Originally posted by Rock^Star:There are rascists in any country the world over, not just Singapore.
Just because one has been affected by some does not mean that all are rascists.
You're just unlucky![]()
Don't be too disheartened by negative remarks thrown at your countrymen.Originally posted by dreameryb:Oh, don't get me wrong. I did not have any unpleasant encounters with discrimination when I was in SG. In fact, should one dare to say in my face even the slightest demeaning things about me and my country, that person will regret it...
I am just pointing out a problem that exists here.
Hey bro., you know my stand towards PRCs, but I am not taking part in this thread and I am holding my tongue so to speak. I find there's something else about this thread...Originally posted by allentyb:that dumb PRICK, 02tonyl, TALKS ABOUT OUR HISTORY
SO i GIVE HIM A REMINDER OF WHAT HIS COUNTRY IS MAKE OF!
I DON'T HATE CHINA AS A COUNTRY, BUT IT IS THOSE RUDE PRICK WHO IS MAKING THE GOOD NAME OF CHINA, IN SHAME
An angmoh onced told me, "I travelled in Asia extensively and I think I understand Chinese well, I understand the cantonese, the hokkien, the mandarin...." I said "wrong, if you want to know the difference in Chinese, it is better to look into groups like PRC Chinese, Taiwanese Chinese, HK/Macau Chinese, and the SEA Chinese, such as Singaporean Chinese." Afterall, Chinese is too numerous to be look as one entity.Originally posted by dreameryb:I will just address a few of the responses in this thread. I shall refrain from engaging with certain foul-mouthed imbeciles who are not capable of rational thinking. There is no need to reduce oneself to the level of such low life.
There is this argument that Chinese nationals go to Singapore and expect unconditional acceptance due to ethnic affinity. This is an interesting but ultimately unconvincing argument without factual substantiation. I would like to know in what form this thinking is instantiated among Chinese nationals. Who are the Chinese nationals that demand VIP treatment in Singapore simply because they are Chinese? If anything, we know better than anybody else that there is no free lunch in this world. With a big population base, one has to work hard to earn a livelihood. Certainly the same attitude applies when one is relocated to a different land. For most Chinese nationals, we earn our own keep in China or overseas. To say that we demand special treatment in a foreign country because of shared ancestry is an obscene misrepresentation of facts.
But if there is one thing anybody expects when arriving in a foreign country, it is the basic level of respect and the absence of discrimination. If that is too much to ask, then it is a sorry state of affairs in your country.
There seems to be a prevalent sentiment that every Chinese national is bad until proven otherwise. This is why some lunatics sprout toxic and illogical rantings against China and Chinese nationals. I wish to put this question to some of you: Is this the right attitude? Is there a justification in discriminating against an individual based on one's nationality? Is there justification of discrimination in any form in this enlightened era we are living in? Is it rational to see an individual through tainted lenses and form pre-conceived opinions of him/her before you even get to know that individual?
There is a difference between fair criticism and sheer bias. There is a dearth of the former and the latter abounds in your society with respect to Chinese nationals. My friend, a decent female professional, has more than once been asked by Singaporeans if she engages in dubious trade .Imagine her frustration. Is there rhyme or reason to assume that most Chinese women engage in dubious trade? Yet, that kind of twisted thinking seems to prevail amongst a sizeable proportion of your country. It betrays a very superficial level of thinking that refuses to see things beyond their surface. It is this kind of thinking which projects the impression that you have a narrow mind-set.
I accept fair criticisms. I do believe that many Chinese nationals are not considerate enough. Some complain about noise from basketball playing late at night. Maybe you could approach them and reason with them. I am sure they will understand and refrain from doing the same in future. There is an importance in building dialogue. Once you do, you will see that people are not who you think they are. We are not monsters. We are capable of thinking in other peopleÂ’s shoe.
As I said, I accept fair criticisms. But once they degenerate into sheer hostile bashing, which abounds here, I will feel compelled to stand up and point out the stupidity and unfairness.
