maybe they asked lau lee... you pay the lawyers fees issit? and lau lee is like... ok next time I increase my salary to US$5 million then talk again...Originally posted by UandMe:lau Lee nv give order mah. if he barks, the rest of the gov will scramble to add their name in to sue the magazine.
but for wat, with Lee Senior & Junior's power combined, the rest of the people are redundent.
In the absence of independence between the Executive, Judiciary and Legislature, what fair trial could one reasonably expect when the interests of corrupt powers are concerned?Originally posted by robertteh:FEER's defence should be:
(1) Judiciary is appointed and their promotions and salary scales are decided by MM Lee/PM Lee - bias
(2) Chief Justice and senior judges are appointed by MM Lee/PM Lee with no possibility of objection by parliament or any one to such appointments - bias/
(3) Past cases of judges being transferred where politicians did not get the verdict or outcome to their desire weighed heavily on the mind of any presiding judges.
There is no chance FEER will get a fair hearing unless this case is heard independently in internal court.
If the above-stated critical issues over possibility of bias are not settled how on earth will FEER ever get a fair and objective hearing of what constitute justification, objective reporting, news and analysis and information of public interest and what constitute defamation.
By the fact that innuendos uttered are also deemed defamatory, how could FEER stand a chance in defence.
All the benchmarking of ministers' salaries are not based on objective apple-to-apple standard of comparison what more when it comes to making a decision like how judges are influenced by their paymaster and how to decide on intangible ill-defined subjective state of mind like justifications. fair comments, objective reporting and analysis to serve public interest, accountability and transparency of political process.
MMLee need not pay for legal fees. His wife IS a lawyer leh. Never heard of Lee & Lee meh?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:maybe they asked lau lee... you pay the lawyers fees issit? and lau lee is like... ok next time I increase my salary to US$5 million then talk again...
Just pull out of Singapore and refuse to circulate here. This is a civil matter, there is no criminal injunction forcing you to respond.Originally posted by airgrinder:dun know much abt law... if kana lawsuit can ignore one meh??
from now on all my posts will be in blue.
The FEER circulation here was already small, miniscule in fact. They already have an online magazine, so it might not be that terrible to simply close up shop here, and let people subscribe to the online edition.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:They ignore.. summary judgment... awarded US$1 billion... they say "up yours" and then what?
This is the no. 1 reason why Singapore has now evolved into an autocracy where everything done is done by one man and no one can disagree with what he says or does right or wrong.Originally posted by walesa:In the absence of independence between the Executive, Judiciary and Legislature, what fair trial could one reasonably expect when the interests of corrupt powers are concerned?
I am a gambling old man awaiting the opening of the IR & I'll place a bet on FEER losing (based on past track records). The odds will be 1:100 - any takers? .... oops! I forget no gambling permitted here - I'll withdraw my wager.Originally posted by Ito_^:i hope FEER wins.
It is like betting old man will step down at next ge. How to rise from the dead when all spirits are surrounding the grave.Originally posted by richong 3216:I am a gambling old man awaiting the opening of the IR & I'll place a bet on FEER losing (based on past track records). The odds will be 1:100 - any takers? .... oops! I forget no gambling permitted here - I'll withdraw my wager.
Betting old manOriginally posted by robertteh:It is like betting old man will step down at next ge. How to rise from the dead when all spirits are surrounding the grave.
This is endemic of all regimes run by tyrants and despots the world over, not just exclusive to this one. More importantly, perhaps, that's a vital oversight the British overlooked in their desperation to ensure its colonies did not fall into Communist hands amidst the frenzy decolonization movements in the Cold-War era that they were prepared to go so far as to allow anyone remotely non-communist rule its former territories.Originally posted by robertteh:This is the no. 1 reason why Singapore has now evolved into an autocracy where everything done is done by one man and no one can disagree with what he says or does right or wrong.
The outcome of the lawsuit does not matter, my friend... the fact that we are talking about them shows that they have won...Originally posted by Ito_^:i hope FEER wins.
Thanks for reply.Originally posted by reyes:same old story. The LEEs are at their best in sueing at any critics.
these family are indeed tyrant ruler.