Originally posted by weiqimun:why do u think they design a tomb tablet for the 1st IR in SG? sign of things to come....?
I think a country in recession will contribute more of the above than having a casino.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
And based on your post, I can surmise that you make a lot of assumptions and do not process words thoroughly.Originally posted by IIOOII:base on the logic and arguement put up by AndrewPKYap and charlize, all singaporeans by now would have lost all their money and fortune to Totos, 4-Ds and turf club, and basically all Singaporeans have no brain and are diet hard gamblers; it seems if i put a knife in front of AndrewPKYap and charlize, they will either take the knife to kill themselves or to kill me.
You avoided the the question. The question IS - "Care to explain the difference...... " The answer you give is what COULD happen.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Agree that our skyline is not as good as HK... haven't be to Monaco yet...... But you forget the main event is on the Race Car....Originally posted by IIOOII:F1 will be one of the greatest test for singapore, but i think if F1 were to really be held here, die hard F1 fans from around the world will be disappointed, why?
reason
1) for years many , many people (including me) feels that singapores skyline and architects are too boring, i love my country but i am also realistic; our city view is like any other large cities, there is no prominent land mark(except for a small little merlion). the much praise durian is nothing compared to top cultural centres like sydney opera house or the spanish gugenheim museum. The durian is special in singapore but when compared to the world it is no even a worthy attempt. thus F1 city race here will not be as beautiful as Monacos. No thanks to previous URA genius.
2) lights. there is none in Singapore city night scene. Those who visited HK, Times square and Ginza will tell you Singapore is dim at night. Thus F1 night race will be a bore. Even many cities in China now adays, (who started some 20yrs later than us), b cos of the more relax advertisement rule is so much more colour ful and vibrant
Originally posted by hloc:Why don't you and IIOOII go to the casino and gamble and encourage all you friends and relatives to go....
You avoided the the question. The question IS - [b]"Care to explain the difference...... " The answer you give is what COULD happen.[/b]
Again my friend..... YOU ADVOIDED THE QUESTION.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Why don't you and IIOOII go to the casino and gamble and encourage all you friends and relatives to go....he says I will stab him with a knife... hahaha if he is a casino gambler, I do not need to stab him with a knife... the casino will do a better job.... take away all his money THEN kill him off... or give him a life worse than death
There is a difference between casino gambling and Totos, 4-Ds and turf club but then the reason you gamble and support casino gambling already says how screwed up your head isYou have go round and round, insulting other people who disagree with you. Yet unable to back up your own point of view...... just like a certain Dr Chee. Between listening to the Govt or to You..... me chose Govt any day.... at least they pretend they are listening and considering others suggestion, while you just insult and make fun of others who disagree.... Try to 'awake' again...... you just dream that you woke.
What we need is out of the box ideas which the govt dare to take and accept (most of which are totally risk free and cost to nothing)I agree these suggestion would likely be for the better.... fear not, knowing how the Govt more or less worked. Highly possible that if and when it is confirmed that the F1 is coming. They would 'asked' for suggestion from the public. You could then always write in...... I like the Neon light part you suggested..... look cool
Out of the box ideas
1) Hold only F1 night races, then use all the CBD buildings as blank screen and throw the worlds most powerful lasers on them to form moving images/animation, and get Steven speilberg to direct the animation,
2) paint the entire roads/circuit (used for F1) inside CBD white, roads do not always need to be black, then for specific section of the roads paint it bright red/pink/blue etc.
3) Install power neon lights running on both side of the entire circuit around the city, these lights will have one colour during most laps but will start to change colours during the last 3 laps.
4) Install another pair of concrete foundation beside Shears bridge and put the new (london eye) observation wheel on top of the brdge, put in laser lights on the wheel, then while the wheel turns, the F1 cars will race pass underneath it
5) Built a special starting tower (300meters tall) for the F1 races in Marina and all the cars will start off from a ramp pointing downs at 30 degrees.
