Originally posted by foxtrout8:
F-16... alemak if singapore will to aqquire another F16....i really dun know wat the govt is doing....using too much of the same weapon in ur inventory may be good for ur logistic....however...ha..easy to get pick of , if our enemy knows its weak point.....
Actually F16 Block 60 is nearly a new plane, new frame, new avionics and weapon delivery systems, new radar (APG-68 AESA), new engine, etc.
F-18......ha kana trap in US strange foreign sale policy.....this is commiting sucide
Other than Amraam, I think RSAF is well positioned to get some of the latest stuffs including the AESA radar. The other advantage of getting the super bugs is that the Super bugs are being developed into different variants, eg. the Electronic Jamming version, the Wild Weasel version, etc. Getting Super bugs *may* provide better value for money in longer terms if RSAF intended to expand the roles of the future fighter.
Gripen.....i must well get F-16 bk 60......in terms of agility...ATG, ATA mode it is about the same...somemore F-16 gain war credits..
I thought they are not even in the race,
Typhoon.......chio sia...impressive ATG and ATA mode.......dun have war credits...but being stated as the most advance Air combatant currently , besides the raptor....ok , must bear in mind that the Euros invest in the typhoon to counter the threat of the growing technologies of the russian counterpart......so by aqquiring the typhoon.....then if malaysia buys the Su-30...ha same story here right....
[quote]
I vote for typhoon and rafale...but more to typhoon due to it slightly advance technology.( sorry eh i did not state their statistic facts
, but i think u all should know......
I think it is hard to pit Typhoon against Rafale in terms of technology. They are equally matched if not Rafale actually beats Typhoon in terms of the following:
1. AESA radar (typhoon still on steered pulse-Doppler radar)
2. Rafale avionics are currently more advanced. Typhoon will catch up eventually though. Rafale will introduce integration of HMS before Typhoon. Other systems are comparable though, eg. MFDs, Voice Data Input, touch screen (only on Rafale I think), ECM/ESM (I believe Typhoon may be slightly ahead, but it really depends on if you are talking about the German or the British version), etc
3. Conformal Fuel Tank - flight tested on operational Rafales.
4. Engines - about the same. Rafale engines have gone through 3 round or 4th roung of uprating, to the current M88-3. Whereas the Typoons only got their EJ200 engines not too long ago. Most of the prototypes were running on RB199 or the GE F404s.
5. Stealth. The RCS of Rafale is debatably better than that of Typhoon. In fact, Dassault did a study to indicate that Rafale is second to Raptors in terms of RCS. Of course, one can counter claim that the study is done by Dassault and not the EADS consortium.
So, I think they pretty much match up well. No one should claim which plane is more advanced. The simple fact is that Typhoon is designed as air superiority fighter, well Rafale was designed as a multirole fighter. The whole design difference was the root reason for France to leave the ECP/EF2000 project.
If RSAF wants a dedicated Air Superiority fighter, by all means, go for Typhoon (provided we can be assured of Amraam integration and delievery when the Typhoons are delivered, what is the chances of that happening - anybody's guesses) . But if we a multirole or deep peneration strike aircraft, I think Rafales or the Super Bugs present better options. Even the Strike Eagles look better than Typhoon (pre Trenche3 of course).