In all likelihood, the Govt is likely to personally push and set up a new GLC to do the job of fighting the pharmaceuticals. Start-ups in Singapore have a very harsh environment to work on and likely, even if it does survive, it would get bought by Temasek, just as Temasek bought a piece of Hyflux.Originally posted by Cystaire:OM,
From this paragraph, I can see that you have also been confused by the difference between pharmaceutical manufacturing industry and biomedical research initiative.
Though it is true that the government's biomedical initiative has encouraged a number of pharmaceutical companies to come to Singapore after 2001, most of the money spent on the initiative has been used for infrastructure and manpower training.
So Dr. Lee is right that the biomedical investment costs has not paid off directly yet. The pharma are posting record sales, but pocketing much of this. Meanwhile the government is spending billions to build the foundations of a biotech industry.
In order to make megabucks, we still have to wait for our freshly trained scientists to join industry and set up our own pharma and biotech companies.
What we can agree on is that Dr. Lee thinks that it's all a mistake and IMHO that call is way, way too premature.
You bring up "shotgun approach", with so many misses, I wonder if all our ministers are "bobo king" in the army.Originally posted by Cystaire:Robert,
I am usually enlightened by your comprehensive analysis in many areas, but I am disappointed with your series of posts in this thread. Despite portraying yourself as an informed critic of the government, you have concentrated only pointing out Mr Philip Yeo's faults while apparently supporting Dr Lee without explaining your reasons why.
In addition, some of your articles are general criticisms of the government and not addressing the specific points in this debate.
Of course many of us are concerned with where the biomedical sector is headed.
However your posts misrepresent the issues.
It's not "Philip Yeo has no strategy" vs "Lee Wei Ling has strategy".
It's "Philip Yeo has one strategy" vs "Lee Wei Ling has another".
The government does have a niche strategy that prioritizes biomedical research in areas like cancer, heart disease and stem cells.
Dr. Lee disagrees with these areas and recommends head injury and Hepatitis B as better niche areas.
She thinks that the government is having aimlessly "shotgun approach", but if that is the case why did Philip Yeo close the Institute of Agrobiology?
Robert, if you are supportive of Dr. Lee's approach, then can you explain to the rest of us why you agree that Singapore has a unique advantage in head injury and Hepatitis B research compared to cancer and stem cell biology?
quote:Originally posted by robertteh:*snip*Cystaire,
The editor nevertheless was too afraid to say that there is no strategising at all among all the researches as which are the ones we could excel or stand a better chance to succeed in.
So Dr Lee Wei Ling was right in saying that without such strategising we will be spending taxpayers' hard-earned monies without a clear direction of the kind of goals and results we could get.
I would say that the single most important issue in this debate actually is whether our government could implement our economic policy of upgrading our economy well and successfully in practical terms and not the principles of attracting or not attracting enough or whether the spending of large sums of monies would be worth it.
Cystaire wrote:
Robert,
I am usually enlightened by your comprehensive analysis in many areas, but I am disappointed with your series of posts in this thread. Despite portraying yourself as an informed critic of the government, you have concentrated only pointing out Mr Philip Yeo's faults while apparently supporting Dr Lee without explaining your reasons why.
In addition, some of your articles are general criticisms of the government and not addressing the specific points in this debate.
Of course many of us are concerned with where the biomedical sector is headed.
However your posts misrepresent the issues.
It's not "Philip Yeo has no strategy" vs "Lee Wei Ling has strategy".
It's "Philip Yeo has one strategy" vs "Lee Wei Ling has another".
The government does have a niche strategy that prioritizes biomedical research in areas like cancer, heart disease and stem cells.
Dr. Lee disagrees with these areas and recommends head injury and Hepatitis B as better niche areas.
She thinks that the government is having aimlessly "shotgun approach", but if that is the case why did Philip Yeo close the Institute of Agrobiology?
Robert, if you are supportive of Dr. Lee's approach, then can you explain to the rest of us why you agree that Singapore has a unique advantage in head injury and Hepatitis B research compared to cancer and stem cell biology?
haha... sorry to be rude hereOriginally posted by Cystaire:Yes I understand what you mean.
Though Mr Yeo as an engineer doesn't appear appropriate, Dr. Lee's credentials are not suitable for science either, as she was trained with a purely medical background.
I hope people understand that medicine =/= science, the culture behind each field is often opposite to each other. Medicine is not closer to science than engineering... I have been appalled at how poor the scientific knowledge of local doctors can be.
The first batch of MD/PhDs who will be truly apt to lead the field, will not be returning until couple of years later.
Of this 30% (for how many years?) which you claim; what is the percentage that is attributable to biomedical research? This expansion FYI in "medicinal products" could have taken place even without biomedical research, as companies set up factories to produce whatever patent drugs or traditional chinese medicine. There is no correlation between your expansion of medicinal products to biomedical research. Please cite references to prove me wrong.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The rapid rise in biomedical exports in the recent years has been well publicised. Surely you are aware that exports in the biomedical industry has grown by a startling 30%, contributing much revenue to the economy.
