Originally posted by hloc:What an idiot you are... I apologise for telling you the truth in such an uncouth manner... It is not the people's money than it is you great grandfather LKY's or P*P's money issit? What does it matter whether it comes from GST or HDB profiteering?
Please lah..... he even can't answer how much he think the Govt own him.... and how the hell he came out with the figure.
Would also like to ask [b]AndrewPKYap....... you kept repeating & repeating these words - "The people's money" - could you this time give an example, what people's money are you talkin about. Pls "Enlighten" me..... is it
a) Money from Income/company tax, GST...... etc
b) The money you put in as CPF
c) I don't know..... aka Dr Chee
d) example are...... (ur example)
It is hard to have a meaningful discussion when you can't even give example for your own point........ try again Ok....[/b]
"no eyes to see"!!Originally posted by rane:What to do, they are on top so they do whatever they want!! Sigh!! Now with already well paid salary not enough and claimed that for don't know how many years, no salary increment now reviewing to adjust/increase pay. What crap !!!! Aiyo, want to increase increase lah just say all these to try to ease their conscience!! Taxpayers money they use!!!! "no eyes to see"!!![]()
My godOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:What an idiot you are... I apologise for telling you the truth in such an uncouth manner... It is not the people's money than it is you great grandfather LKY's or P*P's money issit? What does it matter whether it comes from GST or HDB profiteering?![]()
Good answer...... at least you come out with an answerOriginally posted by spinsugar:"The People's Money" - ,money accumulated via GST, HDB mortages/sales, CPF, ERP, road tax, HDB mortgages/sales, COE, income tax, HDB mortgages/sales etc...
O and did I mention HDB mortgage and sales?They're currently charging us many times over for it.. and it's only "ours" for less than one lifetime. Kids still have to pay and pay for another one when they grow up.
Originally posted by hloc:Go on without him...I am interested in ur ans......Doubt he would ever need to hear ur point of view since he is not the guy who will listen to other ppl point of views
Good answer...... at least you come out with an answer![]()
Would you agree the following - [b]money accumulated via GST, income tax, road tax as Taxes paid to the Govt![]()
And the following - HDB mortages/sales (which you repeated 3 times), COE, ERP as sale tax.....
CPF is the best...... unless you can't collect your money when you turn 55. The money is still in the 'Bank'.... not 'taken'.
Not sure if you read from the beginning of the Thread.... but me & AndrewPKYap is having a 'debate' about what he deem as "the people's money"..... So, i wait for his reply. But your Answer is a good example that he should have given when I've asked the question...... would you mind to let him copy the answer....... so I could reply him. Thxs.![]()
Hahaha.... you want me to kena flame againOriginally posted by Hamiltonian1125:Go on without him...I am interested in ur ans......Doubt he would ever need to hear ur point of view since he is not the guy who will listen to other ppl point of views
And the following - HDB mortages/sales (which you repeated 3 times), COE, ERP as sale tax.....COE - collected by LTA to improve the Roads
Originally posted by hloc:I am pretty convinced... but maybe u should explain to Andrew about his claim on HDB 5 room flat should be 50k instead of 500k. Not all 5 room flat are 500k, I dunno if there is any, but my frens 5 roomie is abt 300k not 500k. If HDB 5 roomie is 50k, HDB gonna make a damn lost. Killing human business got ppl do, lose money business nobody do.....
COE - collected by LTA to improve the Roads
ERP - like it or not, try to control the jam of the road.
Both of these taxes is taken to improve road service...... traffic lights maintanence, repair of roads....etc.
HDB mortages/sales - Nobody built house for you and don't want a profit.... tell me which bank don't charge you intrest when you take money from them. [b]Just like we expect intrest when we put money into the bank.
Therefore again MONEY paid for service that was provided...... I, personally don't own a car or any motorcycle..... therefore, me pay no COE & ERP. I got free transport for SMRT because i worked for them...... Next, CPF![]()
Is our CPF being used by the Govt for Investment or as some believed, personal use..... Of course got lah...... but as long as you could get your money back (with intrest) at the age of 55 or 62...... it is just like putting it into a fixed disposit...... can't touch until the time is up...... again where got take our money.... and may I add, it is my CPF that enable me to buy my own 4Room HDB..... without it, how the hell could I afford 32K for downpayment. Also medisafe paid 1.3K for my Ops last june......
The People's MONEY in my view, is the money companies like SIA, PSA etc (GLC)..... profits. Temasek as Govt investments arm, uses the money Govt collected as Taxes (remember that a service is given back) to make more MONEY by investing on - NeWater, Changi T3, PSA expand overseas, science & technology R&D etc..... Without these money, how could any Govt expand on its investment plan![]()
How could Changi remain on the top 10 best airport without these money.
Returning us the money is always good...... i like mine in cash![]()
But those MONEY don't really belong to us..... because in return we are protected by the police, army, SCDF..... even when we pay no tax. It is service charge.
AndrewPKYap some how believed that the Govt had 'Stolen' these MONEY from the people.... and must 'Return' it. But unless he is NOT protected by the police, army, SCDF...... how could he claim his money is taken away![]()
All the above is my own point of view...... feel free to disagree. But in a civil way please. And also give example if you can. All of US are adults and I believe in supporting your RIGHTS to state your own views..... we can always - Agree to Disagree..... thxs.[/b]
Hate to say this..... but Andrew have already made up his mind. I'm not here to 'Convinced' anyone. But here to claim my RIGHTS to free speech.Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:I am pretty convinced... but maybe u should explain to Andrew about his claim on HDB 5 room flat should be 50k instead of 500k. Not all 5 room flat are 500k, I dunno if there is any, but my frens 5 roomie is abt 300k not 500k. If HDB 5 roomie is 50k, HDB gonna make a damn lost. Killing human business got ppl do, lose money business nobody do.....
