Yes and no.Originally posted by headset:Degrees != Brains != Good leadership (Clearly evident )
Who are the "OLD" Singaporean?Originally posted by headset:Call me a paranoid Xenophobe, but the projected 6.5Million population scares me. With current a current population of about 4million, of which Singapoeans make up only 3Million it is deffinately forseeable that the "Old" Singaporean population will be diluted in the new mix.
With firtility rates not exceeding 2.1, Our "Old" singaporean population will not, at least in the next 10-20 yrs be able to grow rapidly enough to form the majority of this 6.5Million. Will our new singaporeans stand by our nation as we have all these years? What incentive is there to fight for a nation of forigners?
Whats worse, is that i forsee Singaporean society becoming more fragmented. Even today its common to see parallel societies forming. Sure we need forigners to meet labour demands, but the rate of influx of these forigners is staggeringly quick. They barely have enough time to integrate with society. SIngaporean dont mix with them but more importantly they dont make the effort to integrate with society mainly because they have no need to. There are so many of them that they easily form support communities of their own nationalites within the country. Juct like in the Universities here. Let me give u an example. There are 2 indian cultural Societies. One for the India Indians and one for the Singapoeran Indians.
These people do not identify themselves as singaporeans but rather as citizens of their homelands. This is so even after they gain citizenship here. I think it is totally unwise to put the future of a country we have worked so hard for in the hands of fair weather friends. The Old singaporeans with means to be mobile will end up sidelined and be forced to leave. Singapore could become a bording hose soon enough.
Who voted in the PAP?Originally posted by (human):Who are causing these problems that Singaporean are going to face in the future?
You and me? No. It's the government. Who is making policies to allow more foreigners to come in? It's the government. Who's are the people who make up government? It's the PAP. Who's the steering commitees in PAP? The Lees. Is the Lees righteous people or profit lovers? Ask yourselves![]()
Again, sterotyping.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Who voted in the PAP?![]()
are the young Singaporean guilty of not looking after the OLD Singaporean?
OM, nothing but cock came out of your keyboard today.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:ya...go back to old Singapore that was covered in jungles and inhabited by the orang Asli..
As the Malaysians might say, you should learn from us and give priority to the bumiputras. You Chinese, Indians and Eurasians either accept our terms or go back to where your forefathers came from![]()
Originally posted by Hogzilla:apoligise I never did a survey before I posted the accusation.
Again, sterotyping.
When you type in this statement, I assume that you [b]KNEW all the young Singaporeans in person. If not, please throw in some facts to support your......
I would love to use the word "statement", but I think the word "accusation" is more suitable. Don't let some examples blind your whole vision and COME OUT OF YOUR IVORY TOWER AND SEE FOR YOURSELVES.
Who are the ones that lead by example and think profits first? Who were the ones that ditched all moral values into dustbin in our education? No prize for guessing the correct answer.
I think you don't understand TS's OLD Singaporean meant. You were thinking of age, not the roots of both OLD and YOUNG Singaporeans.
The gahmen did a poor job at integrating the all ethnics group together. They keep avoiding sensitive questions and let the snowball roll. [/b]
I do not agree with the word "many". I prefer the word "some". I doubt that they make up to even a quarter of Singapore youth population. If it does, Singapore will have a more severe social problem than what she is experiencing now.Originally posted by sgdiehard:apoligise I never did a survey before I posted the accusation.![]()
But you do agree with me that many young people are not looking after the OLD, right?
There are two factors affecting a particular person's education (Education in terms of both academic and moral) : The giver of the education, the reciever.Originally posted by sgdiehard:except that you blame it on the government who "think profits first", "ditched all moral values into dustbin in our education". You may even want to blame your parents for not teaching you the correct moral values, for unless you were taught, you cannot know.![]()
No lah. That's sterotyping again.Originally posted by sgdiehard:what I read here is that in every damn problem we face in and outside Singapore, concerning singapore, the standard response here is to blame the government, and the first action plan is to migrate. Go do a survey and tell me I am wrong. If the YOUNG (of age) singaporeans do have ROOTS here, with migrating as a non option, then the OLD (with roots here) singaporeans can see the roots continue to grow in singapore. If the young has no roots, the OLD dies of natural death, don't blame the foreigner.
Hope you are home having reunion dinner with your parents and grand parents.Originally posted by Hogzilla:No lah. That's sterotyping again.
At least some of us DO view the objective situation first then start the pointing finger game.
Thank you. My grandmother passed away even before I was born. My grandfather passed away when I was a kid.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Hope you are home having reunion dinner with your parents and grand parents.
Happy New Year.!
haha...start the year with vulgarity? Well, the only one I have seen today is the one you have been sucking....Originally posted by Hogzilla:OM, nothing but cock came out of your keyboard today.
I dun think you are sane enough to carry out any arguement for the day.
You ARE a paranoid xenophobe..It does not matter who is a new or old Singaporean, as long as he contributes to the prosperity of the nation and not its problems. At least with new citizens we have a choice as to who we let in to join us....not much we can do with the juvenile deliquents who are chidlren of so-called old Singaporeans, even though we can do without them.Originally posted by headset:Call me a paranoid Xenophobe, but the projected 6.5Million population scares me. With current a current population of about 4million, of which Singapoeans make up only 3Million it is deffinately forseeable that the "Old" Singaporean population will be diluted in the new mix.
by (!=) i mean that one dosent equate to the other. Brains do not equate leadership.... im trying to emphasose ur point...... that there is no hard @ fast rule to determining who should lead us. To me, all that matters is passion to serve singaporeans.Originally posted by Hogzilla:Yes and no.
I have seen people with brains and leadership. I have also seen people without qualifications and have leadership. Of course there are also some without brain and no leadership.
So that particular statement is sterotyping.
true. leadership not only requires brains, but tons of experience too.Originally posted by headset:by (!=) i mean that one dosent equate to the other. Brains do not equate leadership.... im trying to emphasose ur point...... that there is no hard @ fast rule to determining who should lead us. To me, all that matters is passion to serve singaporeans.
This so-called "fertility rate" has got a lot to do with numerous disillusioned citizens migrating per year to other truely democratic countries to start afresh, taking their families with them, or some even abandoning their ageing parents here to perish on their own. It sucks just as bad that Singapore doesn't allow dual citizenship. So it's almost always a case of "I've made a decision and I'm not coming back liao". Then there's the "National Service" where male Singaporeans who risk their lives throwing grenades and handling weapons in are being paid less than what a Bangla road sweeper gets for a duration of 2 whole years.Originally posted by gigabyte14:true. leadership not only requires brains, but tons of experience too.
but i don't think the government recognises that.
all they know is that high education status = gd leadership, yes?
but how can the government change the mindset of the growing population to increase the falling birth rate? that's the question.
pure citizens should get a place at the parliament, as they would feel the loyalty for the country, not by some dick or harry who receive a PRC permit.
2.1 is just too low of the current fertility rate. but times had changed. people are smarter in planning their marriages and most families now are making work the #1 in their minds.
at least the fertility rate should be around 2.5-3 per family. i wonder how we mere singaporeans can change that?
the government should do something too...
and somehow, i feel as like i'm depending too much on the government.
Ha ha this is a good one.Originally posted by headset:Ha ha sadly our heads of state , though highly qualified on paper, seem to have no clue of the ground effects of their policies. They see the plight of the poor but have not lived in their shoes......
Degrees != Brains != Good leadership (Clearly evident )
we are mere social experiments to the folk upstairs who have iron seats in singapore.