You asked about Tertiary education, I stated the dynamics. IF you are going to drag another topic in, then you are throwing in another question that isn't quite so relevant. I doubt MOE which if I am not wrong funds NUS/NTU and SMU, control the pay scales for the professors and even if they do, it is a totally different scale from the average civil servant and I doubt they are even considered civil servants.Originally posted by sunny6110:our ministers' pay oso not cheap... u read the other thread??
okay .... then why the scholarships to foreign students when there are equally deserving local students struggling through local universities graduating with a backside full of debt ? ....Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Tertiary education is expensive and by no means a cheap matter. I won't dare to say that the Govt ought to give it out free. It is not cheap. Good Professors command high pay, though whether ours are considered good is another question, Moreover, universities have huge bills to food, not least the electricity bills and many other amenities that have to be paid for. Equipment is expensive and to provide some decent level of equipment, you need cash. An oscilloscope, a good one for example, can cost thousands of dollars in USD alone.
gov provide free education for malays through mendakiOriginally posted by sunny6110:Wat's the reasons the Gov gave for not providing Free Education till Tertiary level for citizens??
That's a different problem. Unfortunately, our universities are used as an extension to the foreign talent policy and the Govt hopes (for some reason beyond me) that these FT will stay. That however is something that is profoundly ridiculous in my opinion. The Govt should not pay foreign students to come. Even in the US, Federal funding is not granted to International Students.Originally posted by Fatum:okay .... then why the scholarships to foreign students when there are equally deserving local students struggling through local universities graduating with a backside full of debt ? ....
a sprinkling of foreign stars will provide competition and inspiration of course, but it doesn't seem to be what's happening here ...
why give a free ride to a foreign chap who has no sense of belonging, of rootedness, to this place, who probably just see singapore as a spring board to points further west, when the sons of heartlanders, who spent 2 years of their golden decade defending this land, have to take out student loans, and dig into their parent's CPF ? Who are more deserving of the goverment's "limited" resources ? ... I'd rather see my tax dollar go towards paying for the fees of some hawker or taxi driver's children instead ...
ministers and MPs need their thanks ... but the people need to feel appreciated, need to feel wanted too ....
wow! tat's gd... y not extend for all singaporeans excluding PR?Originally posted by menoob:gov provide free education for malays through mendaki
as long as the malay can enter poly/uni, its free
I believe the Malay thing might be rather due to a few set of laws that grant certain benefits to the indigenous community, i.e. the Malays.Originally posted by sunny6110:wow! tat's gd... y not extend for all singaporeans excluding PR?
this makes our citizenship looks more value-added now rite?? unlike now... PR and singaporeans almost no diff...
Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:I believe the Malay thing might be rather due to a few set of laws that grant certain benefits to the indigenous community, i.e. the Malays.
No kidding. Part of the reason for the existence of these laws is to shut our neighbours up. I can't remember where I read of these laws. But they exist.Originally posted by foomwee88:![]()
to me... increase in ministers' pay oso free lunch...Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:However, as usual, our Govt doesn't quite believe in free lunches.
Of course no free lunches for the peasants lah.Originally posted by sunny6110:to me... increase in ministers' pay oso free lunch...
wat justifies the increase???
exceptional performance?? if yes... by who?
previous batch of leaders or now?? if previous batch... then free lunch... if current batch... how are the citizens' life different???
Whereas that is true, one must remember that graduates with significant debt will contribute less to the economy than graduates with less debt. Also, it dampens the mood for innovation but encourages caution.Originally posted by allentyb:the government already mention that we are not a welfare state
sure, we could be a welfare state,
but can you imagine, how high, would the income tax, and not to forget the gst........
someone has to pay for all this
^_^
Originally posted by sunny6110:Go!!!!!!
Are u all ready?? me gonna start le huh....
[b]Sunny6110's Rethink: Singapore's Free Educational System![]()
Education is not welfare.Originally posted by allentyb:the government already mention that we are not a welfare state
sure, we could be a welfare state,
but can you imagine, how high, would the income tax, and not to forget the gst........
someone has to pay for all this
^_^