i think it is u ain't considered a singaporean unless u live in a PAP controlled area.Originally posted by fudgester:Let's see whether you'll still be saying that if you are handicapped and staying in an opposition ward. So to you, handicapped and elderly people MUST vote for PAP before they qualify for those facilities?
And you can still say all that with a 'mrgreen' smiley at the end? So the treatment of elderly and handicapped Singaporeans is just a joke to you, right? Or in your eyes, handicapped and elderly people living in opposition wards are not Singaporeans at all?
Wipe that smirk off your face, mister. It just ain't funny at all.
People living in opposition ward areas are also paying equal or same amount of taxes...why pap is discriminating them? Just because they voted for opposition.....NOT FORGETTING THERE STILL 40++++%%%% of damn ruling party's supporters!!! Wake up PAP!!!Originally posted by Hogzilla:What's new?
Then they can accuse the opposition for not taking care of the physically handicapped when they are morally handicapped.
But ask yourself this question lah. The money they use for all these infrastructure came from their pocket or OUR pocket?
Tell it to that elitist cunt Oxford Mushroom.Originally posted by Kenashi:i think it is u ain't considered a singaporean unless u live in a PAP controlled area.
i don't think it is fair since those in opposition ward oso need to pay taxes to the government.
Originally posted by qpicanto:The way they treat the "aged and handicapped" that voted for them in the opposition wards, how much diff are they compared to this chap?
Singapore PAP govt is morally bankrupt to deny barrier free access to aged and handicapped in the constituencies of the opposition wards by not providing sufficient govt fund to the town council of theses wards. It has reported in the state- owned newspapers BLATANTLY headlined :'Estates run by PAP to be barrier-free by 2011'.
Co-Incidentally 2011 happens to be the year for the next election.
This a morally outrageous action against the handicapped and aged.[/b]
As a principle, I feel that Singaporeans who vote in the ruling party should benefit more than those who voted against them. Therefore I have no issue with the priority given to PAP constituencies for upgrading projects, a policy which had been rejected by the Opposition MPs.The key word is priority, not deny.
'Estates run by PAP to be barrier-free by 2011'It's very obvious what's the government is trying to do. In 2011, when another election comes, they will promise more things, and if voters still vote for opposition, they will get the brunt of this sort of rubbish.
As recent as 2004, CIPC funds have been allocated to Potong Pasir to the amount of $71,000 to build children's playgrounds as well as related facilities around it as proposed by the CCC.OK, fair enough. I've seen those built in Potong Pasir.
Let me just reiterate again that the objective of CIPC funding is to improve the infrastructure, recreational facilities and general amenities of the whole constituency.
Of course, this will not cover the lift upgrading projects, which Chiam had previously said he could fundReferring to the bolded quotes:
Referring to the bolded quotes:The CIPC funds are limited and the amounts are not designed for lift upgrading, which is part of the estate upgrading project. These funds are meant for the entire estate and not meant to benefit just one particular flat needing a lift upgrade or indeed, just those residents who live on certain floors.
If the objective of CIPC funding is to improve infrastructure, recreational facilities and general amenities of the constituency, why isn't lift upgrading included?
Aren't lifts part of a building's infrastructure? Aren't they being used by the residents and therefore considered as general amenities?
"All Singaporeans are equal but some Singaporeans are more equal than others"Originally posted by oxford mushroom:On lift upgrading, the policy appears to be: treat Opposition voters well, but PAP voters better!
There seems to be some misplaced 'priority' in terms of amenities in the eyes of the ruling party.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The CIPC funds are limited and the amounts are not designed for lift upgrading, which is part of the estate upgrading project. These funds are meant for the entire estate and not meant to benefit just one particular flat needing a lift upgrade or indeed, just those residents who live on certain floors.
As Chiam See Tong discovered, lift upgrading is very expensive, although it only benefits a subset of residents in a flat. Those who live on levels where the lift already stops may well object to having to co-pay for the lifts to stop at every floor. Indeed, one argument is that when residents bought their flat, they were well aware that the lift does not stop on their floor and those who wanted the convenience of a lift on their floor had forked out more money for their flat. It is therefore inappropriate and inequitable that funds meant for the entire constituency should be completely used up for residents in just a few flats.
The funding for lift upgrades, as with other aspects of the HDB upgrading project, comes from budget surpluses built up by the government. Mah Bow Tan has promised lift upgrading for all estates by 2015 at the latest, but PAP wards will get priority.
If all PAP estates that need lift upgrading have them, then the government is obliged to upgrade the lifts for flats in Opposition constituencies as well. On the other hand, if they upgrade flats in Potong Pasir when PAP estates are still waiting for their lifts to be upgraded, the government will lose support from those people who voted for them in the last election.
