I like those accents too. I don't know why so many people complain about the accents.Originally posted by blahshit:wah ts.. u say till like all singaporeans r racist sia.. i not racist.. i have friends of all races and i find them ok.. prc also ok with me.. and i secretly amire the way they speak.. the acent damn nice la.. haha..
but proud... i think so..![]()
ya lo.. they no manners 1.. my friends also like that... jus dun understand y.. haha..Originally posted by Slipshade:I like those accents too. I don't know why so many people complain about the accents.
And yes, there's this habit of locals mimicking the PRC accents, even in front of the PRCs themselves! While they might be just joking and fooling around, I think it's actually quite rude, and it shows a clear lack of discipline, manners and maturity.
Very well said, you have made an examplary statement...!Originally posted by :Singaporeans or not, everyone of us is rascist in our ownhearts , whether we care to be honest . It's all a matter of degree. If we dun manifest this , it's only because we are ruled by our heads so that how our hearts really feel is ignored.
But here in SgF, it's like anything goes. It's a cowboy town where mayhem is the order of the day. We are absolutely free to express ourselves in whiichever way we desire and no one is expected to take it too personal. It's not like wad you think. It's like somebody's siggy as well : I'm not a bad boy. I'm only being naughty.........! It's a fine-line distiction but a distinction all the same okay?
I dunno where u r from but your observation is regretably shallow leh!![]()
I keep hearing this assertion every now and then. I don't get it. Its entirely possible to acknowledge differences in people without crossing the racist line. But too bad for those who would get over initial prejudices since they are reduced to being in denial.Originally posted by :Singaporeans or not, everyone of us is rascist in our ownhearts , whether we care to be honest . It's all a matter of degree. If we dun manifest this , it's only because we are ruled by our heads so that how our hearts really feel is ignored.
:
So you prefer to be called the ahmad, the mina or the bayee?Originally posted by Dan008:Don't even have to say PRC. Among Singaporeans, most of us are already some sort of racist already. I still remember when i go reservist, one group of malays in my platoon called us "The Chinese guys". Isn't that some sort of racist already?
Oddly when I speak to PRCs, I will automatically switch to their accent. I don't know why. But the ones I've met are quite nice people.Originally posted by Slipshade:I like those accents too. I don't know why so many people complain about the accents.
And yes, there's this habit of locals mimicking the PRC accents, even in front of the PRCs themselves! While they might be just joking and fooling around, I think it's actually quite rude, and it shows a clear lack of discipline, manners and maturity.
We like 2 keep the good apple like u n throw away the bad one like OM!!!!Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:So what are you going to do?
From protests and wave billboards saying "PRC go home!!" ?
Or find random PRC-looking people on the streets to bully and beat up?
Unfortunately I haven't had any bad experiences with PRCs in Singapore yet... cultural differences there might be, but it depends on how smart you are to handle all these things.
For one I'm not sure if PRC contribute more then locals to the crime rate. We have to consider things like the percentage of PRC in Singapore and the percentage of crimes commited by them.
Also note we have a bias, everytime they mess up we will highlight it. But everytime a local does something wrong, we don't attribute it to being Singaporean, but that it rests on his head alone.
Just go to Stormfront.org, and you will see that the things they say about blacks, mexicans, jews, asians in America are pretty much the same things some of us are saying here. That they are social parasites and do nothing but contribute to crime... it's a real eye opener.
I have no doubt there are bad apple among them, but if you want to toss out the whole cart just because of them... hmm just join Shutterbug and his myopioc vision of becoming exactly the very minority that is demonized by people as ignorant as him in some other country then.
Sometimes when local critized all these foreigners, they tend to think themself as angel n foreigners evil person.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:So what are you going to do?
From protests and wave billboards saying "PRC go home!!" ?
Or find random PRC-looking people on the streets to bully and beat up?
Unfortunately I haven't had any bad experiences with PRCs in Singapore yet... cultural differences there might be, but it depends on how smart you are to handle all these things.
For one I'm not sure if PRC contribute more then locals to the crime rate. We have to consider things like the percentage of PRC in Singapore and the percentage of crimes commited by them.
Also note we have a bias, everytime they mess up we will highlight it. But everytime a local does something wrong, we don't attribute it to being Singaporean, but that it rests on his head alone.
Just go to Stormfront.org, and you will see that the things they say about blacks, mexicans, jews, asians in America are pretty much the same things some of us are saying here. That they are social parasites and do nothing but contribute to crime... it's a real eye opener.
I have no doubt there are bad apple among them, but if you want to toss out the whole cart just because of them... hmm just join Shutterbug and his myopioc vision of becoming exactly the very minority that is demonized by people as ignorant as him in some other country then.