NO!!!Originally posted by Rock^Star:Myanmar has Aung San Suu Kyi, India has Gandhi.
Can Singapore proclaim to have Chee Soon Juan?
Why? How is he different from the rest?Originally posted by Hogzilla:NO!!!
Hell NO!!!
x2Originally posted by mhcampboy:I want Mr Chiam
no no.Originally posted by Rock^Star:But he has done so much for democracy for Singaporeans (or has he?). And he campaigns for free speech and brings up the shortcomings of our govt in his books and speeches.
Doesn't he deserve to be ranked amongs the Mandelas and Gandhis?
If only he's as serious like the opposition.Originally posted by Rock^Star:But he has done so much for democracy for Singaporeans (or has he?). And he campaigns for free speech and brings up the shortcomings of our govt in his books and speeches.
pls lah.. he deserve to be ranked together with steven lim and xia xue lah.....even steven lim is more yandao than him lor ( knn i never thought i will ever say that)Originally posted by Rock^Star:But he has done so much for democracy for Singaporeans (or has he?). And he campaigns for free speech and brings up the shortcomings of our govt in his books and speeches.
Out of so many, I only heard of India Gandhi.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Myanmar has Aung San Suu Kyi, India has Gandhi.
That's alright, try to wikipedia them. These are very interesting characters.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Out of so many, I only heard of India Gandhi.![]()
The difference between the Mandelas, Ghandhis, Walesas and Chee is the end-product.Originally posted by Rock^Star:But he has done so much for democracy for Singaporeans (or has he?). And he campaigns for free speech and brings up the shortcomings of our govt in his books and speeches.
That, in truth, is a problem with this society indeed. For all the first-worldness about this place, you'd be appalled to learn how some folks actually believe everything this regime's mouthpieces churn out...Originally posted by spinsugar:I daresay most who dismiss Chee as a clown have not listened to his speeches, been at his rallies or read his books. One would be surprised if only they bothered to scratch the surface.
The government has done a very good job at portraying Chee as a madman in the media. It doesn't help that Chee is more of an activist than a politician.. neither does he have a good camera face, and that makes it easy to take unflattering photos of him.
i agreeOriginally posted by spinsugar:I daresay most who dismiss Chee as a clown have not listened to his speeches, been at his rallies or read his books. One would be surprised if only they bothered to scratch the surface.
The government has done a very good job at portraying Chee as a madman in the media. It doesn't help that Chee is more of an activist than a politician.. neither does he have a good camera face, and that makes it easy to take unflattering photos of him.
If you must mock my statement in the other thread, and grind CSJ into the dust, at least have some sense of decency and respect to know something from History that characterised the struggles of those names you have mentioned in this thread and in your opening statement.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Myanmar has Aung San Suu Kyi, India has Gandhi.