Well, we are all entitiled to our opinions, and I don't see why the need for you to take to provocations..?Originally posted by the Bear:looks like shutterbug is succumbed to cynicism and is deriding others for not being as cynical as he is
your face must be puckered up so bad from them grapes you can't reach
Change in Singapore is like asking for snow in the desert. Nothing will change for at least a decade, unless things have come to a point where everything is falling a part and the population awakens from its drunken stupor.Originally posted by the Bear:yeah.. could.. if that lot of people will let you have the grapes..
that's one of the things i was talking about... just because you want to migrate, doesn't mean the country which you want to go to will let you in
but hey, go for it if it is your goal..
what i find incomprehensible is that because you don't like things in your home and your family, you don't seek to make things right, but you just move out... the home and family is worth that little?
you're optimistic,Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Change in Singapore is like asking for snow in the desert. Nothing will change for at least a decade, unless things have come to a point where everything is falling a part and the population awakens from its drunken stupor.

Well, i did say at least a decade. But i think 5 decades down the road, i'll be else where liao.Originally posted by mistyblue:you're optimistic,
I'd give it 5 decades at least..
Performance review must come with reward or penality.
There is no penality, just rewards for elites.
Penality for the rest of us.
if its home its easier, parents are easier to handle, we can talk and discuss and make things riteOriginally posted by the Bear:yeah.. could.. if that lot of people will let you have the grapes..
that's one of the things i was talking about... just because you want to migrate, doesn't mean the country which you want to go to will let you in
but hey, go for it if it is your goal..
what i find incomprehensible is that because you don't like things in your home and your family, you don't seek to make things right, but you just move out... the home and family is worth that little?
Harrharrharrrhaaaa...!!!Originally posted by blueheeler:I'm a little more optimistic about change in the political scene in S'pore. I don't think it'll take as long as 50yrs.
You see, a few years ago, the whole of China was on the brink of great changes, but it couldn't move ahead because the oldest of the old-guards, Deng Xiao Ping, was still around. When he died, China broke free and surged ahead by leaps and bounds.
I think the same will happen in S'pore when our dear MM LKY passes on. With him around, I assume no one would dare contradict him, esp. in a country that he built. So when MM LKY leaves this mortal world, I think that within PAP, camps would form: those loyal to PM LHL (and the memory of MM LKY) in one camp, and those who are not-so-loyal to the Lees would be in the other camp. Hopefully, this little fissure will lead to a big, fat fracture, where one camp splits from the PAP, some of current ministers/MPs defacting to form a formidable opposition party.
Then, and perhaps only then, the political scene in S'pore would get an extreme-makeover, and every individual voter becomes rewarded with more credible choices during elections.
Unless, of course, MM LKY found the fountain of youth...
OMG!!!u compare sinkapore with a communist country PRC???Originally posted by blueheeler:I'm a little more optimistic about change in the political scene in S'pore. I don't think it'll take as long as 50yrs.
You see, a few years ago, the whole of China was on the brink of great changes, but it couldn't move ahead because the oldest of the old-guards, Deng Xiao Ping, was still around. When he died, China broke free and surged ahead by leaps and bounds.
I think the same will happen in S'pore when our dear MM LKY passes on. With him around, I assume no one would dare contradict him, esp. in a country that he built. So when MM LKY leaves this mortal world, I think that within PAP, camps would form: those loyal to PM LHL (and the memory of MM LKY) in one camp, and those who are not-so-loyal to the Lees would be in the other camp. Hopefully, this little fissure will lead to a big, fat fracture, where one camp splits from the PAP, some of current ministers/MPs defacting to form a formidable opposition party.
Then, and perhaps only then, the political scene in S'pore would get an extreme-makeover, and every individual voter becomes rewarded with more credible choices during elections.
Unless, of course, MM LKY found the fountain of youth...
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:This person may seem like a fool in public, but i think he possesses courage which many people don't have.
Yes, you are absolutely right!Originally posted by (human):This person may seem like a fool in public, but i think he possesses courage which many people don't have.
(1) Bureaucracy in civil service. (e.g. HDB's bureaucratic reply on criticism on its false claims of subsidy on its sold flats)Which country doesn't have problem with bureaucracy ?
(2) High costs of living due to tax-and-recover policy e.g. medical, utilities, housing, transportation, education, etc, etc where corporatized GLCs were formed to raise fees with double-charging on lands and infrastructure already paid and owned by the citizens)Well technically speaking which city doesn't face high cost of living...
