a good try for a wannabe political analyst but these 2 factors will not be why india will surpass china.....china may be slow with its politics but india is not heading anywhere, openly corrupt ministers and politicians remain in power while china executes those who dare touch a dime or in this case, a yuan.Originally posted by drawer:They will definitely overtake China.There are 2 reasons:
1)China should have a political reforms before economical reform,just like Russia n Eastern Europe.Becoz all the problem arise from "Political first",there is no problem from the public structure at all!!!
It is just like if your hand feel painful,you dont go n apply medicine on your legs,it wont solve your problem.
2)China one child policy.This policy will deeply hurt China economical structure in future as more n more population will grow old n more youngs have to support older population.And also,the quality of their children wont be good as parents spoil their child due to one child policy.
Just like Singapore in the 70's n 80's,China are making a very bad decision to restrain their population growth through political enforcement.
This are the 2 reasons why India will win China in future......Sometimes i am just wondering,why our Chinese politicians are sooo lousy.Singapore PAP is like that,mainland China also like that,only Taiwan politicians are much better.Is it becoz of genes?
It is a case of contention between leadership system versus a practical institutionalised process democracy.Originally posted by countdracula:a good try for a wannabe political analyst but these 2 factors will not be why india will surpass china.....china may be slow with its politics but india is not heading anywhere, openly corrupt ministers and politicians remain in power while china executes those who dare touch a dime or in this case, a yuan.
the recent appointment of the foreign minister shows that chinese officials are now retiring younger. the new guy studied and worked in uk and us for decades. this shows they are getting better brains while india's powers are confined to a few family dynasties, including bollywood acting families.
the one child policy is not necessarily a bad one...poor indians are breeding like the livestocks they keep and resources are drained very rapidly. china are trying to produce quality workers while india seeks to export cheap labour.
i'm not sure where these 2 are really heading but the fact that no chinese are jumping into the yellow river while millions of indians are bathing in the toxic ganges despite knowing the perils tells me the former is for now streets ahead.
Have at least a little understandings of the countries, if you want to make comparison. Stop drinking the cheap alcohol, and maintain a clear mind on what you are comparing.Originally posted by drawer:They will definitely overtake China.There are 2 reasons:
1)China should have a political reforms before economical reform,just like Russia n Eastern Europe.Becoz all the problem arise from "Political first",there is no problem from the public structure at all!!!
It is just like if your hand feel painful,you dont go n apply medicine on your legs,it wont solve your problem.
2)China one child policy.This policy will deeply hurt China economical structure in future as more n more population will grow old n more youngs have to support older population.And also,the quality of their children wont be good as parents spoil their child due to one child policy.
Just like Singapore in the 70's n 80's,China are making a very bad decision to restrain their population growth through political enforcement.
This are the 2 reasons why India will win China in future......Sometimes i am just wondering,why our Chinese politicians are sooo lousy.Singapore PAP is like that,mainland China also like that,only Taiwan politicians are much better.Is it becoz of genes?
By NICHOLAS D. KRISTOF
The New York Times
April 24, 2007
KHAWASPUR, India
India is stirring after many centuries of torpor, and it has a chance of ending this century as the capital of the world, the most important nation on earth. You see up-and-coming cities like Hyderabad or Ahmedabad, and itÂ’s easy to believe that India will eventually surpass China.
So in the great race of this century, the race to see which country will lead the world in 2100, IÂ’m still betting on China for now. IÂ’m having my kids learn Chinese, not Hindi (or Indian English, a remarkable language in its own right).
Until IndiaÂ’s economic boom becomes much more broadly based, and until Indian schools manage to teach their students, this country will continue to waste its precious brainpower and wonÂ’t achieve a fraction of what it should.
x2Originally posted by hiphop2009:and Helloxsqmoto (i dunno how to spell his nickname.) will nt agree with u
some mushroom from oxford wont agree with u too lah..Originally posted by hiphop2009:and Helloxsqmoto (i dunno how to spell his nickname.) will nt agree with u
later he see this thread he go put up some un-resized china picture den sian liao.Originally posted by laurence82:x2![]()
I believe you are the one who is drinking cheap alcohol,you are stupid enough to take Philiphines as an example of economy failures to show your smartness.Dont you know Philipphines democracy comes only a few decades ago?In the 70's n 80's,it was ruled by the dictator Marcos.You expect Philiphines to become an advanced country overnight after it embrace democracy?What a joke man!!!!Originally posted by sgdiehard:Have at least a little understandings of the countries, if you want to make comparison. Stop drinking the cheap alcohol, and maintain a clear mind on what you are comparing.
India will overtake China in what, political reform, economic development, social integration, or total population?