Fi races is held over the weekend, typically over 3 days, typically for testing for day1, time trial for day2 and race day on day 3 on sunday.Originally posted by IIOOII:Hi hloc
I too love the F1 and hope that one that we can have a national holiday for F1 then
Which is why we need to try out the race at least for a few times to iron out problems...... Our Govt have this bad habit of trying once.... make little $$$, then give up. I agree that there will be many problems - safetly, traffic, $$$...... etc. But i believe almost any event, old or new, will have its fair share of problems. We won't know till we try.Originally posted by weiqimun:Fi races is held over the weekend, typically over 3 days, typically for testing for day1, time trial for day2 and race day on day 3 on sunday.
so no need for national holiday. good try though....
on a more serious note, logistically, f1 is a different beasts all together. in an f1 track, all the logistic stuff/nightmares can be confined within the track vicinity; construction, deconstruction, 10-12 teams with different set-up logistics and methods, all the peripherals stuff on getting the venue race ready, is no joking matter. if the f1 is held in the Sg streets, u can imagine that the set-up will take place at least a week before the actual race, maybe longer. the inconveniences the public, retail, car drivers, public transportation diversion and 101 things else, will be a real chore here. if u r not directly affected by the prep, obviously f1 fans here will be elated. u just part with your hard-earned S$500 for a seat. the rich ones obviously will pay S$5000 for a premium view, and the inner circle folks gets in for free. but for the rest where the livelihood will be affected by the 1 week or so prep, they will curse and swear.
safety is another real concern. in a f1 track, it's somewhat can be controlled. in SG street where it is narrower than usual, can you adequately find a 5km ring road that will be safe through-out? F alonso also quoted in the pprs yesterday about visibility. too bright, it's glaring, too dim, driving judgement is impaired.
singapore gahmen may want to part with its ppl billions to buy the rights to f1, but in the end, bernie is the one who's laughing all the way to the bank. for the F1 faithful (like me), it's 3 days of `shiokness'. foe the rest, it is a week on inconvenienced at their expense, directly and indirectly
Originally posted by hloc:Did you bother to read the links I gave you? Those links explained the differences. You say I "just insult and make fun of others who disagree...."
Again my friend..... YOU ADVOIDED THE QUESTION.
In Simple term -
Please explain and give example of the difference between gambling with 4D, TOTO or Horse Racing, compare with the gambling in Casino.
You have go round and round, insulting other people who disagree with you. [b]Yet unable to back up your own point of view...... just like a certain Dr Chee. Between listening to the Govt or to You..... me chose Govt any day.... at least they pretend they are listening and considering others suggestion, while you just insult and make fun of others who disagree.... Try to 'awake' again...... you just dream that you woke. [/b]
When I challenge you like that you turned pale right?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Why don't you and IIOOII go to the casino and gamble and encourage all you friends and relatives to go....he says I will stab him with a knife... hahaha if he is a casino gambler, I do not need to stab him with a knife... the casino will do a better job.... take away all his money THEN kill him off... or give him a life worse than death
i give u a simple and real scenario, if the F1 cars hit each other or the barrier, the car(s), with all its bit n pieces flies 20-30ms (conservatively) in all directions, where is the protection for the pte property and human if it were to be held in SG streets? how can u adequately protect it? build fence on the 5km circuit? in sg's relatively narrow width road?Originally posted by hloc:Which is why we need to try out the race at least for a few times to iron out problems...... Our Govt have this bad habit of trying once.... make little $$$, then give up. I agree that there will be many problems - safetly, traffic, $$$...... etc. But i believe almost any event, old or new, will have its fair share of problems. We won't know till we try.![]()
Ur Link is added to the 'Signature' part...... sorry no read your 'Signature'.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Did you bother to read the links I gave you? Those links explained the differences. You say I "just insult and make fun of others who disagree...."When you are so stupid what do you expect? That I should praise stupidity and encourage more stupidity?
Agree that this could be a problem.....Originally posted by weiqimun:i give u a simple and real scenario, if the F1 cars hit each other or the barrier, the car(s), with all its bit n pieces flies 20-30ms (conservatively) in all directions, where is the protection for the pte property and human if it were to be held in SG streets? how can u adequately protect it? build fence on the 5km circuit? in sg's relatively narrow width road?
marina south may be a possibility, but i am not sure about the road structure in the first place, and more importantly, it takes away the romance of having F1 cars roar down Shenton way or orchard Road.
And we dun need accidents and deaths to find it out.
Wow..... friend calm down lah...Originally posted by IIOOII:Many people laugh at us, Singaporean when govt announce "new water", people across the sea laugh the hardest, say we drink shit water.
Then heaven open eyes and gave them dry spell, in the end they bought our process water which inculded our "shit water"
If we our people and govt can make 4.5 m people live in an island less than 700km sq and provide enough water for all thru "shit water", then i say F1 is not just possible but can be the best in the world; if you have the determination and drive, anything in the world is possible and drivable.
Thus safety and logistic problem is not a problem but and obstacle that we just need to cross. The finish line and trophy is how to make it the best in the world.