(3) Failure of the Growth Triangles (All the projects in Bintan and Riau were failing)Is it failing ? How much have singapore lost ? HAve singapore ever invest any money in ? It come to the point on whether should we make risks in investments in tis world now. There r some success stories such as keppel, sembcorp, SIA, singtel etc as well. Technically suzhou is a success and in the long run benefit singapore more than costing them.
4) Affective divide caused by restriction on freedom and intellectual space (More attempts being made to cause more divide by cyber-countering criticism)Actually tat come to a point on how u view "cyber-countering". It is not internet banning or closing. The internet is free for all and there r many people tat spoke of words tat criticise the gov. The gov thus employ people tat seak their side of the story. In a way it make discussions more meaningful instead of just bombarding and telling from one side of the story. If u r right, why do u fear competition ?
(5) Work site safety problems (COI recommendations on Hotel New World Collapse not implemented causing more collapses e.g. Nicol Highway collapse.)Why do u blame the gov for the fault committed by a private company
(6) Failure to Deliver the promised Swiss standard of living (Wages of workers are dropping and more educated and highly educated are becoming unemployed)Tat is technically a difficult thing to do. Swiss has many advantages tat singapore do not have such as more land and being the only neutral country. Tat is why tis is a goal
(7) Asset enhancement scheme fiasco (Majority of citizens are struggling to pay their mortgages to the HDB due to profiteering)Which city doesn't
(8 ) Unit trust investment fiasco (Majority CPF invested in such funds suffered losses and lost their retirement funds)Actually the only thing gov did is allowed people to invest their CPF fund.
(9) Foreign relation fiascos (e.g. Souzhou, Shin Corp and Global Crossing)Tat actually is a very sad thing but prior to buying Shincorp, there r no tell tale signs tat it is a mistake. No one can predict Thaksin be ousted by a military coup before
(10) Failure of economic restructuring to value-adding strategy (Despite big meetings and big restructuring plans during the last three deep recessions)Well the economy now is climbing again isn't it ? I actually support more meetings and more restructure plans as time goes along so tat they r updated with the ever changing world
(11) Double-charging on lands (paid by taxes) in sale of HDB flats and triple charges on vehicles.(retaining excise duty even after COE/ERP)Every city try to find ways to tax the people. If u do not want to tax people who can afford to buy nice houses and many cars, which sector of people do u want to derive the tax from ?
(12) Meritocratic education that neglected broad-based education. (Only emphasising on meritocracy to create elitism for political tool)Well recently there r changes to the curriculum of education. U got to know 20 years ago singapore faces a totally different business climate than it is now. If u take a look almost all developing country have meritocratic education even now. It is the developed country tat start to diversify its education
(13) Mother tongue - CL1 admission fiascoI don't really understand tis point... We can only blame the gov for being too successfully in making the citizen lose touch with their mother tongue and embraced english. And I think country like Japan and Italy r still brewing their own mother tongue fiasco which may caused problem in the next few decades
(14) Reaching World Cup soccer league by 2010 (no sign of getting near.)Again tis is a goal... I can only say gov can do tat much to promote soccer and the rest depends on the people themselves. We do get to be ASEAN champions though...
(15) Investment losses by thousands of citizens from CPF fundsIsn't tis same as point 8 ?
(16) Backfiring of public wage restructuring on economic competitiveness.Backfire ? Wat do u mean ? I think if given a choice to be manager for toyota for 10,000 a month and a choice to be a CEO of sembcorp for 2,000, I will rather be with toyota. I don't donate 80% of my actual salary simply because i wanna work in public sector or glc company. I don't see extra pride in working in Singtel or army rather than toyota or HP
(17) Lack of accountability and transparency in investments of citizens' monies in overseas investments.I fully agree with u on tis one... we seems to be hearing a lot of tis but wat do u really expect to be the ideal case ? Temesek have opened up its account isn't it ?
(18 ) Loss of economic competitiveness due to high costs.Tat is the problem is capitalism and developed cities, not just singapore. Which developed city don't face tis problem ? Who wanna take a 80% pay cut to ensure singapore remain cheap ?
(19) Neglect in promoting entrepreneurshipNow it changed isn't it ?
