Totally agree to your above mentioned. But i guess give them some time. They are human being too. Look on the bright side. As compared to other country, they are doing their fair share. Not that i speak for any... but human beings tend to look for what they have not done as compared to what they did for us. Its in our blood. At least you differ from most.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:I blame the government for their lack of proper welfare for the elderly. But the amount of homelessness in Singapore compared to other countries is well...not very high. You don't see many homeless people in Singapore.
Originally posted by googoomuck:If $46m is 0.13 percent of the total government expenditure or 0.022 percent of GDP, why not use it to home and feed these homeless, destitute or starving old folks? IÂ’m sure they have no more ambitions or goals for their future.
Just food and shelter and medical care will make them contented.
Pls PAP, let these old folks live out their remaining lives with dignity.
Wow, since you are so concerned, you should print these out and guide those poor old people to the correct government funded institutions so that they may live out the rest of their lives with dignity: http://www.ics.com.sg/Nursing_Home.aspOriginally posted by tigersushi:I saw a very sad scene on my way home. Saw this old man in his 60s who stuck his head into a dustbin. Moments later, i saw him stretch his hand into the bin and happily dug out used drink cans. Then he looked at the dustbin metal ring where smokers snub their cigarettes;and lighted up some used cigarette stumps to smoke the remaining nicotine in it.
this scene repeats itself everyday, be it at hawker centres or bus interchanges. It seems there are so many poor elder folks around.Mr. PM sir, i certainly hope your donated salary could help these old folks and liberate them from living such an inhumane life of digging into dustbins to sell used drinks for scrape metal. thank you sir.
Originally posted by kecang_puteh:Please do not despair, people, for there are many government funded organisations on hand to help. The government doesn't want to give out money to the population because it will be open to abuse. Can you imagine if the son of that old man were to prey on his lack of knowledge and steal his government cash handouts instead? But the use of government or privately funded organisations will discount such a possiblity.
Neither does the government want to give money to the unemployed because people will then laze around and refuse to get jobs. There will also be people who will take advantage of the system, as can be seen from welfare states like Australia or the US. So there.
So is workfare not open to abuse? Is lack of minimum pay not open to abuse? Why is the government giving naive reason to retain minimum sum in CPF? Is there 100% employment in Singapore? How many people have jumped onto the MRT track?Originally posted by kecang_puteh:Please do not despair, people, for there are many government funded organisations on hand to help. The government doesn't want to give out money to the population because it will be open to abuse. Can you imagine if the son of that old man were to prey on his lack of knowledge and steal his government cash handouts instead? But the use of government or privately funded organisations will discount such a possiblity.
Neither does the government want to give money to the unemployed because people will then laze around and refuse to get jobs. There will also be people who will take advantage of the system, as can be seen from welfare states like Australia or the US. So there.
Does Singapore have workfare? Do you understand the economics of minimum pay? What is the naive reason? Which country has 100% employment?Originally posted by chiabaliao:So is workfare not open to abuse? Is lack of minimum pay not open to abuse? Why is the government giving naive reason to retain minimum sum in CPF? Is there 100% employment in Singapore? How many people have jumped onto the MRT track?
I think the NKF trial is only a showOriginally posted by robertteh:Thanks for your pleasantry and greetings but I am no sirs or aristocrat. I am you and them an ordinary citizen who does not want to see our country being run by hypocrisy.
So I give my views and even though I know that they will not listen, I still give my views. Hopefully, one day more and more people will come to know the facts and all the wrong doings and that will serve as the greatest logic or pressure to compel a change.
NKF is a good example. When facts are clear and enough people come to know what they are doing are wrong, they would act.
Correct, NKF is a show which the leaders have to stage to get themselves off the hook.Originally posted by crimson soldier:I think the NKF trial is only a show![]()
It may be, but we cant hae the both world pal. We cant take the minority as compared to the majority. There may not be 100% employment rate in singapore. But we cant blame the gov totally. There are people out there really dun want to fnd something. Minimum rejection from the civil sector, their pride and ego resulted them to give up finding. Anything is better off then nothing.Originally posted by chiabaliao:So is workfare not open to abuse? Is lack of minimum pay not open to abuse? Why is the government giving naive reason to retain minimum sum in CPF? Is there 100% employment in Singapore? How many people have jumped onto the MRT track?
That is another revenue of income. Sort of beign convience by you. But don't be bother by all these. They work their way up and that is the advantage of being a Gov. Well all we can say is too bad and we are here talking and not the parliment.Originally posted by robertteh:Correct, NKF is a show which the leaders have to stage to get themselves off the hook.
When the whistle blowers blew the whistles the minister in charge, and the Regulatory Authority (just imagine these people are paid to do just this kind of job) should have been held accountable by ex-PM Goh and should have taken actions and queried the First Class Air travels using donation monies meant for dying patients but they did nothing.
Now they are still saying that they are the talents who need to be retained with even higher salaries (about 4 peanuts pa) or higher salaries and 6-8 months bonuses themselves.
They can do so without feeling any guilt but when it comes to public outrage, they themselves are not indictable for the same excesses or abuses.
