I heard from a forumite that the govt is giving red ic to the foreigner. Not sure true or not.Originally posted by :NO. Strikes will only hurt ourselves more particularly when the economy suffers. Cos, good economic performance or not, govt still get the same pay one. It's only the man-in-the-street like you and I who will get pay cuts and retrenchment!
The only way is the next General Election which I have no doubt will be very interesting!! Dun think the opposition parties will let this issue of raising civil servants' pay rest. Marginally poorer quality opposition candidates who never would have stood a chance in the past against PAP candidates stronger in credentials may get the backing of more people now..........
Originally posted by :Let's look at this perspective. For now, the opposition parties are weak as they only have a handful of MPs in parliament. And I don't think they get a pay rise, or do they??
The only way is the next General Election which I have no doubt will be very interesting!! [b]Dun think the opposition parties will let this issue of raising civil servants' pay rest. Marginally poorer quality opposition candidates who never would have stood a chance in the past against PAP candidates stronger in credentials may get the backing of more people now.......... [/b]
I think most of these people are saying it in a joking manner lar. Inciting unrest is unlawful in most places, but people still do it. If things had really gone too far, the law will lose its ability in restraining people. Like Phillipine where the guy "kipnapped" a bus load of kids to gain media attention, its clearly unlawful, but things had gone so bad, he is willing to do it. Singaporeans are not just afraid of the laws, if we are, there won't be so many people speeding on the road or drink driving. But things have not gone beyond most people's limit yet, cause generally our lifes are still satisfactory.Originally posted by laurence82:Its sad to see when something like this being suggested, instead of debating its merits or demerits, we see the typical response cautioning TS, warning TS of the laws, so on and so forth
We became so 'law abiding' and overlooked the abuses of these so called 'laws'
No wonder for 66.6% and Govt's audacity to hike the ministers pay
This is a logical fallacy of false dilemma. You are saying that we should give them the money because the opposition will also do so and quite frankly, I am wondering how that proves or justifies anything because all you are saying "it will happen anyway".Originally posted by FireAndHell:Let's look at this perspective. For now, the opposition parties are weak as they only have a handful of MPs in parliament. And I don't think they get a pay rise, or do they??So, they will make a lotta noise, disagree with the pay increases, etc, etc, [that's wat opposition parties always do, all around the world.....shoot down gov. policies that do not benefit the opposition parties, not the citizens]. Best example is .........tada!!.....Taiwan.....wah...fistcuffs in parliament!! Now Taiwan is in a fix, not moving up, stuck.
Let's say several years down the road of elections, opposition party gets the majority vote and they become the legitimate government of SG, what makes you guys think that this opposition party, now the legitimate govt. of SG, will not want to raise their ministers' salary to be as close to the private sectors? They may want to have the best ppl to be their ministers, so in order to do that they gotta pay good money too, dun you agree?
No one wants to put their blood, sweat and tears to run a country, ensure enough jobs etc, etc for the citizens..... and get paid "peanuts". Not even those working in the private sectors....if i may add!
Do you want to be paid peanuts, and work your butts out, even in a private company?? I guess not.... But if you are one of them intelligent, bright spark guys who dun mind working your butts out......N.....get paid peanuts.....well...you should go join an opposition party.....N....when you become an MP [perhaps future SG gov.] please ask to be paid peanuts too. See how long you will feel and make like a sucker!!![]()
x2. The reasons which there is no strike is bcos we r not angry enuff...If everyone cannot earn enuff to fill up their stommach, u see whether got ppl protest or not.Originally posted by wisefool83:I think most of these people are saying it in a joking manner lar. Inciting unrest is unlawful in most places, but people still do it. If things had really gone too far, the law will lose its ability in restraining people. Like Phillipine where the guy "kipnapped" a bus load of kids to gain media attention, its clearly unlawful, but things had gone so bad, he is willing to do it. Singaporeans are not just afraid of the laws, if we are, there won't be so many people speeding on the road or drink driving. But things have not gone beyond most people's limit yet, cause generally our lifes are still satisfactory.
And speaking from someone who had family member been detained by ISD and had family letters censored by the same authority before, I can assure you that a question such as "do Singaporean need to go to strike blar blar blar" will not earn you a pass to drink kopi with them.
What about Hong Kong? They have enough to eat but they still protest.Originally posted by SpeedStar:x2. The reasons which there is no strike is bcos we r not angry enuff...If everyone cannot earn enuff to fill up their stommach, u see whether got ppl protest or not.
Whoever thinks foreigners will be grateful to the PAP? Please. That's really amusing.Originally posted by 00011000:I heard from a forumite that the govt is giving red ic to the foreigner. Not sure true or not.
If this the case, the next election will still be PAP turf because these foreigners holding red ic will definitely vote for PAP (out of gratitude mah).
The irony I think is that these foreigners will be the ones heralding political change in Singapore.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Whoever thinks foreigners will be grateful to the PAP? Please. That's really amusing.
Singapore is not a beacon of refuge for refugees or a place for freedom and democracy. They will come here and move on, for the majority.
The PR from China and India would be grateful to the PAP. We can't deny it, we see them everywhere now.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Whoever thinks foreigners will be grateful to the PAP? Please. That's really amusing.
Singapore is not a beacon of refuge for refugees or a place for freedom and democracy. They will come here and move on, for the majority.
Can you imagine what will happen if one day Sg and China happen to have a diplomatic spat and it happens during election time?Originally posted by 00011000:The PR from China and India would be grateful to the PAP. We can't deny it, we see them everywhere now.
Singapore may not be a beacon for freedom and democracy but who are we to say that PR are looking to these things?
Yes, they may come here and move on. But while they here, Sg's passport is much sort after and these are the things they would be grateful to PAP for.
And....... do they give us anything for that gratefulness?Originally posted by 00011000:The PR from China and India would be grateful to the PAP. We can't deny it, we see them everywhere now.
Singapore may not be a beacon for freedom and democracy but who are we to say that PR are looking to these things?
Yes, they may come here and move on. But while they here, Sg's passport is much sort after and these are the things they would be grateful to PAP for.
You have a point but can I add this...Originally posted by charlize:Remember, they have not been brought up like obedient little Singaporeans who complain a lot about the government but will not take the extra steps to make changes.
Tell me why would they be grateful. If they were, they wouldn't be whining about NS.Originally posted by 00011000:The PR from China and India would be grateful to the PAP. We can't deny it, we see them everywhere now.
Haha...you mentioned a good one - NS. I, too, seriously wonder whether the PAP government can trap them like the way they trap us with NS.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Tell me why would they be grateful. If they were, they wouldn't be whining about NS.
SG's passport is sought after as a stepping stone. And once our new immigrants find out what goes on in our domestic politics, I'm not sure they will agree as well Remember, they are not that socialised and depoliticised to believe in the hype of the ideology of the PAP lor.
That's because between the Europeans and Americans, the Chinese in China are happy to have their lunches taken from them from a Govt which has no compunction sending a fleet of tanks to crush their citizens. I would hardly use them as a benchmark for anything with regard to democracy or anything to do with proper governance.Originally posted by 00011000:Haha...you mentioned a good one - NS. I, too, seriously wonder whether the PAP government can trap them like the way they trap us with NS.
Agreed. Sg's passport is a stepping stone. Previlege for them.
All the points you mentioned are all working in the PR favour. They may not have anything to be grateful for but they are also free from many of the trapping of singaporean. They may not have as many issues against the govt, see.