Have you tried doing a 2 to 3 hour transit at KLIA airport? Changi might not have the high ceiling like KLIA, but I think we have more chairs and sofa for the people to rest, despite Changi handling more passenger.Originally posted by weiqimun:greeneries within/inside the terminal buildings, wide open spaces (as opposed to the cramp surrounding in Changi; which tries to have everything there). nice mix of shops and there's a pizza joint on the 2nd flr (can't remember the name which is a franchise from the US) which serves good pizza. and proximity to the F1 venue.
not so much on KLIA, only once on transit to melbourne, i must say it's not that bad an experience...Originally posted by Gazelle:Have you tried ......
True..... since we so used to seeing Changi, also can get bored. Like I say, T2 is much better that T1..... before T2, most of the flight i took is from T1, so would have agree with you. But when to Manado last june on SilkAir...... must say total impress with T2.Originally posted by weiqimun:not so much on KLIA, only once on transit to melbourne, i must say it's not that bad an experience...
u may be right, the problem with changi may actually lies with me...see, i live here, so my frequent trips out of singapore is `measured' in terms of timing. i dun want to be there early and waste my time there. i can get into changi, check in, change money and get into the gates for my flight out, all within a reasonably good, predictable time. the efficiency @ changi unfortunately has a downside in this case. we dun go early to buffer for any delay...and the stuff there doesn't really interest me. if i am early, i just hang out in the lounge.
overseas, becos i dun want to miss my flight home, i need to be there early, and again, in most cases, i hang out at the kris flyer lounge. unless it is an airport i have not been b4, i dun loiter around. sometimes, everything that's orderly is not necessarily good (e.g. T2 @narita is so sanitarily clean that i cld pass it as off a hospital). for instance, i enjoyed the `mess' in the airport in barcelona, partly becos there is no kris flyer lounge for me to hang out (maybe now yes since SQ flies there now), i like the buzz there; visiting rival football fans making a ruckus there, eclectic mix of ppl there, etc.
maybe i will take your advise and smell the roses @ changi for my next trip out, which is early april....![]()
singapore airport has it.Originally posted by TehJarVu:bangkok new airport got airport hotel
wonder how come we dun have
That Pizza cost around $9 per sliceOriginally posted by Gazelle:Have you tried doing a 2 to 3 hour transit at KLIA airport? Changi might not have the high ceiling like KLIA, but I think we have more chairs and sofa for the people to rest, despite Changi handling more passenger.
Nice mix of shop they have, but they are all over priced duty free designer goods. Good pizza? that is if you compare to roti chenai lah...
Singapore Changi, we have sushi restuarnt, food court, western food, fast food joint, Harry's Bar, and loads of restaurant outside the immigration gate. I dont know if you are bias or you havent have time to walk around Changi airport.
The $2 laksa got hum or not?Originally posted by snobbish:That Pizza cost around $9 per sliceMy office used to be at T2 so after work we would go into transit walk.
Lotsa food.The laksa $2 only.
The laksa should have hum lah.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:The $2 laksa got hum or not?![]()
Will Singapore stop existing if Changi Airport falls from the top spot?Originally posted by crofty:This is really bad for singapore to fall from the top spot![]()
of cos not, we now the sequel, T3 mah....arnie(in the form of mr....airport is under which ministry's portfolio ah?) will come and terminate all the other airports ranked abve it, starting with our neighbourly KLIA.Originally posted by fudgester:Will Singapore stop existing if Changi Airport falls from the top spot?![]()
the mee siam no hum lah... you should know what... unless you also born with silver spoon in your mouth and have no idea how the common people suffer... take their money, invest in Thailand and give themselves million dollars salaries...Originally posted by Hogzilla:The laksa should have hum lah.
But I dunno the mee siam have hum or not lah....
You have no idea how much the animal is suffering because humans like to eat meat. We should all quit eating meat and let animal roam in the wild.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:the mee siam no hum lah... you should know what... unless you also born with silver spoon in your mouth and have no idea how the common people suffer... take their money, invest in Thailand and give themselves million dollars salaries...![]()
it's not as if changi fall 2 last 20 worst airports..dun ji jiao la..changi sure rise againOriginally posted by IIOOII:She used to be our pride and joy, but it has fallen out from the top spot. We need to keep her at the top spot as she is the first image we give to all visitors.
Intermediate refurbishing just does not work; she is not a HDB flat where upgrading is just find. Changi Airport is like a small city in itself and like all major tourist attraction, she needs major overhaul (instead of upgrading) and she constantly needs to reinvent itself totally to be at the top.
Ideas of major over haul;
1) Rebuilt control tower to 500 meters (tallest in the world)
2) First duty free Casino in the world, for all transit passengers
3) Re paint the whole airport into bright yellow, pink or red (instead of the normal grey like all airports in the world)
4) Put in the largest shopping centre in an airport in the world
For years CAAS has tried many things in Changi Airport, but all the projects are very small in scale compare to those globally, may be CAAS can be more daring and less worried about their iron rice bowl then something truely special can be done to Changi Airport.
