance
would you mind explaining how he was forced?Originally posted by bangkokboy:I've got one BMT buddy who was forced by his parents to return to Singapore from the USA. Given a choice he would gladly give up his citizenship.
My CO and RSM always go teabreak one leh, one day like 5 teabreak excluding smokebreakAh... tat seems pretty bad... bu have competed their job scope ? I know a sale person on the private sector who go around in his car and drinking kopi with friends and telling his boss he is going and meet customers. But he meet sales target so no one cares...
If the root of the problem "taxing and recovering all possible costs" is not solved, such a thing will always happen and keep happening.which country never tax its people
Will raising GST and giving some conservancy rebate better solve the problems we are facing?How do u suggest gov raise money for budget ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Aiyo they are management leh... show so bad example. Somemore they are not the boss loh, drawing salary.
[b]
Ah... tat seems pretty bad... bu have competed their job scope ? I know a sale person on the private sector who go around in his car and drinking kopi with friends and telling his boss he is going and meet customers. But he meet sales target so no one cares...
[b]
So much bombastic words to say something so simple.Originally posted by LazerLordz:The presumptious attitude found in policymaking stems mainly from an internalised belief in the superiority of their abilities.
Thus, they believe that they are always right, and we the common people, have to believe in their prescription. Problem is, there's only one GP and two TCMs.![]()
You want to show your disgust at them, you must use language that is superior.Originally posted by charlize:So much bombastic words to say something so simple.
Haiz.
47WYL18RW wrote:Why keep pushing up taxes through the HDB's sale of HDB flats and double and triple charging on vehicle Execise, COE, ERP, Petrol Tax, Car Park fees (Car Park and land costs already computed and charged in the HDB development costs.
working population in spore=800,000 workforce + 160,000 foreign maids+ 189,000 foreign workers/talents=2,100,000 in the work force.
spore unemployment is -4.25%=90,000 unemployed or underemployed including over 40s/50/56s non-workers.
so--is this a horrible figure for unemployed from a sum total of 2,100,000??????.
any country in the world FULLY 100% EMPLOYED?
germany is 27.2% unemployed
Indonesia 30% unemployed.
so , there u r .
spore is much worse ?
NO.

congratulation. your time can be better spent elsewhere.Originally posted by Sagara:
just when i wanted to look for some comedy...Originally posted by YI:congratulation. your time can be better spent elsewhere.![]()
Your statement "If someone is worth S$100,000.00 pm why should he accept S$20,000.00 pm is just an assumption.Originally posted by stupidissmart:suddenly all your reply seems to be the same telling about "triple taxing" yah, "double taxing" yah (all cities tax their citizen, money have to come from somewhere),
money never go to lower standard (they r part of the budget and it is pratically lowering cost of living)
suzhou (which is earning money)
foreign investments (which is earning more money),
linking gov to NKF yah (the thing is, they do it openly so don't have to worry about internal corruption. But then their rationale is there r talents drawn to work by money. If I have a choice of working as CEO for HP at $100,000 a month or minister for $20,000 a month. I rather be HP CEO. I don't donate 80% of my pay for ideals)
But there is something new here. The figures of job creations have failed to account for those who could not find jobs no matter how long they have been trying. (Lets put it tis way, the figure for people in other country who is unemployed also include people who persistently cannot find job.But since their percentage is higher, their problem is more acute)
Your statement "If someone is worth S$100,000.00 pm why should he accept S$20,000.00 pm is just an assumption.Ahh... but u also make the same assumption tat the minister r pretty lousy and can only find a, lets say $2,000 job outside ? Why don't we just see the system instead of the people. Do u agree tat the job of a minister is either equivalent or close to the job of a CEO of a MNC company ? If the pay is lousy, the people who can get $100,000 outside will not join as minister because they r donating a 80% salary donation to the country.
There is no guarantee that Durai was worth higher than S$600,000.00 pa at the material time so please do not assume he is when he and his board committed those wrongs as found in the court judgment.
NKF revealed many malpractices one of which is the claim that it is peanut to pay its CEO S$600,000.00 pa not to mention the several months of bonuses.Originally posted by stupidissmart:Ahh... but u also make the same assumption tat the minister r pretty lousy and can only find a, lets say $2,000 job outside ? Why don't we just see the system instead of the people. Do u agree tat the job of a minister is either equivalent or close to the job of a CEO of a MNC company ? If the pay is lousy, the people who can get $100,000 outside will not join as minister because they r donating a 80% salary donation to the country.If the pay is equvalent, then it is likely people who have talent to run as CEO will consider joining as minister. At least we can be sure tat there will be more candidates interested than giving 20,000 in the post and thus able to pick the better man for the job. The system can get better qualified people to turn the economy u desire isn't it ?