On lift upgrading, the policy appears to be: treat Opposition voters well, but PAP voters better!
Precisely!!!Originally posted by Deceased:Very well said!
As a MP of Singapore Government, they ought to serve the People of Singapore and not neglect the people of the opposition wards!
What if a ex-PAP MP fainted at Potong Pasir MRT, can potong pasir residents don't help him because s/he is a ex-PAP member?
Some elites don't see this logic.![]()
Personally i dun understand how the government will lose support by upgrading opposition wards first for they are the ones with the most amount of elderly!! People will definately understand if they do not then the years of education they received are useless. They should go read dao de jing for they seriously lack moral values.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:On the other hand, if they upgrade flats in Potong Pasir when PAP estates are still waiting for their lifts to be upgraded, the government will lose support from those people who voted for them in the last election.
Very Cheem...Originally posted by (human):Treat those who are good with goodness, and also treat those who are not good with goodness. Thus goodness is attained. Be honest to those who are honest, and be also honest to those who are not honest. Thus honesty is attained. -Lao Tze
I never knew Lao Tze said all that...Originally posted by (human):The sage does not hoard. The more he helps others, the more he benefits himself, The more he gives to others, the more he gets himself. The Way of Heaven does one good but never does one harm. The Way of the sage is to act but not to compete. -Lao Tze
Impressive...Originally posted by (human):To lead people, walk beside them. As for the best leaders, the people do not notice their existence. The second, the people honor and praise. The third, the people fear; and the last, the people hate. When the best leader's work is done the people say, 'We did it ourselves! -Lao tze.
if it is by priority, it should be in accordance to the segment of ppl who needs it most. if the bulk of the elderly live in the older estates that needs to be upgraded, opposition ward(s) included, then that's where the Whites need to be there, NOT by ward that are controlled by PAPOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:The key word is priority, not deny
You can write really well.Originally posted by weiqimun:if it is by priority, it should be in accordance to the segment of ppl who needs it most. if the bulk of the elderly live in the older estates that needs to be upgraded, opposition ward(s) included, then that's where the Whites need to be there, NOT by ward that are controlled by PAP
That is warped reasoning. For them to even put it in writing and have it reported in the national daily is downright embarrassing and show the lack of any moral fibre that they have. These supposed champions for the meek here in Singapore continues to take a step forward and 2 steps back. The only thing that they are adept in doing is dishing out monies to the have-nots; for the real work that can make a positive difference to these almost helpless ppl, esp the old poor, PAP's ineptitude and the lack of understanding and concern for these ppl continues to stand out like a sore thumb.
I read some of the exchanges, replies and remarks made by these $m minister or hi-ranking stooges, u dun know whether to laugh or cry....in fact, for those who are directly affected by (many) of these dumb policies, they will laugh first bcos it's really comical and funny, and then cry when reality sinks in....
Come to think of it, we still need them, ONLY as a MINORITY government and NOTHING more.Originally posted by Mid9Sun:I hate PAP
There are plenty of older PAP estates that are not yet upgraded. I do not see why Potong Pair residents can have lifts on each floor when PAP-voters like my father should climb stairs. We who have supported this upgrading policy should get those lifts first.Originally posted by weiqimun:if it is by priority, it should be in accordance to the segment of ppl who needs it most. if the bulk of the elderly live in the older estates that needs to be upgraded, opposition ward(s) included, then that's where the Whites need to be there, NOT by ward that are controlled by PAP![]()
i am not suggesting that hgg and pp be upgraded first, just becos. if the needs are greater in say, tiong bahru, then priority shld then be accorded based on where help is most needed. however, i dun think they could morally justify their behaviour by stating that preference is given to pap ward first. then why dun they draw the line by upgrading just 56% (hypothetical number) of the flats becos only 56% of them voted for the pap? it cannot be logical, the same line of reasoning that is applied to the opposition ward.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:There are plenty of older PAP estates that are not yet upgraded. I do not see why Potong Pair residents can have lifts on each floor when PAP-voters like my father should climb stairs. We who have supported this upgrading policy should get those lifts first.
Incidentally, why don't you ask the Opposition Party MPs why they had objected to the scheme when it was first raised in Parliament, if they are so zealous for the welfare of their elderly residents?
Murdoch residents voted for the Liberals while neighbouring Riverton & Willagee wards supported the ruling Labor incumbents in the 2005 WA State election. Yet I do not see the Murdoch electorate suffering much because of that decision.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:There are plenty of older PAP estates that are not yet upgraded. I do not see why Potong Pair residents can have lifts on each floor when PAP-voters like my father should climb stairs. We who have supported this upgrading policy should get those lifts first.
Incidentally, why don't you ask the Opposition Party MPs why they had objected to the scheme when it was first raised in Parliament, if they are so zealous for the welfare of their elderly residents?