Originally posted by hloc:Property Prices Rise at our expense
Hate to say this..... but Andrew have already made up his mind. I'm not here to '[b]Convinced' anyone. But here to claim my RIGHTS to free speech.
Lets just say that if I buy my HDB at 200K then sell it at 400K...... do you think I would complaint![]()
But if I'm silly enough to buy a 5 room HDB at 500K, then expecting to make a profit of 200K.... is the Govt to blamed
Originally posted by spinsugar:"The People's Money" - ,money accumulated via GST, HDB mortages/sales, CPF, ERP, road tax, HDB mortgages/sales, COE, income tax, HDB mortgages/sales etc...
O and did I mention HDB mortgage and sales?They're currently charging us many times over for it.. and it's only "ours" for less than one lifetime. Kids still have to pay and pay for another one when they grow up.
Answer By -Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Lets just say that if I buy my HDB at 200K then sell it at 400K...... do you think I would complaintTo all HDB buyers...... use your brain a bit. If you buy a house at super high price.... then of course you have a problem in making a profit. If 'Property Prices Rise' make your 100K HDB now worth 250K...... will you still complaint about the prices rise
Originally posted by hloc:The moral of the Story - is P*P should stop taking the people's money and then tell them that it is for their own good and instead set up companies to invest it in "Shin Corps" so that they can pay themselves million dollar salaries while the people suffer.
The moral of the Story - [b]Do your planning & homework properly before buying any property.... price goes up..... price goes down. No such thing as a confirm profit. Don't be greedy.[/b]
Have you even read my post on 'People's Money'....... the 7th on page 3Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:The moral of the Story - is P*P should stop taking the people's money and then tell them that it is for their own good and instead set up companies to invest it in "Shin Corps" so that they can pay themselves million dollar salaries while the people suffer.
Originally posted by hloc:so you are really chinese helicopter one hor? expect TAX & GST? no wonder you don't understand what I write and keep on asking the same questions over and over even after I have answered!
[b]expect TAX & GST of course......![]()
Like if I want to buy a 3rm flat from HDB... can I? No, my income is too high... what can I not buy a 3rm HDB? They say that it is because it is heavily subsidized. You believe them? read:Originally posted by spinsugar:I don't think we can call people greedy .......... mislead by -for example- encouraging them to buy larger flats (something we did in the past), and then turn around and blame the people who listened to us!
Originally posted by spinsugar:
I don't think we can call people greedy for wanting to make profits thru property. Afterall, buying property is a moderately stable form of investment, even though there is still some risk (variable). Some people sell their property and downgrade because their earning power has decreased unexpectedly - a common scenario with Singapore's poorly-protected middle class workers. Are they then being greedy?
Now, our govt is encouraging its people to be entrepeneurs (higher risk than property investment), so if these entrepeneurs fail, are they being very greedy?
I do not think our citizens are being greedy. We may complain alot, but if u look deeper most of us have no ill-intent - we're just asking for a decent quality of life for ourselves and our loved ones. We may expect alot, but who wouldn't when we pay our ministers highest in the world, while we are asked to be happy with salaries pegged to that of [b]developing countries, all for the sake of "progress"? Progress for whom, might I ask, if the middle-class & below are worse off than before?
Greedy, I feel, is knocking down a priceless historical library to make way for a tunnel with an ERP gantry while the previous road was still adequate. Greedy is profiteering from double and triple charging of citizens for basic necessities. Greedy is taking, and not giving much back. Greedy is trying to pass a bill in Parliament which would grant unlimited access to our National Reserves. Greedy is trying to justify being the highest paid politicians in the world - what on earth do you need all that money for?
There is no perfect system, granted, but when there are visible cracks it's only right to fix it. We shouldn't just stand by and patronize people who fall through the cracks of a system we engineered. We listen to them. We learn. We improve the system and come up with a safety net to break their fall. We educate them. That's called evolving. We don't mislead by -for example- encouraging them to buy larger flats (something we did in the past), and then turn around and blame the people who listened to us![/b]
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Yeah.... I got C6 for English in my 'O' level.... Got E8 for Chinese.
so you are really chinese helicopter one hor? [b]expect TAX & GST? no wonder you don't understand what I write and keep on asking the same questions over and over even after I have answered![/b]
Originally posted by hloc:still need to stay in S'pore meh.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:That has not explained ur claim on why 5 room HDB flat should be 50k only.
Like if I want to buy a 3rm flat from HDB... can I? No, my income is too high... what can I not buy a 3rm HDB? They say that it is because it is heavily subsidized. You believe them? read:
Public Housing - whose land is it anyway?
[b]and why do they force you to buy big flats? The profiteering is so much more than the small flats.
What do they do with the money that the force you to pay them?
You got it, invest in SHIN CORPS and pay themselves million dollars salaries...
and why do they force you to buy big flats? [/b]
Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:This part i agree the most...... I vote for anyone who could do this twice over. Just find me someone who could do it..... and I confirm vote for him....
Come on,to build and charge less than the cost??? How about U be the chairman of HDB and USE ur own money to build flats for others at subsidized rate...Hloc and I will immediately "hail" to ur generosity.
HDB is a company and it HAS to earn money. Have u ever think of their bad debts? Charging 5% is too dangerous and stupid for a company to do that.
Last point, [b]price it exorbitantly do u exactly know what is the cost price of a flat? Do u know how much more expensive it is to own property in Japan?
In short, DO U HAVE FIGURES TO SUPPORT UR CLAIM?