No, I don't think they touch the reserves, in fact millions they made from land sales also not included, else we will get moreOriginally posted by Gazelle:Is this the first time we are digging into our reserve?
I am not in favour of distributing revenue from land sales because this kind of revenue is never sustainable. Using NII sound like a good idea, let the money work for us. However can I know who is responsible for the NII? Temasek or GIC?Originally posted by gerrykoh:No, I don't think they touch the reserves, in fact millions they made from land sales also not included, else we will get more

tat was when he dropped his cup??Originally posted by CoolMyth:
Not very clear also. I assumed he dropped his cup. But maybe he just spilled it or something.Originally posted by mhcampboy:tat was when he dropped his cup??
how he hit it? i tot he still reading..?
The road tax is targetting at the middle income group, while the GST is targetting more on the influx of tourist come 2009 and 2010 when the IRs start. Yes, they can claim back their GST, but only for certain big ticket items, all entertainment expenses in Singapore will have to pay the additional 2% GST.Originally posted by Ito_^:i dun get it sia..
they reduce road and vehicle taxes, den raise gst..
how its supposed to help the poor!?
as if they got money to buy car take taxi.
and the payout will cover meh? gst haven raise, alot of prices upz liao.
bo wue gong.
sure anot.Originally posted by Gazelle:The road tax is targetting at the middle income group, while the GST is targetting more on the influx of tourist come 2009 and 2010 when the IRs start. Yes, they can claim back their GST, but only for certain big ticket items, all entertainment expenses in Singapore will have to pay the additional 2% GST.
The forecasted there will be an additional $1.5b revenue from GST per year, I would say that they can hit 3.0b when the IR starts.
I say this is a very smart budget, which will help generate incomes not from the local, but the foreigners.
The incremental GST collection from Singaporeans expenditure is going to be a zero sum game because of the GST relieve payout over the next 4 years.Originally posted by Ito_^:sure anot.
i dun believe entire nation's daily spendings cannot beat a bunch of ang moh..?
and those pay increment for ministers oso from that $.15b revenue right?
Originally posted by Gazelle:The incremental GST collection from Singaporeans expenditure is going to be a zero sum game because of the GST relieve payout over the next 4 years.
What the government will gain most if from the foreigners and FT who are not getting any relieve from the government. As of today, there are about 3.5 Singaporeans who are entitled to this benefit, all the rest of the 1million people and the millions of tourists, will have to pay for the full cost of the GST increase.
1) Only singaporeans are given the offset package, while the 1 millions or so PR and expats are given nothing for the GST hike.Originally posted by Kenashi:
rite lor, u think $1000 can offset GST for years to come???
if it is really a zero sum game, most ppl ain't going to complain.
the foreigners get to claim back the GST when they leave the country whereas us end-consumers going to bear the brunt of the GST impact.