ouchOriginally posted by foomwee88:u sound like Durei!!!!
like i said, what i have mention above are just rumours spread by others, i am hoping to see some proof to all these rumours, i am not saying those examples i quote are facts. rumours are still rumours until proven.Originally posted by the_unknown:you have spoken quite alot without proof/evidence you know?
They are paid, that's why Mediacorp has to take some earnings from the charity shows...Originally posted by Artiwizoras:Well, I don't quite support wat TS says but here's something I wonder...
Does the actors not take pay for their performance?
must say i agree wif the above. for our family and frens i know, we never ever call in donations. mostly it is to mail the cheque directly to the specific charity.Originally posted by countdracula:....as for millions of surplus, they run out fast when you got salaries and buildings to maintain...until we smell something fishy, let's consider the intention to be noble....by the way, i didn't call because i have no desire to allow singtel and mediacorp channel part of the funds....
Originally posted by vetomoko:KIANG DIO HO, MAI GEI KIANG.
[b]I do not believe they have really raised $6.5million.
The NKF story is still fresh on all sinkaporean's mind... So it is very unlikely that Singaporeans are willing do donate no matter what kind of dangerous stun they do.
Only two possibilities:
1)the digits shown up there is faked. I myself personally is a programmer, i can easily faked the jumping digits up there. Those who study engineering or Electronics and do this very simply.
2)Only those gullible FTs go and donate...
Everyone still remembered that TT Durai TT-ed your money to Dubai, after crying mother father in front of your TV screen, making you foolishly donate.
Sad-looking faces of all the actors/actress right behind the host
First thing i want to ask u guys:
WHY ARE ALL THE ACTORS/ACTRESS STANDING BEHIND THE HOST? instead of resting at the backstage...?
Most probable answer: They should be asked by the director to stand behind the host.
Second Question:
These actors/actress showed a sulky SAD face at the background, behind the host.
One thing to remember is: When an actor cries, u will never know he is crying for real or not? When an actor laughs, u'll never know if he is really happy.
Camera showing audiences picking up handphone to call
When the host strongly urged everyone to make a phone call, the VERY NEXT MOMENT, the cameras was tuned to several audiences making a phonecall on their handphone.
I personnally have attended numerous seminars, public talks, speeches, etc etc... As everyone knows, Singaporeans are usually shy audiences. When asked about a question like "How many of u have invested in XYZ Stocks market before?" Very few people raised their hands although i am confident that there must be a lot more people...
Here in Renci charity, the very next moment spontaneously, BOTH THE CAMERAMAN SHOOTING AT THE AUDIENCE, and the SPONTANEOUS AUDIENCE HIMSELF was dialing, isn't it too obvious that the whole show was pre-planned?
Gurmit using force tactic to demand phonecalls
Gurmit Singh was like scolding and demanding, like an extortion manner, and he says that "I WANT ALL OF YOU TO PICK UP YOUR PHONE AND CALL AS MANY TIMES AS U CAN.....". Isn't this too image spoiling?
There is a possibility that the safety rope helped pull the monk up, rather than the monk using his own strength to pull up...
Well, for this, i may be right, may be wrong, i do not have evidences.
LAST BUT NOT LEAST...
1)Monks dun live in condo, drive BMW, monks only live in temple...
2)THe NKF story is still fresh in everyone's mind, it is not possible that Singaporeans still foolishly donate, unless i m wrong, Singaporeans are still sillyporeans, even after fooled for 40years since independence...
If an org is making surplus for the past few years and has asset amounting to S$33 millions and yet approaching the public 4 $,it is sound reasonable n very familiar with ex-NKF.Originally posted by countdracula:let's cut these people some slack ya.....nkf is a totally different matter...the $14k pay i did read about it, they claimed it's a lay director that's receiving the amount, not the rjc monk, but still a tad excessive in my opinion...as for the car, i got no idea...
before we rub in by saying why so much surplus and why cost per patient is so high, let's take a humble approach and appreciate that fact that someone is actually taking care of the homeless and terminally ill.....dying in sg is very costly and so it comes to no surprise at the medical expenses....as for millions of surplus, they run out fast when you got salaries and buildings to maintain...until we smell something fishy, let's consider the intention to be noble....by the way, i didn't call because i have no desire to allow singtel and mediacorp channel part of the funds....
Originally posted by vetomoko:
1)the digits shown up there is faked. I myself personally is a programmer, i can easily faked the jumping digits up there. Those who study engineering or Electronics and do this very simply.