(20) Neglect in nurturing the domestic sector of economy.Actually wat do u mean ? Wat do u wish to be developed ?
quoteSo, by your reasoning even if NKF,s board are found engaged in cronism and malpractices, with the support of government, such cronism and malpractices can also be dismissed by our first-class leaders with the same typical one-liner: "Which country does not have cronism?"1) Bureaucracy in civil service. (e.g. HDB's bureaucratic reply on criticism on its false claims of subsidy on its sold flats)
Stupidissmart:
Which country doesn't have problem with bureaucracy ? Rolling Eyes
quoteIf average household necessity expenses e.g. transport, utility, medical, telephone and essential government services is hitting S$1,000 pm due to constant taxing and recovering of costs against citizens while the majority of citizens in the lower income household cannot even earn S$1,000 per month how do you reckon they could pay for their three meals.2) High costs of living due to tax-and-recover policy e.g. medical, utilities, housing, transportation, education, etc, etc where corporatized GLCs were formed to raise fees with double-charging on lands and infrastructure already paid and owned by the citizens)
Stupidissmart:-
Well technically speaking which city doesn't face high cost of living...
According to the website below, singapore seems to score the highest in asia country for quality of living
http://www.finfacts.ie/qualityoflife.htm
quoteThis is one lessen our ministers must learn - do not boast if they cannot deliver as they would lose their credibility, reputation, and integrity and their claims to the court to possess such qualities in so many defamation suits against political opponents would then be dubious and unjustified.3) Failure of the Growth Triangles (All the projects in Bintan and Riau were failing)
Stupidissmart:
Is it failing ? How much have singapore lost ? HAve singapore ever invest any money in ? It come to the point on whether should we make risks in investments in tis world now. There r some success stories such as keppel, sembcorp, SIA, singtel etc as well. Technically suzhou is a success and in the long run benefit singapore more than costing them.
Suzhou industrial parkSo the economic restructuring plans announced in 1993-1995, 1997-1999 and 2000-2004 recessions consisted of trials and errors after all instead of holistic implementation of strategies to re-position Singapore Jurong as a value-adding technology-driven hub.
http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/200405/18/eng20040518_143684.html
An interview with lee hsien long
Up to the end of 2003, the company has already got in enough profits for making up all accumulated deficits. And the company has for the first time allotted stock dividend amounting to USD 10 million.
Sijori
http://www.tumenprogramme.org/tumen/publications/speeches/TREDA%20Advocacy%20Workshop,%20Beijing,%20March%202000/TRIS%20paper%202
Singapore:
1. Industrial restructuring: Singapore has subcontracted or relocated many of its low value-added, labor-intensive manufacturing activities to Johor or Riau, allowing Singapore to focus greater attention on higher value-added sectors such as services (Xiangming, 1995, 607). Whereas Singapore used to be a major center for manufacturing, it is now Southeast Asia's most attractive location for foreign companies' regional headquarters. This in turn stimulates higher demand for more services and support industries.
2. Acquiring economies of scale: Singapore has always been concerned about its limited domestic market, which was the motivating factor in the government's decision to adopt such an open economy in the 1960s. Through its ties with Johor and Riau, Singapore has achieved larger economies of scale for its financial and services sectors and given its investors wider access to foreign sources of labor, resources, and land.
3. Coping with labor and land limitations: Singapore faces similar problems as Hong Kong with rising labor costs and land prices, and shortages of domestic labor and open land. Immediately after SIJORI was established Singapore began shifting manufacturing activities to Riau to take advantage of the latter's comparative advantages in land and labor.
quote:4) Affective divide caused by restriction on freedom and intellectual space (More attempts being made to cause more divide by cyber-countering criticism)You must have forgotten, PM Lee in his inauguration speech in 2004 has promised to build an inclusive society probably realizing the big mistake committed by his father in denying people's views and participation in political process.
Stupidissmart:
Actually tat come to a point on how u view "cyber-countering". It is not internet banning or closing. The internet is free for all and there r many people tat spoke of words tat criticise the gov. The gov thus employ people tat seak their side of the story. In a way it make discussions more meaningful instead of just bombarding and telling from one side of the story. If u r right, why do u fear competition ?
quoteIf the president and PM was so remorseful after the Hotel New World collapse as to say the they would not leave any stone unturned to find the real cause of the collapse and take fullest measures to stop another incident, why be so dishonest as to now say that it is now private citizens' own problems with another collapse like the Nicoll Highway which was clearly a case of inadequate safety implementation of recommendations made in the Hotel New World Inquiry.5) Work site safety problems (COI recommendations on Hotel New World Collapse not implemented causing more collapses e.g. Nicol Highway collapse.)
