Somehow, I feel your definition of character is wrong. You explain why something is wrong with reasons - sounds more like moral education.Originally posted by january:first, the teacher must be wise. some parents only have a skill or two.
how can parents teach their children well when they cannot answer even their own problems in life.
character is teachable for sure. you explain to a boy why he should behave in a certain manner with reasons and explanation , not by force and punishments and rules.
morality is a study of ethics which is philosophy question. go read up more.
ancient people have been questioning things deeply unlike modern people who just argue with no clear reasonings and well thought arguments.
Don't insult the great man who uttered that quote - JFK has far more integrity, compassion and a far superior intellect to what this fascist had, has or ever will possess...Originally posted by soul_rage:I think LKY once made a reference to the statement
"Ask not what a nation can do for you, but what you can do for the nation"
Essentially, that means to me, that I should work like a slave without complaints to support the ridiculous (and stupid) high pay of the ministers.
Patriotism is an innate thing in the free world - and that's because its citizens view themselves as having a stake in their country (just like shareholders in corporate firms). It's no coincidence patriotism is either non-existent or exists mainly in a misguided form in rogue regimes, is it?Originally posted by Coquitlam:That is why character building is so pathetic and inferior, compared to China, India or even Europe....
I urge all who can to migrate...no point staying in this little piece of red rock
He's exercising his right to freedom of expression. You could advocate more foreigners to up stick and settle in Singapore too if you so wish...Originally posted by Gazelle:If it is freedom of choice, then why do you have to keep bugging Singaporeans to leave Singapore? Are you trying to say that you are smarter than singaporeans living in Singapore and we need your advice us how to make our own decision for our own future?
Metaphorical wrote:People and SIA pilots unlike ministers cannot benchmark salaries to ask for increments by 30% but ministers and MPs are special and can do so.
Normal job of course can outsourcing lah! Ministers & grassroot jobs how can outsourcing? If outsourcing ministers & grassroot jobs then you also can say outsource sg name lor! Simple as that!
I find the novel "Animal Farm" is still so relevant after so many yearsOriginally posted by robertteh:People and SIA pilots unlike ministers cannot benchmark salaries to ask for increments by 30% but ministers and MPs are special and can do so.
How to convince people with this kind of "simple as that" explanations.
People can be outsourced to the bangalore call centre, how about thinking of ways and means to get bangalore to outsource their call centres to our more advanced call centres. Ever think of such reverse outsourcing which will add values to our citizens' salaries.
But for some reason ministers are unable up to now to explain why citizens are being advised to outsource their rice bowls but ministers and MPs are different ?
How can't they explain their policies properly in greater details to convince people of their being different. If they still cannot explain this discrimination or double standard, how are they going to govern or lead the citizens and ask them to sacrifice more and more after 40 years' of continuing sacrifices.
How do the ministers expect citizens to keep quiet and not scold the government. Must scolding be proper like "half scold and half praise" scolding ?
Metaphorical wrote:Of course they can be bought by monies for after all our ministers too are benchmarking themselves to the few lucky lottery winning CEOs in the private sector.
Call sg citizens return back easy lah, money only what! Give them $20k tax rebate just like work mother benefit allowance for 5 yr, I tell you, they all sure one by one run back sg!
Only problem is you all really want all this unloyal citizens come back or not? At least FT more loyal than them, they come sg work for we all after the unloyal sg citizens migrate oversea. so who better?
Originally posted by hloc:If some or many parents don't know how to teach their children,can the school help?
This i agree...... nowadays parent seems to balme everyone else for their inability to 'teach' and look after their own children.
Yes.... i know that most couple both have jobs inorder to support a family.... but it is still your [b]OWN RESPONSIBLITY to teach your own kid..... not the maid or the school teacher......... ''Ooh..... but i tried after work''...... seems to be the best excuse to give when the kid became a little terror. [/b]