1) You are right to point out that they have asset amounting to $33m, but you also conveniently left out that only $28m of those are General Funds. So how long would these $28m last? 2-3 years maybe. 10 years or forever? Certainly not. Given that no one can predict when the next economic downturn will occur, isnt it prudent that they have some buffer to cover their yearly ward expenditure of $10m?Originally posted by foomwee88:If an org is making surplus for the past few years and has asset amounting to S$33 millions and yet approaching the public 4 $,it is sound reasonable n very familiar with ex-NKF.
It is w/o doubt that they r taking care of the homeless and very poor, and please ask yrself how much is their expenses on this group of ppls as compared with the rest like provide hospice and home care,they charged S$80 per Doc care for 4 rooms HDB flat wheres the normal GPs r charging only S$50 for this service regardless of house type.
Can u remember the ex-NKF charged the patient at full cost plus huge profit of mediclne and yet claimed they had subsidied the patients .
We r not against donate $ for the true cause but dont take us for their free ride!!!
For ur everyones infro, that MONK is driving a BRAND NEW BMW 730IA , no loan. PAID CASH! the car sold by my fren! I actually thought of donating, when i see those auntie and uncle so ke lian! but when i see the actor tears without eyes turning red i know they all r fake! plus my fren told me he is driving BMW i tell my self fuck it man!Originally posted by BillyBong:Before you take your emotional tandrums further, can you verify that Venerable Shi drives a BMW? Is it a new purchase or a 2nd-3rd hand wreck?
Apart from being pervetedly cynically with your sweeping remarks, have you really performed charity? That being said, do you know what it means to work for free?
Do you expect people, given the current atmosphere, to work entirely for free? These people still need to pay bills, pay taxes and feed mouths while tending to the patients at Ren Ci. Evidently, being an armchair critic, you are certainly entitled to your opinions, but like most people, if you don't agree with it, turn off your TV.
No one here is obliged to donate, least of all you.
agreed totally.Originally posted by BillyBong:Before you take your emotional tandrums further, can you verify that Venerable Shi drives a BMW? Is it a new purchase or a 2nd-3rd hand wreck?
Apart from being pervetedly cynically with your sweeping remarks, have you really performed charity? That being said, do you know what it means to work for free?
Do you expect people, given the current atmosphere, to work entirely for free? These people still need to pay bills, pay taxes and feed mouths while tending to the patients at Ren Ci. Evidently, being an armchair critic, you are certainly entitled to your opinions, but like most people, if you don't agree with it, turn off your TV.
No one here is obliged to donate, least of all you.
I can say it's pre-planned. In the past, I went for one of the charity shows and during commericial time, they asked us to take out our phone and pretend to SMS...Originally posted by mhcampboy:Not pre planned. Like mayi said, lots of camera.
Behind the scenes, got lots of camera screens. Only one will be LIVE on air. So its up to the producers sitting in front of the screens to air which camera.
So obviously he/she saw the audience calling and thus aired the camera nearest to the audience....
Write so long just to say its pre planned..
So your analogy is that your friend told you he drives a BMW. On the basis of your friend's word, you therefore believe he drives one?Originally posted by bbryan:For ur everyones infro, that MONK is driving a BRAND NEW BMW 730IA , no loan. PAID CASH! the car sold by my fren! I actually thought of donating, when i see those auntie and uncle so ke lian! but when i see the actor tears without eyes turning red i know they all r fake! plus my fren told me he is driving BMW i tell my self fuck it man!
Can yr frd let us hve the car no 4 us to investigate????Originally posted by bbryan:For ur everyones infro, that MONK is driving a BRAND NEW BMW 730IA , no loan. PAID CASH! the car sold by my fren! I actually thought of donating, when i see those auntie and uncle so ke lian! but when i see the actor tears without eyes turning red i know they all r fake! plus my fren told me he is driving BMW i tell my self fuck it man!
We prey 4 their good and hope CPIB will not be involved and become another NKF saga!!!!Originally posted by the_unknown:1) You are right to point out that they have asset amounting to $33m, but you also conveniently left out that only $28m of those are General Funds. So how long would these $28m last? 2-3 years maybe. 10 years or forever? Certainly not. Given that no one can predict when the next economic downturn will occur, isnt it prudent that they have some buffer to cover their yearly ward expenditure of $10m?
2) By saying 'they charged S$80 per Doc care for 4 rooms HDB flat', i hope you are not generalizing it to the 1/2/3 rooms flats. Do you know for a fact that subsidies arent available for those needy ppl? I certainly dont claim that i do.
3) You can go on rattling and comparing about how similar Renci is to old NKF, but the fact is that they are two totally different entities.
4) Lastly, have you actually been to Renci to see how they operate or how they are going to manage their reserves? If not, how can you then claim that they are taking you on a free ride?