Agree.... if i can't jump from MRT station and jump from 10th floor HDB, will you want the Govt to fence up all the HDB flats in S'poreOriginally posted by the Bear:btw, whatever happened to personal responsibility?
Originally posted by hloc:even easier idea, lower the tax, give us better pay,
Agree.... if i can't jump from MRT station and jump from 10th floor HDB, will you want the Govt to fence up all the HDB flats in S'pore![]()
Remember that HDB also ''used'' CPF $$$ to bulit.
If ppl start getting kill while crossing the road, do u intend to fence up all the road also![]()
There are near daily death on S'pore's road..... I know![]()
Lets ban all cars from the road.... that should solve all the problem
When will this end![]()
SMRT like every company in the [b]WORLD is to make profit...... even thought only for the ''Share Holder'' and not common ppl like you & me..... but if the cost of bulit the fence + aircon the station will increase cost..... you think SMRT won't use this as and excuse to rise price again![]()
Then we will have Posting complainting about the rise in ticket price even when we were the one who demanded the fence to be setup.....[/b]
Yeah..... lower taxes, give more pay..... free housing + cars.... You start a govt with these 'gifts' i confirm vote for you....... but before you suggest this 'Easy Idea'.... pls see possible or not in the REAL WORLD....Originally posted by allentyb:even easier idea, lower the tax, give us better pay,
Seen many ppl eating & drinkin on the MRT...... NEVER saw anyone kena caught before.... incl ME...... so, don't think enough $$$ will come.Originally posted by :No need to raise costs lah....... Eating in mrt stations and trains are supposed to be punishable with fines. Yet I dun see the mrt authorities actively imposing this. I 've almost never failed noticing pple eating and/or drinking in the trains, some of whom are beri blatant summore.....!![]()
I agreed.Originally posted by CKeer:If you wanna die, building glass panels would mean nothing anyway.
Also, if you're not feeling well, why so stewpid enough to stand close to the yellow line?
Cheers.
C.K
please note.. the recnt spat of events have been accidents and not suicides.Originally posted by CKeer:If you wanna die, building glass panels would mean nothing anyway.
Also, if you're not feeling well, why so stewpid enough to stand close to the yellow line?
Cheers.
C.K
Well, accidents can be prevented but i think building glass panels would be wasting money anyway.Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:please note.. the recnt spat of events have been accidents and not suicides.
Are we gonna continue until accidents lead to more deaths?
Maintenace isnt a good reason. If we can afford all the luxuries now, is it so difficult to clean a simple glass pannel?Originally posted by CKeer:Well, accidents can be prevented but i think building glass panels would be wasting money anyway.
Reasons:
1. Maintenance(It has to be wiped clean becos this is Singapore.)
2. Like i've metioned earlier, if u're not feeling well, isn't is stewpid to stand close to the yellow line when you know that one slip could have caused your life.
3. Building Glass Panels would mean that train service would be terminated for a period of time.
There might be more reasons which i cant think of them now.
Cheers.
C.K
Ok, let me first start by asking you what kind of glass panel are u referring to? Glass panels like those of underground stations or those build a feet apart from one another, leaving space for the door opening?Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:Maintenace isnt a good reason. If we can afford all the luxuries now, is it so difficult to clean a simple glass pannel?
Termination of train services is bullcrap. Works can be carried out at night to solve that problem. If we can close major roads for roadworks, i dont see why we cant do the same for our rail system.
And if you've taken a train before, you'll know that there is close to no standing room during peak hours. One doesnt need to be sick for an accident to happen.
try harder![]()
again, this is personal responsibilites!! if u not feeling well, den dun stand close to the yellow line! when i am unwell and taking public transport, i usually watch myself closer, and remind myself, such as when i am taking MRT train, i wont stand close to the yellow line and wad so ever. in fact, nobody should even stand at the yellow line before the train arrives because it is dangerous.Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:please note.. the recnt spat of events have been accidents and not suicides.
Are we gonna continue until accidents lead to more deaths?
Even in London, the Underground stations in the city do not have screens between the platform and the tracks. A terrorist could place a globe filled with anthrax spores on the tracks and infect the whole city when the train runs it over and scatters the virus.Originally posted by BillyBong:I am one of those who do not agree with implementing barriers for SMRT train stations.
This concept of barrier-less overhead stations is derived from european and western societies, where most have a substantially large network of metro stations above ground. In such a case, introducing a protective barrier to prevent people from 'accidentally' falling onto the tracks will not be cost effective.
People die everyday, and throwing themselves in front of a train is probably not new in countries like UK and USA. Yet their societies have not seen fit to erect protective barriers to deter would-be suicides.
In retrospect, placing a barrier may limit the number of people who conveniently use SMRT as a means of committing suicide, but it doesn't take away the intention.
It was miraculous that in the initial years of operation, SMRT did not already suffer from such incidents. The recent spat of copycat suicides is just something unavoidable.
If we go back several years, i recall a Mercedes Benz that somehow jumped off the road, plowed through the fencing and ended up on the SMRT train tracks at Lentor, right in the path of an oncoming train. On that occasion, civic- mindedness saved the day when fellow road-users 'rescued' the driver from the car while others ran ahead of the advancing train to warn the pilot.
Ironically, the driver was later arrested on suspicion of drink-driving (or was it drugs-related?).
In that incident, sufficient barriers were erected, yet such a freak catastrophe occured.
Can we safely say barriers will solve all our problems?
Yeah, full of $hit aren't you?Originally posted by hloc:Would rather SMRT fine those A*shole who play music out from their handphone for all to 'enjoy'...... maybe take their handphone away then sell to 2nd H/P shop....... that would make $$$![]()
No..... those A*shole who 'share' their music on their loudspeaker really really PISSES me off...... the $$$ will be put to good use..... like saving some other A*shole who can't take care of themselve and don't understand ''NOT to step over the yellow line''.......Originally posted by iveco:Yeah, full of $hit aren't you?![]()