Stupidissmart:
Why do u blame the gov for the fault committed by a private company Rolling Eyes The gov is not superhuman and can ensure all organisations follow their regulation to a T
quoteIf it is not so easy to achieve for goodness sake don't boast and say that there will be jobs jobs jobs, asset enhancements and we are world class in this or that. Be humble and everybody will understand if we do not achieve that kind or half of that kind of standard like the swiss standard of living.6) Failure to Deliver the promised Swiss standard of living (Wages of workers are dropping and more educated and highly educated are becoming unemployed)
Stupidissmart:
Tat is technically a difficult thing to do. Swiss has many advantages tat singapore do not have such as more land and being the only neutral country. Tat is why tis is a goal Mr. Green
i understand..you need to practise your hip-hop for chingay....Originally posted by stupidissmart:......I spent too much time on the forumsI have to stop now...
So, by your reasoning even if NKF,s board are found engaged in cronism and malpractices, with the support of government, such cronism and malpractices can also be dismissed by our first-class leaders with the same typical one-liner: "Which country does not have cronism?"Neh... I won't say tat because there r many companies tat do not have cronism.
If average household necessity expenses e.g. transport, utility, medical, telephone and essential government services is hitting S$1,000 pm due to constant taxing and recovering of costs against citizens while the majority of citizens in the lower income household cannot even earn S$1,000 per month how do you reckon they could pay for their three meals.Well there r help for family tat live in poverty
When Mr. Tan jumped the MRT track, he had only S$9 to buy a package of food for his son and he was left with S$16.00 in his pocket having been rejected of assistance by his MP. What kind of society are we building? Whose fault was it that he ought to jump the MRT track.
This is one lessen our ministers must learn - do not boast if they cannot deliver as they would lose their credibility, reputation, and integrity and their claims to the court to possess such qualities in so many defamation suits against political opponents would then be dubious and unjustified.Tis is a goal u see... it is the role model, the point we reached the possible peak from the current outlook. Remember the saying "aim high aim for the sky. If it fall it fall on the head of a cocoonut tree". There r a lot of students tat aimed for full A's for their A level but get only a few. R u going to say they r boastful and losing their credibility, reputation and integrity ?
So the economic restructuring plans announced in 1993-1995, 1997-1999 and 2000-2004 recessions consisted of trials and errors after all instead of holistic implementation of strategies to re-position Singapore Jurong as a value-adding technology-driven hub.To be fair, everybody take calculated risk because no one can predict the future. If u say singapore have push their cost too high, then New york, tokyo, hong kong and all major developed city suffer the same fate. Can u named me a more developed city than singapore yet have a very low cost compared with singapore ? If u can name me 1 city in asia, then I will be forced to agree with your point. Otherwise u have to agree with my point tat it is an economy imposibility to have low cost and economically developed city at the same time, especially when it have no resources. Fair ? Otherwise u r just telling me a story of a horse tat can run but don't eat. (Yu yao ma er pao, yu yao ma er bu chi cao)
You must have forgotten, PM Lee in his inauguration speech in 2004 has promised to build an inclusive society probably realizing the big mistake committed by his father in denying people's views and participation in political process.I think u r exaggerating the actual words he said. I believe he say a more open society, and I have listed some signs of it really being open such as speech corner, no suing of opposition last election, more feedback and debate on key issues, debating on the internet etc. I don't think he say "big mistakes committed by his father"
People have their views on any issues or problems. The job of the government is to serve them taking into consideration the views good or bad. Do not continue to be so confrontation as if it is like the lawyer he must always fight to win.It depend on how u view a voice of gov as. U can say they r like lawyers always must win, but they can be seen as experts on a field which show an insight on the real difficulty of reality. As said if your point is valid, why do u fear "lawyers" ? Have u no confident in your points and certain they can't stand scrutiny ? Their work is even being scrutinise by u now, but u don't want them to scrutinise u. Is it fair ?
Government is not employed and paid to behave like a lawyer to argue with the people. Government must serve the people so that it will bring about the greatest benefits to the greatest number as was believed too by MM Lo why can't he just do it and stop confronting the people like a lawyer.Tat is true but which is good point which is bad points ? EVen when gov have to implement policies they have to stand scrutiny and opposition tat fight to win as well. In all sectors tat is true as well.
