Maybe for their case, the private sector doesnt give them a better deal. So ppl prefer to be in the public sector.Originally posted by 4getmenot:I guess only the sinkapore gahmen is first class with their first class salary, the rest of the world's gahmen must be very bad when their minister's are drawing second class and thrid class salaries..![]()
1. Singapore Prime Minister's Basic Salary US$1,100,000 (SGD1,958,000) a yearCheers....even USA president also earn $200k nia....only beloved ministers want $2.2million.
Minister's Basic: US$655,530 to US$819,124 (SGD1,166,844 to SGD1,458,040) a
year
2. United States of America President: US$200,000 Vice President: US$181,400
Cabinet Secretaries: US$157,000
3. United Kingdom Prime Minister: US$170,556 Ministers: US$146,299 Senior Civil
Servants: US$262,438
4. Australia Prime Minister: US$137,060 Deputy Prime Minister: US$111,439
Treasurer: US$102,682
5. Hong Kong Chief Executive : US$416,615 Top Civil Servant: US$278,538
Financial Sec: US$315,077

YOu are comparing and apple to an orange. Bush is probably paid low becos he isnt qualified to be a CEO of a MNC. If the US president had been paid more, you probably would have a more competent president leading the USA as compared to a numbskull who invaded Iraq because of Oil. And guess what? Dick Cheny has an interest in Haliburton and Haliburton is the first to get all the lucrative oil contracts in Iraq.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:Cheers....even USA president also earn $200k nia....only beloved ministers want $2.2million.
Singapore already ranks no.1 in minister pay in the world liao....obviously thats not enough...they are gonna double $1.1million to $2.2million..
Why not peg our sports minister salary same as David Beckham too?
Yes they do. Fund managers get paid around S$2M per year EXCLUDING bonuses which can go as high as 10months. Big Fund managers which manages huge portfolios can go as high as S$10Mper year.Originally posted by Kenashi:they use the median of the top 6 highest earners for each category as a benchmark
even in private sector, i don't think all these so called elites, can hit that pay
lousy excuse to raise their damn pay
why don't they use the median of all the earners in each category since they r professional anyway![]()
but if this fund manager lost money as fast as LHL.. he will be fired very fast too..Originally posted by shade343:Fund managers get paid around S$2M per year EXCLUDING bonuses which can go as high as 10months. Big Fund managers which manages huge portfolios can go as high as S$10Mper year.
LHL is a finance minister so he manages our country's finance and economy. I think S$2.1M per year shld be quite ok for him.
For the other ministers, maybe S$1.3Mper year?
AT the most I forgo my bonus and no performance fees lor. I still earn 2-3M. Next year got bull run, I outperform the market, I earn 5times back. Its still much better than what LHL get.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):but if this fund manager lost money as fast as LHL.. he will be fired very fast too..![]()
you are SO WRONG.Originally posted by shade343:AT the most I forgo my bonus and no performance fees lor. I still earn 2-3M. Next year got bull run, I outperform the market, I earn 5times back. Its still much better than what LHL get.
But being a minister also entitles you to pension and some additional security I think...but why would a fund manager need that anyway? So, I rather be a fund manger than a finance minister.![]()
Being a Prime Minister is different. Its from the same money pool that the Prime Minister says "there is not enough money and need to raise GST to help the poor,yet at the same time there is enough money to raise Civil service pay and build lavish offices, decorate with expensive furniture"Originally posted by shade343:AT the most I forgo my bonus and no performance fees lor. I still earn 2-3M. Next year got bull run, I outperform the market, I earn 5times back. Its still much better than what LHL get.
But being a minister also entitles you to pension and some additional security I think...but why would a fund manager need that anyway? So, I rather be a fund manger than a finance minister.![]()
No, you are not instantly fired it depends. Most mutal funds take a long term view when investing unlike hedge funds. If you are a hedge fund manager and you underperform, yes, you are fired. But Hedge fund managers are in another league, their salaries are easily much higher than the standard fund manger as they take on more risk.Originally posted by soul_rage:you are SO WRONG.