I don't think u will ever receive a reply from him!!!Originally posted by maurizio13:Of this 30% (for how many years?) which you claim; what is the percentage that is attributable to biomedical research? This expansion FYI in "medicinal products" could have taken place even without biomedical research, as companies set up factories to produce whatever patent drugs or traditional chinese medicine. There is no correlation between your expansion of medicinal products to biomedical research. Please cite references to prove me wrong.
Originally posted by kaoya:Please don't turn this discussion into a personal issue.
*snip*
pls do not make sweeping statements about a field that
you only have a superficial understanding of[/b]
Come on lah, I thought you usually support me against OM? Now on this rare occasion we agree on some minor thing you shoot me?Originally posted by foomwee88:My sons n I after we were reading through the OM n Cystaire's postings r laughing non stop!!!
How on earth these 2 jokers just know how to recite information from newspaper to survive in this forum ?worst still, twisted facts w/o analytical mind n knowledge on the subject matter dare to post all these here!!!making them real laughing stocks here n there!!!![]()
Hmm...Originally posted by charlize:I still think there is more to it than meets the eye.
Coming at a time when the leadership is changing hands at Astar, there must be something going on that is not reported in the media.
But that's just me.
Yes I don't know what is happening.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:It should be noted that LKY's daughter is probably more liberal than her elder brother. She actually publicly said that she was against the Gifted Program, describing it as fostering elitism.
She has largely kept out of the public eye unlike her brothers who are in more public positions, but LHY has since disappeared out of sight too.
But whatever Kaoya stated in her posting is consistent with what my graduated doc from NUS had told me!It is a matter of fact,hence I cant support you by twisted the fact,right!!!Originally posted by Cystaire:Come on lah, I thought you usually support me against OM? Now on this rare occasion we agree on some minor thing you shoot me?
So that means I must always be against everyone everytime? I am not such a negative person.
I think we all will gradually learn that our first objective is not going against anyone whether he is Philip Yeo or LKY. We are mainly questioning wrongs in government's policies and implementation. It so happens that Dr. Lee Wei Ling has spoken the people's views and since she is also part of establishments, our people's views are now well, better supported.Originally posted by Cystaire:Yes I don't know what is happening.
Maybe there is some disagreement going on.
I am surprised that so many people here are supportive of Dr. Lee reflexively, considering they are usually against members of the establishment.
Perhaps they feel Philip Yeo is more establishment than Dr. Lee's family.
They are even painting me as a pro-government supporter. What a confusion!
I'm of the believe that it will take someone of their own bloodline to change things...Originally posted by robertteh:I think we all will gradually learn that our first objective is not going against anyone whether he is Philip Yeo or LKY. We are mainly questioning wrongs in government's policies and implementation. It so happens that Dr. Lee Wei Ling has spoken the people's views and since she is also part of establishments, our people's views are now well, better supported.
That is a good development in Singapore politics as government and its own insider must be able to see what went wrong and disagree with their own superiors and party.
LKY's daughter has always been rather outspoken even against her father. She spent quite a long time abroad.Originally posted by robertteh:I think we all will gradually learn that our first objective is not going against anyone whether he is Philip Yeo or LKY. We are mainly questioning wrongs in government's policies and implementation. It so happens that Dr. Lee Wei Ling has spoken the people's views and since she is also part of establishments, our people's views are now well, better supported.
That is a good development in Singapore politics as government and its own insider must be able to see what went wrong and disagree with their own superiors and party.
May be to prepare a queen in the next election???Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:LKY's daughter has always been rather outspoken even against her father. She spent quite a long time abroad.
I doubt it. She has stayed out of politics for decades, though within the realm of possibility but unlikely. LKY doesn't like people who go against him.Originally posted by foomwee88:May be to prepare a queen in the next election???![]()
Do u know wat is politics?Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:I doubt it. She has stayed out of politics for decades, though within the realm of possibility but unlikely. LKY doesn't like people who go against him.
aiyo... u really dun understandOriginally posted by Cystaire:Please don't turn this discussion into a personal issue.
I won't go into the details, but I will stand by my opinion that a doctor is not necessarily better at leading a science effort than an engineer.
You may consider 4 peer-reviewed articles impressive, but that is in reality a very modest research output.
Prof. Sydney Brenner (who is one of Mr. Philip Yeo's main advisors) has at least 40 publications since 1979 (and dozens more before that).
Plus a Nobel Prize.
As for peer-reviewed research articles, even I have two publications myself.
Let's stick to the discussion of whether head injury and Hep B are really the correct niches to follow instead of cancer, heart disease and stem cells.