If the president and PM was so remorseful after the Hotel New World collapse as to say the they would not leave any stone unturned to find the realI think we need to be fair and know tat one cannot find out all the fault of a company tat intentionally want to deceive u. I do not think tat a parent can even ensure his child will follow all the family rules perfectly, wats more, companies and u have limited resources.
Don't tell me our president and PM were not men of honour who will means every word they say?
If it is not so easy to achieve for goodness sake don't boast and say that there will be jobs jobs jobs, asset enhancements and we are world class in this or that. Be humble and everybody will understand if we do not achieve that kind or half of that kind of standard like the swiss standard of living.As said earlier, it is a goal
He is not a fool.Originally posted by (human):This person may seem like a fool in public, but i think he possesses courage which many people don't have.
quoteIsn't this a reflection of the sheer lack of judgmental abilities and acumen in investing people's hard-earned monies in such ill-considered venture.7) Asset enhancement scheme fiasco (Majority of citizens are struggling to pay their mortgages to the HDB due to profiteering)
stupidissmart:
Which city doesn't Rolling Eyes
If we are indeed a country run by talented leaders, there will be no need to compare with the worse or give excuses for any shortcomings.
Let's be candid, our leaders are no talents or that world-class and have made the terrible big mistakes of exhorting people to gamble on asset enhancement which backfired. The majority of the people except for the super-rich who are helped by various D10/CBD upgrading are now still suffering from the government big push to invest in property exhausting their CPF and retirement savings to do so.
[quote] quote8 ) Unit trust investment fiasco (Majority CPF invested in such funds suffered losses and lost their retirement funds)
Stupidissmart:
Actually the only thing gov did is allowed people to invest their CPF fund. Rolling Eyes So do u suggest we simply let the CPF stay as CPF and not invest ?
Didn't the government take the unusual move to liberalise the use of CPF to invest in all kinds of stocks and unit trust resulting in most people losing their retirements?
Is the government's decision in this regard a tell-tale sign of their lack of shrewd judgment or acumen essential to being good government.
[quote] quote9) Foreign relation fiascos (e.g. Souzhou, Shin Corp and Global Crossing)
Stupidissmart:
Tat actually is a very sad thing but prior to buying Shincorp, there r no tell tale signs tat it is a mistake. No one can predict Thaksin be ousted by a military coup before Rolling Eyes
quoteExactly this has confirmed my earlier posts that during recessions, ministers only pushed away problems with economic restructuring plans and as soon as the world economy recovers, they would be quick to claim credit.10) Failure of economic restructuring to value-adding strategy (Despite big meetings and big restructuring plans during the last three deep recessions)
Well the economy now is climbing again isn't it ? I actually support more meetings and more restructure plans as time goes along so tat they r updated with the ever changing world
quoteThis is truly a case of flip-flop between boastful visions and foresight and talents and giving excuses to get out of problems. If the Shin Corp deal fails just blame it on someone else and if it makes or even if it does not pass muster, claim for all the credit one can.11) Double-charging on lands (paid by taxes) in sale of HDB flats and triple charges on vehicles.(retaining excise duty even after COE/ERP)
Stupidissmart:
Every city try to find ways to tax the people. If u do not want to tax people who can afford to buy nice houses and many cars, which sector of people do u want to derive the tax from ?
quoteIt is precisely this kind of foolhardy stubbornness that has set back our economic competitiveness for more than 20 years. When leaders made the most drastic mistake of pursuing a most narrow-minded meritocratic education aimed at promoting only snobs and elitism they refused to admit their fundamental errors of judgment at the expense of practical broad-based education12) Meritocratic education that neglected broad-based education. (Only emphasising on meritocracy to create elitism for political tool)
Well recently there r changes to the curriculum of education. U got to know 20 years ago singapore faces a totally different business climate than it is now. If u take a look almost all developing country have meritocratic education even now. It is the developed country tat start to diversify its education
quoteBy going to the whole hog of shutting down Chinese schools and Nanyang university, a fundamental mistake has already been caused which set back our education of the Chinese Singaporeans.13) Mother tongue - CL1 admission fiasco
Stupidissmart:
I don't really understand tis point... We can only blame the gov for being too successfully in making the citizen lose touch with their mother tongue and embraced english. And I think country like Japan and Italy r still brewing their own mother tongue fiasco which may caused problem in the next few decades
quoteIt now looks like every goal announced is for public relation or look-good presentation and justification and not as serious as citizens were made to believe. This may be known as talented leadership in other circumstances.14) Reaching World Cup soccer league by 2010 (no sign of getting near.)
