Philip Yeo, anyone?Originally posted by Gazelle:If Ho Ching is to step down, do we have someone in mind to replace her and be sure that her successor will not screw up the organisation?
This has nothing to do with blood. The interest of the party and the nation is greater than any individual. As long as Temasek performs well, we can shut one eye and allow her to run the company, although her relationship with LHL will mean she is always living at the edge. Lee Hsien Yang is smart to leave when Singtel is doing well. He can point to his achievements whilst he was CEO. One might argue that relative or no relative, we would have chosen him anyway because he was the best person for the job.Originally posted by the Bear:you guys still don't see it huh?
the sacrifice of one who is not related by blood for the "good" of the Lee Family
PAP appropriated NMP Walter Woon's idea of the Maintenance of Parents Bill and claimed credit for it. It wasn't even theirs to begin with.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Noble? haha...I wouldn't accept that accolade, but I belive I am more honest than the rabid anti-PAP mob who haven't got the grace or guts to recognize a single good government policy.
By the same token, someone too could also argue that Durai has run NKF as commercial transactions and even has contributed to its growth and was praised by Mrs. Goh Chok Tong and Mdm Ho Ching.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:This has nothing to do with blood. The interest of the party and the nation is greater than any individual. As long as Temasek performs well, we can shut one eye and allow her to run the company, although her relationship with LHL will mean she is always living at the edge. Lee Hsien Yang is smart to leave when Singtel is doing well. He can point to his achievements whilst he was CEO. One might argue that relative or no relative, we would have chosen him anyway because he was the best person for the job.
But this job is always a shaky one. When the company loses money, (if Temasek loses money over Shin Corp...we don't know if that is certain but likely), the CEO will have to take responsibility. In this case, not only will Ho Ching be blamed but the entire government will be blamed for a bad investment decision. That is why she is a liability.
In the best case scenario, she manages a deal with the Thai authorities that does not end up with significant losses and leaves with her reputation relatively intact. It is bad luck to some extent that the military coup happened but it is still her fault for not seeing the signs when talk of a coup was around many months before. On the other hand, if Temasek loses alot of money, her husband will have to replace her, with damage done to the party and the government.
Either way, she has to go...
+1,but who dare to touch her leh!!! Pls remember she is a queen.ok!!!!Originally posted by robertteh:By the same token, someone too could also argue that Durai has run NKF as commercial transactions and even has contributed to its growth and was praised by Mrs. Goh Chok Tong and Mdm Ho Ching.
Should Durai be excused from any investigations and not prosecuted for wrong doings in the running of NKF for such reasons?
I disagree.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It is better to let a FT take the position if we can find one that has a good track record running an investment company.
I do not believe that ALL of Temasek's dealings are sensitive and need to be top secret. The sensitive parts of the business can be delinked from the investment aspects and let the professionals do what they are best at doing. After all, Ministry of Finance has a role in monitoring what the CEO does. Both Temasek and GIC can be run by FT and in my opinion, that is probably a good thing.
All the top investment bankers and fund managers in the world are in top financial institutions in the UK and US. Statistically, it is much easier to find a FT with the sterling track record we want compared to the limited talent pool in Singapore. Of course we will have to pay them millions to do the job, but as long as they deliver the billions, that's fine. If they do not perform, just sack and replace ruthlessless. It is harder to replace a wife compared to a FT CEO.
It seems that only those Singaporeans graduating from Oxbridge has the capacity to spite those whom they cannot agree with such vicious disrespect.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Noble? haha...I wouldn't accept that accolade, but I belive I am more honest than the rabid anti-PAP mob who haven't got the grace or guts to recognize a single good government policy.
Originally posted by Atobe:Bravo!!!
It seems that only those Singaporeans graduating from Oxbridge has the capacity to spite those whom they cannot agree with such vicious disrespect.
You have learnt well from your Mentor, who can so easily intolerant and aggravated that he will turn vicious towards those who dare to stand up to challenge him.