Originally posted by hloc: 15 March 2007 · 07:33 PMCare to explain the difference...... [/color]
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap: 15 March 2007 · 09:46 PM
Originally posted by hloc: 17 March 2007 · 09:41 AMAgain my friend..... YOU ADVOIDED THE QUESTION.
In Simple term -
Please explain and give example of the difference between gambling with 4D, TOTO or Horse Racing, compare with the gambling in Casino.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap: 17 March 2007 · 10:23 AMDid you bother to read the links I gave you? Those links explained the differences. You say I "just insult and make fun of others who disagree...."When you are so stupid what do you expect? That I should praise stupidity and encourage more stupidity?
When you are so stupid what do you expect? That I should praise stupidity and encourage more stupidity?Originally posted by hloc: 17 March 2007 · 11:12 AMUr Link is added to the 'Signature' part...... sorry no read your 'Signature'.
No need, I'm not here to seek your praise.... but I do expected more Maturity from you (born 1960 = 47yrs)..... Like you have point out yourself, you haven't ANSWER the question yet....... So, do us all a favour and ANSWER the Ficking Question..... stop avoiding it......Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:When you are so stupid what do you expect? That I should praise stupidity and encourage more stupidity?![]()
Originally posted by hloc:No need, [b]I'm not here to seek your praise.... but I do expected more Maturity from you (born 1960 = 47yrs)..... Like you have point out yourself, you haven't ANSWER the question yet....... So, do us all a favour and ANSWER the Ficking Question..... stop avoiding it......Why so scare..... nothing wrong if you answer incorrectly..... [/b][/quote]Dear hloc, the answer is in multiple parts and the issue is complex... please refer to these links and check out the differences for yourself. If after reading the links and you are still skeptical that there are indeed differences, please feel free to tell us why you are not convinced even after you have read the links...
[quote]Originally posted by AndrewPKYap: 15 March 2007 · 09:46 PM
Is the Casino Harmful?
Do you want to help increase loss of jobs, alcoholism, divorce, bankruptcy, and suicide rates?
Dear hloc, the answer is in multiple parts and the issue is complex... please refer to these links and check out the differences for yourself. If after reading the links and you are still skeptical that there are indeed differences, please feel free to tell us why you are not convinced even after you have read the links...Dearest AndrewPKYap
Originally posted by hloc:
Dearest [b]AndrewPKYap
Thank you for admiting that the issue is COMPLEX. It also means that the way to solve the 'problem' is just as Complex. Therefore your wish to have everything that is complex 'Ban' is just too simple minded (the idea... not you)
Casino is not good..... I agree.
People will gamble..... I agree.
We should then Ban anything we deem not good for the people..... I DISAGEE![]()
Casino will also provide more jobs for both S'porean & Foreign. The IR part will include Hotels, Restaurant, Theme parks..... etc. All those will need workers.... both local & foreign...... more Jobs for us all. SME will gain also, by providing services to the IRs, therefore providing more jobs. Rich and not so rich tourist might come and again those who work in the tour sector will gain...... again Jobs.
Of course all these is balance by the 'Evil' & 'Vice' that comes with the Casino. Therefore it is the Govt's balancing act that I'm worry about..... not the Casino.
My 'Old Man' is a typical Chinese gambler...... no joke. He believed in the chinese saying - Wouldn't be rich unless you gamble - loss the small Transportation Company he set up...... broke my grandmother's heart. During my secondary school days..... i go to school in the morning and work from 6pm-9:30pm selling cloths at 'Stockmart' the clothing store. Loan shark comes and 'paint' my house...... So please don't tell me I don't know the Evil of gambling.....
But non of my silding became gambler...... instead, non of us gamble much at all..... a few 4D or TOTO once a while..... me, less than $10 per bet.... maybe once every 2mths.
Your intention is good that you want to protect the people from the Evil of gambling...... But you have to understand that you just CAN'T force your view onto others...... You CAN'T just say ''I know what's best for you"..... and in NO WAY can you JUST DISMISS other people's POINT OF VIEW![]()
Let's face it..... PAP is NOT GOD, they don't know EVERYTHING..... neither is you nor I....... which is why we debate and LISTEN to each other's point of view.[/b]
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
P*P policies contribute more to the above than the casino or recession...Originally posted by Gazelle:I think a country in recession will contribute more of the above than having a casino.
Lets not assume you are the only smart ones in singapore and knows how to avoid the casino.