Stupidissmart:
Again tis is a goal... I can only say gov can do tat much to promote soccer and the rest depends on the people themselves. We do get to be ASEAN champions though...
quoteSo when citizens lost their retirements due to government encouraging and them to jump onto the wrong bandwagon it is still not government's mistake or wrong judgment, what kind of government is this sort of government?15) Investment losses by thousands of citizens from CPF funds
Stupidissmart:
Isn't tis same as point 8 ?
quoteJust an unusual and rare unofficial minor regret like the way the Japanese are making excuses over their war crimes and atrocity even as billions of public funds went into the pocket of Thaksin's through illegal deals at our own taxpayers' expense.16) Backfiring of public wage restructuring on economic competitiveness.
Backfire ? Wat do u mean ? I think if given a choice to be manager for toyota for 10,000 a month and a choice to be a CEO of sembcorp for 2,000, I will rather be with toyota. I don't donate 80% of my actual salary simply because i wanna work in public sector or glc company. I don't see extra pride in working in Singtel or army rather than toyota or HP
It looks like for the people there is no free lunch but for the leaders taking of free lunch is called retaining talents or prevention of corruptions.
[quote] quote17) Lack of accountability and transparency in investments of citizens' monies in overseas investments.
I fully agree with u on tis one... we seems to be hearing a lot of tis but wat do u really expect to be the ideal case ? Temesek have opened up its account isn't it ?
quoteOkay it looks like changing but then there will be flip flop as we shall see like the case of promising to build an inclusive society.18 ) Loss of economic competitiveness due to high costs.
Stupidissmart:
Tat is the problem is capitalism and developed cities, not just singapore. Which developed city don't face tis problem ? Who wanna take a 80% pay cut to ensure singapore remain cheap ?
Yes another excuse can be given too capitalism, no venture no gain/
[quote] quote19) Neglect in promoting entrepreneurship
stupidissmart:
Now it changed isn't it ?
quoteIf one is passionate and honest in solving problems, it will be stimulating and full of solutions.20) Neglect in nurturing the domestic sector of economy.
Stupidissmart:
Actually wat do u mean ? Wat do u wish to be developed ?
I spent too much time on the forums Crying or Very sad I have to stop now...
Neh... I won't say tat because there r many companies tat do not have cronism. Rolling Eyes In fact I can safely say most companies, about 99.9% of them do not have such obscene cronism. I think we should be fair here. Bureaucracy is a common and non lethal problem. I can safely say even in private sector there r many bureacractic problems. I can give a figur of 50%. It is totally different from corruption which is uncommon and lethal. The extent is different. Furthermore, why do u think singapore gov have serious problem in beauracracy compared with other country ? Is it difficult to register for business ? Is the library unchanging for years ? Is it more convenient to pay tax through online ? Do we see increasing red tape or increasing improvement to services ? Frankly speaking singapore seems to be performing very well in tis aspectWould you like to substantiate that sweeping claim?
So if the person is tat poor, the gov will step in and provide help for them. I think tat the available help provided is adequate. Remember the money given to the poor have to come off from somewhere. R u willing to pay anther 3% GST so we can be sure they r helped substantially ?Goodness, have you not been reading the papers? The entire restructuring of taxes was not aimed at "helping the people" but rather attracting more foreign investment. While they increase the GST, they lower the corporate tax which generates heck a lot more revenue. So they made people suffer so that they can balance the damn budget. And at the same time they refuse to address the problem of the stagnant wages which are imposed by these foreign companies because there is little incentive for them to raise the current wages and while that happens inflation is still at work.
To be fair, everybody take calculated risk because no one can predict the future. If u say singapore have push their cost too high, then New york, tokyo, hong kong and all major developed city suffer the same fate. Can u named me a more developed city than singapore yet have a very low cost compared with singapore ? If u can name me 1 city in asia, then I will be forced to agree with your point. Otherwise u have to agree with my point tat it is an economy imposibility to have low cost and economically developed city at the same time, especially when it have no resources. Fair ? Otherwise u r just telling me a story of a horse tat can run but don't eat. (Yu yao ma er pao, yu yao ma er bu chi cao)Not you can't predict the future, but there are branches of mathematics designed to calculate risks and it is called Actuarial Math. They are heavily used by insurance companies to calculate risks etc. There are also economists who work the models to see how the trend develops. The problem with Singapore is that costs were artificially inflated a decade or so ago because the Govt thought it a good policy for people to have high landed assets but the property market burst. Also, the Govt measured the costs of land by considering every damn piece of land a potential Raffles place. It was largely the Govt's stupid attempt to maximise returns that led to such consequences which the Govt has been unapologetic about it till today. Read Ngiam Tong Dow's book for more info.