Unfortunately, your views are nothing new, as the same expression of many who have said the same in the business world - and perhaps you maybe nothing more then a plagiarist - modifying the same that was written with such an articulate style and released to the media by the SDP.
[b]Ho Ching must step down as head of Temasek.
Where is the originality or honesty of thought from you ?
If you had quoted the piece - in your usual cut and paste manner - followed with your own commentary, perhaps you are entitled to some of the acolade that came out of sheer surprise to your supposed change.
Seriously, what has the Singapore Government aka the Ruling Party done for Singaporeans and Singapore that is worthy of respect ?
Singapore is what it is today - NOT the result of the efforts of the Government nor the Ruling Party - but the sacrifices and tolerance of the Singapore Citizens - who placed their trust in LKY and his Team.
Unfortunately, after 47 years of continuous monopolistic rule, power has got into the heads of LKY and his current appointees - after removing his original Team from his side.
Singapore's future remains more precarious today then before independence.
Externally, after so many years in ASEAN, what has this Government done to secure our future with our neighbors within ASEAN ?
We have a hopeless relationship with our natural economic hinterland in Malaysia; briliantly insulted the Philippines; turned a warm relationship with Suharto's Indonesia into present day tension by harboring ill gotten gains of the Rich and Wealthy Indonesian and refusing an extradition treaty; messed up our relations with Thailand through sheer ambitios economic imperialism; even our warm relationship with Myanmar has become an embarrassing liability after the Military Junta refused to listen to further advise from a fellow hardline Government.
Even Modern China has turned skeptical to the supposed altruistic help extended by the Singapore Government, and looked at Temasek's attempt - to buy a stake in the Bank of China - as nothing more then Economic Imperialism.
Internally, how certain are you that this Singapore Government aka the Ruling Party will continue to back your boastful claims that Singaporeans are fortunate that we do not have to be like the Filipinas working as maid overseas, or our menfolk having to work overseas to make a living to support our families at home ?
At present, the Government has succumbed to forces of globalisation without any defensive effort to protect Singaporeans, but have instead opened the floodgates to allow more foreigners into Singapore claiming that they will create more jobs for Singaporeans.
In the present open policy towards foreign talents, for every foreign expatriate that is employed, this person employed in this position will almost automatically bring other cronies along into Singapore.
Many Singaporeans - who have been displaced in the last economic downturn in 2002 - and who are in their 40s and 50s - remain unemployed; and despite their most ardent effort many in these age groups are jobless not by choice but by the present changed circumstances.
Most of these white-collared Singaporeans - and some blue collared ones too - have used their retrenchment benefits with new start-ups in small enterprises, with most of them entering the Food and Beverage field.
After 45 over years of continuous monopolistic rule, Singaporeans are continuously milked off their savings through a slew of financial charges executed by different Government Agencies and Government Linked Companies.
Wealth flow from the Citizen's bank account to the State Treasury by way of taxes that are artificially created to take Private Wealth at every step and every turn of economic consumption and economic activity.
The wealth of the nation has been transferred from the individual Citizens into the State Treasury.
While the State Treasury continue to grow, the Singapore Citizens savings continue to shrink, to the extent that the Singapore Citizen cannot even look after themselves in their old age.
Despite the wealth that the State has extracted from Singaporeans, what has the State planned for Singaporean that will not further extract further sums of remaining monies from the Private Citizens ?
Under the guise of no welfare - but called Workfare - the Citizens have to pay in order to get some back from Workfare.
Medical and Health Care require the Citizens to contribute to Medisave and Medishield. Unfortunately, the money transferred into these funds are benifit the Authorities through investments that generate revenue; while the Citizens who are Account Holders have limited use from these Funds that are not allowed to pay for the total medical bill.
With all the wealth robbed from the Citizens, the Government will not contribute to help the Aged, but will demand that the Citizens continue to look after their own Aged.
Education remains the Citizens' responsibility, when Polytechnic Diploma are not accepted by our own local Universities, while the same Diploma will gain entries in foreign universities that will even grant exemptions and shorten term.