Originally posted by reyes:CAAS is not only trying to attract tourists to Singapore but also to serve as a transit point for the region, hence investing money into Changi is a sensible one. (Especially if you consider the threats all the super long haul flights)
[b]i dun know abt incheon overall but the kris flyer lounge there is da best! many pc terminals for you to surf net and chck sg.forums....food selection by far the best so far and even got individual beds in small rooms if you want to catch 40 winks there. walking to the gates is often a short distance away, and the sq babes manning the counter also pretty...
my favourite airport overall is actually a toss between KLIA and the Auckland one. Changi, ok lah, efficient and predictable...
KLIA?
maybe best behind changi and equal to suvarnabumi airport in asean.
been to japan, part of aust, HK, lotsa china airport, most asean airport. i still prefer changi.
take it easy, need not be nos 1 all the time. we need to give ourselves a break too. not bad being nos 2. why spend hundreds of taxpayers money just to be nos 1 airport with maybe little impact on the overall tourist arrival? tourist come singapore just to see changi airport?
taxpayers money could be wisely spend on how to help the needy in singapore.
Originally posted by reyes:I don't know about tourists coming to Singapore just to see the airport. But whenever I leave or return to Singapore, the glum looking custom officers are a real put off. It seems all the improvements are targeted at the transit passengers. As a Singaporean wanting to visit the airport just for a different experience like watching aeroplanes and having nice foods, it's becoming less and less enjoyable. They have greatly reduce the viewing gallery area so they can build more expensive restaurants and others I presume. They put up some kind of notice at the basement foodcourt of T1 to inform us that the "canteen" is meant for airport workers and visitors should patronize other"expensive" outlets. Well, is that how they treat their own workers? Eating in a canteen that looks no better than some factory canteen, only slightly better foods? The canteen at T2 is only somewhat like a foodcourt in a shopping centre. And don't talk about the parking charges - cut throat.
[b]i dun know abt incheon overall but the kris flyer lounge there is da best! many pc terminals for you to surf net and chck sg.forums....food selection by far the best so far and even got individual beds in small rooms if you want to catch 40 winks there. walking to the gates is often a short distance away, and the sq babes manning the counter also pretty...
my favourite airport overall is actually a toss between KLIA and the Auckland one. Changi, ok lah, efficient and predictable...
KLIA?
maybe best behind changi and equal to suvarnabumi airport in asean.
been to japan, part of aust, HK, lotsa china airport, most asean airport. i still prefer changi.
take it easy, need not be nos 1 all the time. we need to give ourselves a break too. not bad being nos 2. why spend hundreds of taxpayers money just to be nos 1 airport with maybe little impact on the overall tourist arrival? tourist come singapore just to see changi airport?
taxpayers money could be wisely spend on how to help the needy in singapore.
Airport viewing gallery is a dead "business" here in Singapore, especially if you consider the affordability of flying these days.Originally posted by chiabaliao:I don't know about tourists coming to Singapore just to see the airport. But whenever I leave or return to Singapore, the glum looking custom officers are a real put off. It seems all the improvements are targeted at the transit passengers. As a Singaporean wanting to visit the airport just for a different experience like watching aeroplanes and having nice foods, it's becoming less and less enjoyable. They have greatly reduce the viewing gallery area so they can build more expensive restaurants and others I presume. They put up some kind of notice at the basement foodcourt of T1 to inform us that the "canteen" is meant for airport workers and visitors should patronize other"expensive" outlets. Well, is that how they treat their own workers? Eating in a canteen that looks no better than some factory canteen, only slightly better foods? The canteen at T2 is only somewhat like a foodcourt in a shopping centre. And don't talk about the parking charges - cut throat.
You can take the kids there and show them what happens when the plane is on the ground, they get to see daddy's plane, and they get to see the planes taxi, land and take-off. It's also a peaceful place for adults to watch planes and kill time. Liveries change all the time too.Originally posted by Gazelle:Airport viewing gallery is a dead "business" here in Singapore, especially if you consider the affordability of flying these days.
I would say that 90% of the people here have already taken a plane at least once in their life, so I dont see why people are still that keen to go changi just to watch the plane, unless if it is the new airbus 380 or boeing dreamliner or something.
How right you are. When My kids were young, I used to take them to the airport occasionally just to look at the planes, very different from flying in one. The airport must be seen as an educational place as well, not just for the business of making money, catering to transit passengers and impressing them.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:You can take the kids there and show them what happens when the plane is on the ground, they get to see daddy's plane, and they get to see the planes taxi, land and take-off. It's also a peaceful place for adults to watch planes and kill time. Liveries change all the time too.
But with the smaller area now you can hardly see the planes that aren't right in front of you. People will be disappointed if they want to see the newer aircraft when they arrive but can't because they're on the other side.