P.S: Frankly I think it is difficult for u to prove tis since I have the figure tat show singapore have the highest quality of living in asia
And again, I have to repeat suzhou is consider a commercial success. If it brings in profit, I have no complaints since the profit is pulled in to lower the cost of living in singapore. Tat is wat u want isn't it ?
It depend on how u view a voice of gov as. U can say they r like lawyers always must win, but they can be seen as experts on a field which show an insight on the real difficulty of reality. As said if your point is valid, why do u fear "lawyers" ? Have u no confident in your points and certain they can't stand scrutiny ? Their work is even being scrutinise by u now, but u don't want them to scrutinise u. Is it fair ?You know, LKY is not unknown to call a person stupid and then denigrate the person's intelligence or laugh off a remark... going by some transcripts of Student group meetings with him....
You are comparing apples and oranges. The issue here is that Ministers, as public figures, must stand by their claims, or apologise for making such outrageous ones. As it is, the Govt's entire economic policy is littered with the wreckages of past policy mistakes or misteps, from the Intelligent Singapore nonsense, to Singapore One and what not.
Tis is a goal u see... it is the role model, the point we reached the possible peak from the current outlook. Remember the saying "aim high aim for the sky. If it fall it fall on the head of a cocoonut tree". There r a lot of students tat aimed for full A's for their A level but get only a few. R u going to say they r boastful and losing their credibility, reputation and integrity ?
Isn't this a reflection of the sheer lack of judgmental abilities and acumen in investing people's hard-earned monies in such ill-considered venture.FIrstly, nobody knows tat Thaksin will be replaced by a military coup
Was the CEO liable to have his service terminated or at least forfeiture of his bonuses and increments for 2006 or was the investment board so filled with Richard Yong type that the errant staff continue to receive peanuts and install golden taps in his back office for his own delight and enjoyment.
Exactly this has confirmed my earlier posts that during recessions, ministers only pushed away problems with economic restructuring plans and as soon as the world economy recovers, they would be quick to claim credit.Tat come to an interesting question. Do u expect singapore to continue to perform well when all the other asean countries tumble like bricks or when the whole world show economy recession ? U think singapore is as big and powerful as america or as resources where where no other county can provide ? I am sorry, even america, the ideal democractic country with many advantages faces recession too.
Do we regard this type of economic planning as self-reliance, entrepreneurial or creative. What is talent and leadership if everything must depend on external circumstances and we cannot plan and preempt our actions to overcome potential problems from the 1970s after so many plans and speeches to restructure the economy.
This is truly a case of flip-flop between boastful visions and foresight and talents and giving excuses to get out of problems. If the Shin Corp deal fails just blame it on someone else and if it makes or even if it does not pass muster, claim for all the credit one can.Actually this doesn't seems to reply any part of my quoted reply
This is truly the mettle of our self-proclaimed world-class leadership.
It is precisely this kind of foolhardy stubbornness that has set back our economic competitiveness for more than 20 years. When leaders made the most drastic mistake of pursuing a most narrow-minded meritocratic education aimed at promoting only snobs and elitism they refused to admit their fundamental errors of judgment at the expense of practical broad-based educationI think I need to repeat the previous point. Developing country focus on "meritocratic education ". Developed country start to develop other areas. Singapore is a developing country 20 years ago. U may think it is "narrow minded" but twenty years ago people r facing different problems then such as lack of professionals, similar to wat many developing countries face. They just update their education system and u say they made a mistake in the past. Is any change an indication a mistake is made ?
By going to the whole hog of shutting down Chinese schools and Nanyang university, a fundamental mistake has already been caused which set back our education of the Chinese Singaporeans.Again tat time singapore faces a different challenge. Communism. There r riots and fights frequently then and there have to have a strong reaction to stem these fights. Talks failed, diplomancy fail then wat ? Is it a fundamental mistake ? I rather have some closing of schools then be a communist state. Wat do u think the priority should be ?
Our loss of rootedness and culture among the Chinese has been entirely caused by such a fundamental mistake on the part of MM Lee himself and he should just honestly admit such an error.
