Originally posted by ShutterBug:ya hor... nobody allowed to check how can you be sure?
One question to TS:
>> WHO, is there [b]allowed, to question the INTEGRITY and ETHICS of our government and its Ministers, to affirm that there is really NO CORRUPTION????
Originally posted by NewAge:if a minister places so much value on monetary rewards to prevent them from being corrupted, i wonder how corruption resilience they are in the face of billion dollar bribes.
true, but many are now regretting it...home depot paid over us$100mil to their previous chief whom they sacked for a poor job, ford is paying $24mil to a guy whom they are replacing just after 4 months....Originally posted by the Bear:one only needs to read the book "The Confessions of an Economic Hitman" to see the gravity of your statement...
basically, corporations will not hesitate to do that if they can reap higher profits... and they have done so... so many times it boggles the mind..
Originally posted by countdracula:true, but many are now regretting it...home depot paid over us$100mil to their previous chief whom they sacked for a poor job, ford is paying $24mil to a guy whom they are replacing just after 4 months....
so you see, paying top dollar doesn't mean having top talent....lky says self-sacrifice is an admirable sentiment...but then again it must be a virtue this govt needs to instill....at the end of the say, a single person with absolute dedication is worth more than an army with greedy ambitions....
u understood what i wrote.Originally posted by the Bear:frankly, i don't care if the corporate mofos screw themselves and the corporations.. however, if you read the book, you'd find that the corporations go into countries "in need of economic assistance" which are usually run by despotic dictators and lend them a crapload of cash.. putting the country in debt which they have no hope of repaying...
then the strip-mining of the country starts.. with "concessions" and political sodomy..
the despots do not care and usually the "economic assistance" go into their bank accounts anyway...
they've also taken down governments closer to home.. Suharto was one of them.. and so was Sukarno...
again, it comes back to this.. if the present gabrament's "loyalty" and all that is so easily bought by cold hard cash, what if say, a Zaibatsu or something like that comes and drops a huge wad of cash... would they be bought out?
No. They will have millions + pension. They don't want to lose that. They can retire to Sentosa.Originally posted by Dr Who:Yes, better give our ministers what they want...........the alternative would be Corruption........now we don't want corrupted ministers do we?
so pay lor..........and then I can sleep at night, knowing the ministers will not run away with my CPF money......
So if you want good night's rest, pay what they want.........otherwise, how to sleep at night?
Do you worry your Minister 'run road' with your money?
I do..... ......it's 3.40am and I still cannot sleep. So I decxide to come to this forum.......pui.......
I think there was a quote from one MP saying that he wrote an email to the PM in the wee hours of the morning and he got a reply immediately.Originally posted by mistyblue:the question is how can They sleep at night..