Told you already...... them lose some $$$ everytime when theres a stopage. But stopage happens only once a while..... if daily.....Originally posted by mistyblue:Answer this:
Is SMRT losing Money/Profit with all the stoppage and delays?
Does the people have a alternative?
Who really gets affected the most with the delays and stoppage?
No lah...... very easy...... MONEY lor.....Originally posted by carrotsoup:No matter what problems stopping the authorites in building the barrier.
It is a very difficult decision for them.
$$$ or human Lives????
Truly a very tough decision.
Well..... then ppl will jump infornt of cars & buses..... then we also bulid barriers along the road.Originally posted by Parka:Maybe we should really install the glass barriers. Those who are commit suicide are probably those who give up on life too easily. Maybe if there's a barrier, those people will see it as too difficult to overcome.
ah.. they still make crazy profit despite the stoppages, so they're not gonna give a hoot.Originally posted by mistyblue:Answer this:
Is SMRT losing Money/Profit with all the stoppage and delays?
Does the people have a alternative?
Who really gets affected the most with the delays and stoppage?
You are talking about a viable error-prevention feature here. Even simple barriers can drastically cut the accidental deaths.We are talkin about PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY
Originally posted by hloc:Hundred of millions of commuters use MRT, MTR, Metro, Subway....everyday all over the world, in stations without any barriers to the track, from the busy businessmen in New York to the village farmers in Shanghai, why are Singaporeans the only kind of people who need barriers to prevent them from falling, jumping into the track and get killed by train? It is something wrong with Singaporean! all walking around like zombee, stopped only by barriers.
We are talkin about [b]PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY
Why the hell is children running around.... where the hell is the caretaker. If you are sick..... STEP BEHIND THE YELLOW LINE. For God sake, nearly a million people used the MRT daily..... daily![]()
Is the death rate like 3-4 a day......
There are times like no death for months and months..... then some fellow family kena half a million just because he jump from the MRT platform, for the next few months 3-4 copycats......
There are many reason why someone wants to die...... stress, sickness, mental problem..... etc. How many can you prevent![]()
If someone still climb over the half barriers..... will you demand a full barrier
And if during a fire, the full barrier was found to have cost the death of passager who was unable to escape...... will you then demand the barrier to be removed
Ask yourself this...... have the train ever ''jump'' out from its track and killed anyone behind the yellow line.....
Then isn't it safe to say that as long as a person take responsibility to keep him/her-self behind the yellow line, then the chance of falling into the track is greatly greatly redures......
If people refuse to take responsibility for their own safetly (incl those with young kids)..... then nothing will keep them safe. A*sholes could sit on the half barrier and fall over. [/b]
omg my cloneOriginally posted by OoOoOo:
It is very sad that we need to ask the government to install barriers in train stations, and may be bus stop to prevent people from endangering themselves. When will Singaporean grow up and say to the nanny, "I can stand on my own."
Sorry..... may I know who the Hell is Cynthia PhuaOriginally posted by ditzy:I oppose to the glass thingie, just because its an issue raised by cynthia phua, yes, I'm against whatever she says or does.![]()
Originally posted by hloc:Wah, seems like you didn't even bother to read the first post on the first page of this thread.
Sorry..... may I know who the Hell is [b]Cynthia Phua![]()
I read the Headline of the thread..... not the ''Today in Parliament".Originally posted by ditzy:Wah, seems like you didn't even bother to read the first post on the first page of this thread.![]()
Singaporeans are conditioned to being forced, so without force many people will kpkb at the government, 3 years won be enough. I would suggest the traffic warden use a long can like the indian or pakistani riot police, can the legs that cross the yellow line.Originally posted by nismoS132:here in japan, during peak hours, there will be staff on the platforms every 5-10 metres for crowd control. they make sure no one crosses the yellow line, and most importantly, crowd control. the japanese already give way to people getting off trains, so what they do is direct the queues so that those getting off can leave the platforms ASAP making flow of traffic smoother.
if you ask me, it works, and we need this sytem all day long since dumb singaporeans cant be bothered to let people off the trains first. some forced conditioning for a few years, maybe 3. after that we can reduce it to peak hours only.
here in japan, during peak hours, there will be staff on the platforms every 5-10 metres for crowd control. they make sure no one crosses the yellow line, and most importantly, crowd control. the japanese already give way to people getting off trains, so what they do is direct the queues so that those getting off can leave the platforms ASAP making flow of traffic smoother.I agree that this will work..... but being a S'pore Company, SMRT will want it cheap & good...... Means less staff, low pay..... There are part-time station staff during the peak hours...... they are paid $5 an hour. Tell me, how many S'porean can live on this type of pay ???......
Originally posted by hloc:the crowd in Japan train stations is about 10 times that in Singapore. Most of the time the staff's job is to push the passengers in so that the train door can be closed. During less peak hour, the staff are not there.
I agree that this will work..... but being a S'pore Company, SMRT will want it cheap & good...... Means less staff, low pay..... There are part-time station staff during the peak hours...... they are paid $5 an hour. Tell me, how many S'porean can live on this type of pay ???......
3-4hr in the morning, then 3-4hr in the eveing...... total of 8hr at the most, $40 a day. 5 day a week, 20days a month...... 20x$40= $800 a month avg. Would you work [b]hard with this type of pay ???
The problem is that most SMRT Stations are under Staffed....... just take a look at any station away from town...... you have a station master + 1-2 staff. Station Master must stay in the control room most of the time, leaving 1 staff to take care of the ticket problems of passager.... another to patrol the WHOLE platform.......
Less staff means more cost saving for SMRT...... means more $$$ for 'Share Holder'........ means less ppl to lookout for S'porean that is unable to take care of themselves..... and finally, means more Incidents likely to happen.
So..... it is up to you, to take care of yourself.[/b]
Originally posted by hloc:Member of Parliament for Aljunied GRC.
Sorry..... may I know who the Hell is [b]Cynthia Phua![]()