India has been a democratic republic, with constitutions in place, since 1950. China has been a communist country since 1947, and since then its history was marked with one economic disaster after another, and countless political persecutions in between, until 1979. If the political system has not put India ahead of China today, what makes you think it will happen in the future?
Most people in China are glad that China did not go through political reform before economic reform, like the former Warsaw pact countries. Where are russia, the eastern european, comparing with the development in China? don't have to look so far, look at the Philippines, don't they have the exact American democratic political system? they ended up like india, the largest exporters of cheap labour in the region.
If you have a fever, don't just take paracetomol 500 mg, it only cures the symptom. Inflammatin of your throat may be cause. Find out what is the root of the problem, don't just treat the head because you feel the pain on your head.
I fully agree with you that one day, India will overtake China in term of population, no question about it. But will the quality of the children be better of than those in China, there is also no question about it, judging from what we see today.more cheap labour for export??
So if the Chinese politicians in Singapore are soo.....lousy, are the indian politicians better of ? lets hear some substantiations, before this turns out to be a mindless racist remark.
Well said.You know what,actually i also dont want to see India overtake China.But if China dont implement a political reform n abolish comunist ruling n one child policy,the chance of she winning India is slim.Originally posted by robertteh:It is a case of contention between leadership system versus a practical institutionalised process democracy.
In a leadership system, there are some benefits but in such a system, the leader in power might abuse his power and do things to benefit himself or the party using fear tactics or hypocrisy and there is nothing anyone can do to check such power especially through legalistic wrangling of laws and regulations where on the surface objective is one but in process the benefits go to the powerful and the elites in control of government.
A practical process democracy with a body of laws governing fair election, defining duties and responsibilities of government and leaders and civil servants is more sustainable in the long term.
China happened to have the good fortune of having Deng Xiao Peng as a leader once who while leading by example has left a certain informal system of transition and renewal which is now benefiting China with self-renewal truly being practised. To a certain extent its leadership approach is incorporating democratic processes. But if such processes are not institutionalised into the central governing constitutions they will also disappear over time should China encounter another self-centred leader.
Such a hybrid leadership cum process democracy being practised in China may not last because if they elected a wrong person who is power-crazed or self-centred all the good work will stop as such a leader could use excuses like meritocracy and other hypocrisy to bypass people's goals and aspirations and all the present good work with a fair degree of accountability to renewal process will disappear.
India by virtue of having a process democracy in place from the british days will be able to attract widespread accountable government involving the people with developing their best talents and knowledge application in the long term although in the short term they have to filter down processes to prevent corruptions and wrongful cronyism.
I know,thats why if in future India lose to China,it wont becoz of their democracy system,it will be their strange culture.Originally posted by sunny6110:If u notice... the growth of india is slowing down....
if india wanna take off... they needa hv one common language 1st...
for now... I see difficulties...
you haven't answer my question, dud, india has been a democracy since 1950, and if this has not put india ahead of China, a communist country, with greater pollultion and larger land area, what make you think they will ever overtake China?Originally posted by drawer:I believe you are the one who is drinking cheap alcohol,you are stupid enough to take Philiphines as an example of economy failures to show your smartness.Dont you know Philipphines democracy comes only a few decades ago?In the 70's n 80's,it was ruled by the dictator Marcos.You expect Philiphines to become an advanced country overnight after it embrace democracy?What a joke man!!!!
Let me remind you something,for a country to obtain economy achievement,it takes time,you wont become advanced country overnight.Especially big country like India n Philipphines,they need more time to obtain economical n military achievement.You think what,every countries is like Singapore so small n geographically well situated ,thats why we achieve economical goal so early.![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Have at least a little understandings of the countries, if you want to make comparison. Stop drinking the cheap alcohol, and maintain a clear mind on what you are comparing.
India will overtake China in what, political reform, economic development, social integration, or total population?
India has been a democratic republic, with constitutions in place, since 1950. China has been a communist country since 1947, and since then its history was marked with one economic disaster after another, and countless political persecutions in between, until 1979. If the political system has not put India ahead of China today, what makes you think it will happen in the future?
Most people in China are glad that China did not go through political reform before economic reform, like the former Warsaw pact countries. Where are russia, the eastern european, comparing with the development in China? don't have to look so far, look at the Philippines, don't they have the exact American democratic political system? they ended up like india, the largest exporters of cheap labour in the region.
If you have a fever, don't just take paracetomol 500 mg, it only cures the symptom. Inflammatin of your throat may be cause. Find out what is the root of the problem, don't just treat the head because you feel the pain on your head.
I fully agree with you that one day, India will overtake China in term of population, no question about it. But will the quality of the children be better of than those in China, there is also no question about it, judging from what we see today.more cheap labour for export??
So if the Chinese politicians in Singapore are soo.....lousy, are the indian politicians better of ? lets hear some substantiations, before this turns out to be a mindless racist remark.