Bravo, In order to narrow the gap of my earning, it is right time for us, the hawker, to raise the food price liao. few of my hawker friends intend to raise the food price next month. Bravo, Singapore govt, thanks for give us a good reason to raise the food since the govt sector is increase their pay. We need to narrow the gapOriginally posted by shade343:Fund managers get paid around S$2M per year EXCLUDING bonuses which can go as high as 10months. Big Fund managers which manages huge portfolios can go as high as S$10Mper year.
LHL is a finance minister so he manages our country's finance and economy. I think S$2.1M per year shld be quite ok for him.
For the other ministers, maybe S$1.3Mper year?
are you sure you know what you are talking about? Go read Peter Lynch's One Up on Wall Street. A fund manager's performance is evaluated monthly and when it comes to quarter, its when they assess whether the fund manager is performing. If he is not, off he goes.Originally posted by shade343:No, you are not instantly fired it depends. Most mutal funds take a long term view when investing unlike hedge funds. If you are a hedge fund manager and you underperform, yes, you are fired. But Hedge fund managers are in another league, their salaries are easily much higher than the standard fund manger as they take on more risk.
Hey, under the guidance of LHL, our Singapore dollar has hit a 9 year high against the USD. On top of that, the PAP government has managed to restructure our country such that we are now enjoying a property boom. All this thanks to our dear leader.
Let us not deny him a fair wage for his efforts in rebuilding and rebranding Singapore
More money means the better quality of material and essential items they can have.Originally posted by PRP:PM,
Why do ministers need so high salaries?One can only sleep on one bed,eat 2 bowls of rice per lunch & live in one house.I don't think any minister is going to buy an aeroplane for his own use.Why do u all want so much money?
what if Parliment sets out a new law by 2011 that abolishes elections? Singaporeans also cant do anything, just follow law. HAHAHAHA!Originally posted by :KPKB here in SgF no use one lor........
This issue is better to be discussed at the next elections lor........![]()
Originally posted by BillyBong:The PAP leaders thought by pushing their salary higher n higher,they will catch the "admiration"of Singaporeans.They are such an "Attention seekers".
With all that's been said, how much is too much?
What will our ministers do with all this money? Will it buy happiness? Piece of mind? Instead of debating a salary adjustment, how about offering a tidy sum to charity, which has been hard hit since the fallout of the old-NKF?
If our economy is really doing well, and our ministers think they're not getting a commeasurable salary, switch to the private sector then. Retaining top talents by upping their wages with our taxpayer's monies is surely daylight robbery, given their already exhorbitant pay.
If they continue to push through for this pay increase, can they still deny legitamised corruption?
Will this be the legacy of the MIW and our MM? 'Money literally makes mare go'?
Is this perhaps the real reason why they are so guarded about the National Reserves? Milking it dry for their own purposes?
The [b]lack of transparency and need to explain their actions is simply appalling.
Note that the talents they bring in will grant them more votes, more support.Originally posted by drawer:Already,Lee Kuan Yew,Goh Chok Tong and Lee Hsien Loong might have aware that more n more Singaporeans are migrating abroad n the amount of foreign talents who they are trying to attract to this crappy nation are not enough to fill up the total numbers of Singaporeans who are leaving this country.
I used to work for a private Singapore MNC. I can assure you that our pay is similar to your teachers, and we worked till late into the night. Overtime is normal. Going home on time will result in stares that tell you your job may not be safe anymore.Originally posted by simnatic:I have to agree that most ministers do not deserve a pay rise, they already earn ten times what average Singaporeans earn, how much more do they need?!?
HOWEVER, if this pay rise is for civil servants THAT ACTUALLY serve, in particular teachers, then I think they deserve it. Now, I'm not a teacher but I am a student who will be taking a national exam soon.
EVERYDAY, i see my teachers who are really dedicated to what they are doing, but their salary is really meagre compared to those in the private sector. My teachers come to school at 6 to start teaching (those who need it) and end at 6.30. i mean, most of them are earning btw $2500-$5000, but for the amount of work they are doing, their salary definitely is LESS than what they should get. As a teacher, don't forget that you bring home work to do. Worksheets,essays to mark, exam papers and tests to set and the list goes on. They work longer than the private sector (9-5) but this is what they get? I really pity some of my teachers. Most of them would even voluntarily come down on Saturdays to give us tuition....
So, in conclusion, though i think the ministers do not deserve the pay rise, I think people like our teachers who work long hours, some passionately, do deserve a pay rise. Just my 2cents worth...![]()
exactly. i'm only using a teacher as an exampleOriginally posted by soul_rage:I used to work for a private Singapore MNC. I can assure you that our pay is similar to your teachers, and we worked till late into the night. Overtime is normal. Going home on time will result in stares that tell you your job may not be safe anymore.
I took a big step, and accepted a job from a foreign MNC, giving up all existing relationships, and certainty in my previous job. My pay jumped almost 2fold.
The fact is, its not only your teachers that are paid badly. Its ALL singaporean companies that are paying their staff badly. The only people who are paid well are those ministers you see sitting up there.