NKF revealed many malpractices one of which is the claim that it is peanut to pay its CEO S$600,000.00 pa not to mention the several months of bonuses.If I do not read wrongly, the point above just state tat Durai act in such a way because he is "following" gov lead in pay taking. But then again wat does tis have to do with whether the gov is corrupted or not ? Durai is being sued and charged now isn't it ?
This malpractice could have been encouraged by the assumption you have clearly made that in order to encourage good and talented people, government must pay such an amount of salaries to ministers, MPs as and civil servants as to prevent corruption.
There are many flaws in such an assumptions which rest essentially on comparison of the highest pays of bosses in the private business world as many of them are capitalist investors who reward themselves highly from their own business profits or own monies which in a down time could turn into quick losses.Do they compared themselves with the highest pays of bosses ? Furthermore the pay for some CEO is fixed and whether the company decline or not, he still get his pay. Doesn't the ministers get a pay cut when the economy is faltering ?
They are not entrepreneurs in the private sector who are able to push up their pays by comparing with the highest and not being accountable to their shareholders for lack of performance or mistakes like our ministers such as in NKF or Shin Corp/Lack of performance ? Mistakes ? Whether shin corp, in the long run, will fail is sill not confirmed yet. Overall for the year they still make more profit then the losses so should they get fired for making profit ? NKF has nothing to do with the Gov. It is not even gov linked.
Iaococca is another example of a private sector CEO who understands such a predicament of benefits and reward system. He gave up his CEO pay during the period Chrysler was in financial crisis to show that if he wants to be talented and be paid high salaries he must be answerable for performance.U see, he is a classic example but u can't expect everyone to follow him. He does not do wat common CEO will do. Mother Teresa went to africa to help the needy so does it means every nuns have to go to africa ?
I am sure I have by now shown you that it is only an assumption that in order to attract talents we must pay the highest salaries equivalent to The bosses of legal firms, stock companies and all the investor category of private sector CEO. There is no end to such comparison as our MM Lee might well next make comparison with salaries of Bill Gates and Sim Wong Hoo who are extremely creative in their entrepreneurship and deserve all their reward whereas public sector employees or public officers are only in charge of passing laws and collecting monies.Again u have no specifically answer my queries on the point
At the most our ministers should be benchmarked to the best governed country's leaders from among the successful economies like the Korean or Finland or the best-run public organizations in charge of collecting and spending monies from members or subscribers.Minister, if I am not wrong, r picked from candidate with a good track record. And they have a much higher population than singapore and singaporean r particularly fixed on the idea of meritocracy and money. As said, if u have a choice to work for CEO of HP for 100,000 a month, will u drop your pay to 20,000 to work as a minister ? Most people here will say no.
The superior man understands what is right; the inferior man understands what is gain. -ConfuciusOriginally posted by stupidissmart:Realistically speaking, people r moltivated by money. U can't deny tis fact. Pay peanuts and we get monkeys.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:You yourself admitted that most people don't some will. We want those Some people not most people. Soil is more than gold which one is more precious?
Minister, if I am not wrong, r picked from candidate with a good track record. And they have a much higher population than singapore and singaporean r particularly fixed on the idea of meritocracy and money. As said, if u have a choice to work for CEO of HP for 100,000 a month, will u drop your pay to 20,000 to work as a minister ? Most people here will say no.
Moltivate by money? The people don't need such people to serve them. Pay peanuts i don't see it will only invite monkeyWith a lower pay, r we gonna get capable people for the job. I believe more people will apply if the pay is better and a better candidate can be chosen. Notice tat politics is still nevertheless a job. So if u get a $100,000 job now will u go to help gov and take a $20,000 job ? If u have $3000 dollar job now will u get a paycut and apply for a $1500 job to help gov ?
You yourself admitted that most people don't some will. We want those Some people not most people. Soil is more than gold which one is more precious?Given lesser candidate to choose from, the people chosen is likely not to be capable and the country will implement lousy policy. Then overall the whole country suffers. Ideal and realistic situation differs.