Who told you bad performance, you can opt to forgo bonus and performance fee? You are instantly FIRED, and your reputation in the funds market will suck as well. I think you should understand the underlyings of the responsibilities of such people, before making such statements.
As for our PM, he is not worth even the current pay. Tell me, what has he DONE for this country? Raise GST is NOT an achievement.
And for his pay, he can blame the world if the performance of Singapore is bad, and then claim credit when the performance is good, where is the accountability?
And where are those PAP supporters? I am asking each of you to name one achievement by the current govt, and to date, I see you cowards just hiding from the question. Come on, come out and talk, where's that elitist attitude I always see when calling us a bunch of idiots?
But you forgot to mention that the government is lowering Corporate taxes. This would in turn enable companies to pay a higher wage to their employees. And such a move is what the government wants as we move towards a system of workfare and not welfare.Originally posted by kilua:Being a Prime Minister is different. Its from the same money pool that the Prime Minister says "there is not enough money and need to raise GST to help the poor,yet at the same time there is enough money to raise Civil service pay and build lavish offices, decorate with expensive furniture"
Doing so loses moral authority over the people. If they want Singaporeans to go through thick and thin with the country in war, the leadership must lead by example and do first in peace time.
Being silent doesnt mean there isnt any anger... its a silent storm just like the EM3 streaming, waiting to explode..
Oh please,who you are trying to kid? The USD has been falling against many currencies. its the weakness of the dollar rather than the strength of the SGD. So if SGD fall in future can blame him? Can dont blame globalization or the strength of the dollar?Originally posted by shade343:Hey, under the guidance of LHL, our Singapore dollar has hit a 9 year high against the USD. On top of that, the PAP government has managed to restructure our country such that we are now enjoying a property boom. All this thanks to our dear leader.
hahahaha, simply naive.... its not like SBS raises the pay of the drivers when the profits are higher... The lower level are easily replaceable... When there are higher profits, its due to the brilliance of the management... Time to raise pay or the "Top Talent" get headhunted.Originally posted by shade343:But you forgot to mention that the government is lowering Corporate taxes. This would in turn enable companies to pay a higher wage to their employees. And such a move is what the government wants as we move towards a system of workfare and not welfare.
If your mutual fund under performs the market average, I am sure you will be asked to leave. They made alot of major investment blunders like Global Crossing, Shin Corp, Suzhou Industrial Park, etc. Why are they still around?Originally posted by shade343:No, you are not instantly fired it depends. Most mutal funds take a long term view when investing unlike hedge funds. If you are a hedge fund manager and you underperform, yes, you are fired. But Hedge fund managers are in another league, their salaries are easily much higher than the standard fund manger as they take on more risk.
Hey, under the guidance of LHL, our Singapore dollar has hit a 9 year high against the USD. On top of that, the PAP government has managed to restructure our country such that we are now enjoying a property boom. All this thanks to our dear leader.
Let us not deny him a fair wage for his efforts in rebuilding and rebranding Singapore
I guess you are the very few bosses around that would share his profits with employees by paying them a higher wage. Maybe you should tell the ministers to share their pay around, since they already getting so much money.Originally posted by shade343:But you forgot to mention that the government is lowering Corporate taxes. This would in turn enable companies to pay a higher wage to their employees. And such a move is what the government wants as we move towards a system of workfare and not welfare.
Animal farm ....Singapore.....Animal farm ....Singapore.....the line is blurring between fiction and non fiction now.Originally posted by kilua:From Animal Farm
"Comrades!" he cried. "You do not imagine, I hope, that we pigs are doing this in a spirit of selfishness and privilege? Many of us actually dislike milk and apples. I dislike them myself. Our sole object in taking these things is to preserve our health. Milk and apples (this has been proved by Science, comrades) contain substances absolutely necessary to the well-being of a pig. We pigs are brainworkers.
The whole management and organisation of this farm depend on us. Day and night we are watching over your welfare. It is for your sake that we drink that milk and eat those apples.
Do you know what would happen if we pigs failed in our duty? Jones would come back! Yes, Jones would come back! Surely, comrades," cried Squealer almost pleadingly, skipping from side to side and whisking his tail, "surely there is no one among you who wants to see Jones come back?"