Originally posted by tigersushi:Thank you all for the insightful discussion. There are a few valid points made. Primarily, others have pointed out that it is a deliberate move by the Government to make public assistance money hard to obtain so that it deters would-be loafers who do ant work and relay on payouts. And I guess the most noteworthy comment I read was someone which urged us to donate our used cans to these elder folks instead of sending them to NEA.
I concur with the view that though public or private charitable assistance are aplenty, it is very hard to convince the old folks be it that they may be illiterate or they find it insulting to beg for money. Worst of all, they are unaware of such assistance programs. I guess the outcome of this topic is for us to, brainstorm, generate and devise feasible plans to help these folks; then I will submit these solutions to MCYS.
To start the ball rolling, I will suggest a few solutions:
1)Deploying dialect speaking social workers to bus interchanges to approach these elder folks to inform them of such public assistance plans
Already in practice, social service department most staff can speak more than one dialect, also Malay speaking, Tamil speaking, even come across a PA beneficiary Shanghai speaking.
2)Regularly deploy Recycling firm contractors to buy up the cans collected by these elder folks by paying them at a higher premium
do not know what kind of arrangement Sembcorp waste with all or most of the town council.?
3)Tie-up with Local CDC, where the old folks could redeem say every 1kg of used drink cans for some Meal vouchers
most of the old Senior needy has provision shop @ their one room HDB flat. they weekly receive dry ration from various VWO's.
4)Rope in educational institutions, where say a cluster of 3-4 elder folks are granted exclusive access to the used drink cans in each school, considering the fact that daily consumption of canned drinks in school canteens are high daily.
school can drink not many la.
need 3m for what? to get elixir for himself and his family!Originally posted by tut4nkh4m3n:hai... what do they need 3m for man... esp lky, sian, he's so friggin old. he should sit back and enjoy life instead of poking his nose in all these gov affairs. but no one doubts his contributions to s'pore in the past of cos...
He's found a way to transport his wealth in this lifetime to the afterlife - that's why he's desperately amassing whatever wealth he can lay his hands on...Originally posted by pearlie27:need 3m for what? to get elixir for himself and his family!

Wait long longOriginally posted by robertteh:It is unbelievable that the leaders could still continue to talk about their leadership and talents.
Plainly with newspaper and TV media daily seen to be presenting ministers' speeches about the necessity to increase their own million-dollar salaries, people already feel that it is a case of hard-selling that backfire.
But the ministers cannot see this fact or truth. They continue to put up lots of cock-and-bull stories to show all their agencies and ministries as doing great works and being the world's bests.
They are now capping their claims with newer boasts - that Singapore is upgrading its governing system to stay connected to the globalized world and build a united country etc etc.
Last time they said they wanted to reach the Swiss standard of living and build an inclusive and kind society and ensure no one will be left behind.
Have they achieved these two earlier goals and how soon will people get back their lost jobs and their last pays even as ministers are increasing their own salaries by another million.
Instead we are seeing newer policies which hurt the ordinary citizens' pocket - GST is going up, double and triple charges by GLCs when assets and infrastructures were already paid by people under taxations.
Ministries after ministries and all statutory boards are profiteering with HDB charging on fees and rentals on lands and car parks already owned and priced with sale of flats. Medical costs are going up.
Show us the facts that ministers have the capability and talents to achieve these earlier goals talked about for years before releasing more newer goals and visions.
With proving themselves as people who could deliver their past goals, how can people believe them they will be able to generate new growth - and for who and whose benefits?
Will ministries, HDB, LTA, URA, Town Council and Power Supply stop profiteering through double charging through GLCs and give people value for monies in all the fees and taxes paid.
Will the property prices which are going up in the rich-man districts filter down to the commoners.
It looks like a case of power's being used to pass laws by legalistic wrangling to protect their own interests and self-image.
The worse is the media is totally controlled to report as they leaders like.
Without morality, without heart, it is of no use to talk about any plans or goals now. It looks like everything being done is to further their benefits, agendas, self-image and pride.
Do not accept defeat and give up. Keep posting your views and tell the truths and expose wrong doings and fighting for one's right. It may take time but as found in NKF when many people come together and know the truths they will get what they want.Originally posted by sunnytv:Wait long longWe may not be surprised that Govt has become Singapore Govt Inc. it slowly become Inc, when public transport, tv media, singtel, PUB become private and GST was first introduced to suck out more money out of Singaporeans.
It is their job to improved the economy, but when they make mistake, did they deduct their pay. for eg, they fail to increase birth rate and control charity corruption. Why they never mentioned and skip these topic and keep on pushing the blame to other and still asking for higher pay.
That's the spirit!Originally posted by robertteh:Do not accept defeat and give up. Keep posting your views and tell the truths and expose wrong doings and fighting for one's right. It may take time but as found in NKF when many people come together and know the truths they will get what they want.
Kacang puteh, youÂ’ve talk the talk. LetÂ’s walk the walk.Originally posted by kecang_puteh:Wow, since you are so concerned, you should print these out and guide those poor old people to the correct government funded institutions so that they may live out the rest of their lives with dignity: http://www.ics.com.sg/Nursing_Home.asp
http://www.ncss.org.sg/documents/IEN(C)%20Directory%20-%20(LATEST)%20240506.pdf
http://www.ics.com.sg/ics2006/ESN/ElderCareLocator.aspx