If you are brave enough to plagiarise this piece from the SDP - that was already published since OCTOBER 2006, why are you not brave enough to see the reality of Singapore as it is ?
me abit kpo de...Originally posted by Joshua1975:funny that ppl now than realises. b4 this, wherever she is, you can find all type of screws. TH is too big that till today than ppl know. those smaller one that she used to be in, almost gone than GOV start to pump in $$$ to save it??? WTF?
all is too late.
What are you talking about? The civil case has just ended and the criminal case is about to begin. Do read the newspapers...Originally posted by robertteh:By the same token, someone too could also argue that Durai has run NKF as commercial transactions and even has contributed to its growth and was praised by Mrs. Goh Chok Tong and Mdm Ho Ching.
Should Durai be excused from any investigations and not prosecuted for wrong doings in the running of NKF for such reasons?
Apart from licking Atobe's balls, you haven't got much use for your tongue, do you?Originally posted by maurizio13:Bravo!!!
Insightful!!!
Remember, dogs don't think too much, the tricks that they perform are taught by their master.
Haha..the usual refrain from a loser....the government has won elections after elections for 40 years and all you can come up with is this?Originally posted by Atobe:Is there any Government Policies - past and present - that deserve praise, when all the policies have removed the POLITICAL RIGHTS of Singaporeans ?
The sensitive parts of Temasek's functions can be separated from the investment arm. Hire top investment bankers and fund managers to handle our investment...it does not matter whether they are locals or FTs.Originally posted by sunny6110:I disagree.
Temasek & GIC can make or Break sg.... Imagine letting a FT know our reserves exactly and if the FT din perform well and got sacked... I wonder how will this FT uses this confidential information against Us....![]()
yah... but we are talking abt replacing CEO of TH rite now... not head of departmentOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:The sensitive parts of Temasek's functions can be separated from the investment arm. Hire top investment bankers and fund managers to handle our investment...it does not matter whether they are locals or FTs.
No issue...split the sensitive parts of Temasek Holdings from its investment armm which is its core business anyway. Leave the CEO of TH with only investment function.Originally posted by sunny6110:yah... but we are talking abt replacing CEO of TH rite now... not head of department![]()
In private business organisation... I agree...Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It does not matter whether a local or a FT heads Temasek, as long the organization makes money.
Yeah!!!Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Haha..the usual refrain from a loser....the government has won elections after elections for 40 years and all you can come up with is this?![]()
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Haha... ? Is this the best reply that you can make ?
Haha..the usual refrain from a loser....the government has won elections after elections for 40 years and all you can come up with is this?![]()
As usual, when you can't come up with a substantive response, you do personal attacks.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Haha..the usual refrain from a loser....the government has won elections after elections for 40 years and all you can come up with is this?![]()
How ignorant can you be? Our electoral system is similar to that in the UK. In the last general election in 2005, Labour took power with just 35% of the votes and less than half of all eligible voters actually voted. Does that take away the legitimacy of the Labour Party to rule? Does that mean the UK is a third world country?Originally posted by Atobe:Haha... ? Is this the best reply that you can make ?
This is pathetic response coming from someone claiming to have a PhD qualification.
Is it not typically characteristic of you to make a challenge and avoid to make further efforts to engage ?
You still insist on harping about the Ruling Party assuming the role of government through "winning elections" - which have largely been "rigged" by way of political gerrymeandering.
Is there any meaning to the incumbent Ruling Party winning the elections with only 765,901 votes that made the 66.6 per cent of all valid votes received, out of a total eligible voter count of 2,158,704 Singaporeans ?
The actual percentage should read as 35.47 per cent.
For a detailed calculation - read my post on 11 February 2007 05.51 AM.
Even a Third World country such as Thailand will have their beloved King disqualify their last election which only saw 33 percent of the population being participants.
Did your Mentor referred to Singapore as a member of the First World community ?
just do some search lah... it easy mah... not many GLC what. for a start, Company start with S one leh... just to help another deal with something also start with s one lor. i think it still trying to recoup what it lost....Originally posted by sunny6110:me abit kpo de...
can share her glorious track record??![]()