So when citizens lost their retirements due to government encouraging and them to jump onto the wrong bandwagon it is still not government's mistake or wrong judgment, what kind of government is this sort of government?True, the gov did encourage people to invest their CPF then. Actually I agree with u tat the gov shouldn't have encourage people to invest. They should simply keep quiet and announce u can buy shares with your cpf
So as usual for the past 40 years it is the same pattern - the leaders are never wrong in their judgment. What kind of leadership is this?
Just an unusual and rare unofficial minor regret like the way the Japanese are making excuses over their war crimes and atrocity even as billions of public funds went into the pocket of Thaksin's through illegal deals at our own taxpayers' expense.Again I don't really see why your answer have anything to do with some of the quotes given... About thaksin, it seems to be mention before above. And again investment is risk taking. A lot of acquisition give back very good result. From all angles the Shin corp sale is a good investment when they first buy it. Do u think we should really just hold tight to all our investment and never expand out of singapore ?
Okay it looks like changing but then there will be flip flop as we shall see like the case of promising to build an inclusive society.I think it is fair to say it after it had happened
If one is passionate and honest in solving problems, it will be stimulating and full of solutions.Again I do not see how it is linked with the reply I given. Passion is one thing. If I am passionate can I fly without a plane or a helicopter ? Having the feasible solution is another story.
Would you like to substantiate that sweeping claim?Simple way is u do not see such drama in other companies. U only see NKF. U name me another company with such problems I list u 10 other tat don't. Is tat fair ? About bureacracy, everybody complains of bureacracy, even in their own companies. If u want to deny tat I do not know wat to say
Goodness, have you not been reading the papers? The entire restructuring of taxes was not aimed at "helping the people" but rather attracting more foreign investment. While they increase the GST, they lower the corporate tax which generates heck a lot more revenue. So they made people suffer so that they can balance the damn budget. And at the same time they refuse to address the problem of the stagnant wages which are imposed by these foreign companies because there is little incentive for them to raise the current wages and while that happens inflation is still at work.U r reading the reply correctly. I am not suggesting the GST is used for anything. I am asking the mass public if they r willing to be taxed more to supplement the poor people. In the example I used GST. I repeat the line again in bold for u
Not you can't predict the future, but there are branches of mathematics designed to calculate risks and it is called Actuarial Math. They are heavily used by insurance companies to calculate risks etc. There are also economists who work the models to see how the trend develops. The problem with Singapore is that costs were artificially inflated a decade or so ago because the Govt thought it a good policy for people to have high landed assets but the property market burst. Also, the Govt measured the costs of land by considering every damn piece of land a potential Raffles place. It was largely the Govt's stupid attempt to maximise returns that led to such consequences which the Govt has been unapologetic about it till today. Read Ngiam Tong Dow's book for more info.I do not know about these "acturial math" but I can surely say it still can't predict the future and risk and probabilty is still involved. Can u say tat gov do not practise tis "acturial math" ? About the cost of land, do u really think tat the limited land of singapore should be cheap ?
As for Suzhou, I assume you are, if I notice your trend of posts, to be rather ignorant about the history of Suzhou. Prior to the Govt's selling off a good chunk of the stake, the Govt lost at least nearly 100 million. The project took off after the Govt sold most of it.U need to read the reply again. They have made enough profit to repay back all past deficit and start earning a profit. In short, it manage to made more than 110 million of profit by 2003. Otherwise why do u think singapore is still involved in the project ?
You seem to have forgotten that most of the profits in Temasek most likely ended up in the foreign reserves because i have never seen a budget that explicitly draws money out from foreign investment, and the CPF rate must be far less than the increase in the size of the reserves. So it does not benefit the people at all.The profit made goes into the budget
You know, LKY is not unknown to call a person stupid and then denigrate the person's intelligence or laugh off a remark... going by some transcripts of Student group meetings with him....I don't know how true your personal opinion of him is but is he your role model ? Do u want to behave like him ?
You are comparing apples and oranges. The issue here is that Ministers, as public figures, must stand by their claims, or apologise for making such outrageous ones. As it is, the Govt's entire economic policy is littered with the wreckages of past policy mistakes or misteps, from the Intelligent Singapore nonsense, to Singapore One and what not.Well there r some policies mistakes, same as all gov in the world and even america itself claim itis making a mistake in fighting iraq war. Do u expect a perfect gov tat never make any mistakes at all or a gov tat don't take any risk at all ? Well if the politician made outrageous claim, then they should apologise and try to make amends. So wat is the outrageous claim ?