Lastly, there is an amusing reply demanding that I leave. I merely pointed out a problem that exists in your society. And I think it is a real problem which deserves attention and healthy debates. Some of you seem so eager to bury your head in the sand and refuse to acknowledge it and try to stifle me by asking me to leave. You are living in a fancy world where everybody must agree with you and different voices are not allowed. Escapism is not the solution to problems. It just saves more trouble for your own future.
On an unrelated note, I am now in the US. I could almost hear some of you heaving a sigh of relief nowÂ….
Good luck, proud Singaporean!
This is classic example of the proud singaporean mentality on PRC chinese.Originally posted by reyes:[b]you had earn SGD and that you had successfully use singaporean as a springboard to america.
dreameryb,Originally posted by dreameryb:I will just address a few of the responses in this thread. I shall refrain from engaging with certain foul-mouthed imbeciles who are not capable of rational thinking. There is no need to reduce oneself to the level of such low life.
There is this argument that Chinese nationals go to Singapore and expect unconditional acceptance due to ethnic affinity. This is an interesting but ultimately unconvincing argument without factual substantiation. I would like to know in what form this thinking is instantiated among Chinese nationals. Who are the Chinese nationals that demand VIP treatment in Singapore simply because they are Chinese? If anything, we know better than anybody else that there is no free lunch in this world. With a big population base, one has to work hard to earn a livelihood. Certainly the same attitude applies when one is relocated to a different land. For most Chinese nationals, we earn our own keep in China or overseas. To say that we demand special treatment in a foreign country because of shared ancestry is an obscene misrepresentation of facts.
But if there is one thing anybody expects when arriving in a foreign country, it is the basic level of respect and the absence of discrimination. If that is too much to ask, then it is a sorry state of affairs in your country.
There seems to be a prevalent sentiment that every Chinese national is bad until proven otherwise. This is why some lunatics sprout toxic and illogical rantings against China and Chinese nationals. I wish to put this question to some of you: Is this the right attitude? Is there a justification in discriminating against an individual based on one's nationality? Is there justification of discrimination in any form in this enlightened era we are living in? Is it rational to see an individual through tainted lenses and form pre-conceived opinions of him/her before you even get to know that individual?
There is a difference between fair criticism and sheer bias. There is a dearth of the former and the latter abounds in your society with respect to Chinese nationals. My friend, a decent female professional, has more than once been asked by Singaporeans if she engages in dubious trade .Imagine her frustration. Is there rhyme or reason to assume that most Chinese women engage in dubious trade? Yet, that kind of twisted thinking seems to prevail amongst a sizeable proportion of your country. It betrays a very superficial level of thinking that refuses to see things beyond their surface. It is this kind of thinking which projects the impression that you have a narrow mind-set.
I accept fair criticisms. I do believe that many Chinese nationals are not considerate enough. Some complain about noise from basketball playing late at night. Maybe you could approach them and reason with them. I am sure they will understand and refrain from doing the same in future. There is an importance in building dialogue. Once you do, you will see that people are not who you think they are. We are not monsters. We are capable of thinking in other peopleÂ’s shoe.
As I said, I accept fair criticisms. But once they degenerate into sheer hostile bashing, which abounds here, I will feel compelled to stand up and point out the stupidity and unfairness.
Lastly, there is an amusing reply demanding that I leave. I merely pointed out a problem that exists in your society. And I think it is a real problem which deserves attention and healthy debates. Some of you seem so eager to bury your head in the sand and refuse to acknowledge it and try to stifle me by asking me to leave. You are living in a fancy world where everybody must agree with you and different voices are not allowed. Escapism is not the solution to problems. It just saves more trouble for your own future.
On an unrelated note, I am now in the US. I could almost hear some of you heaving a sigh of relief nowÂ….
Dreameryb - the problem is there why, because it is you who are having problem with it yourself !!!Originally posted by dreameryb:Oh, don't get me wrong. I did not have any unpleasant encounters with discrimination when I was in SG. In fact, should one dare to say in my face even the slightest demeaning things about me and my country, that person will regret it...
I am just pointing out a problem that exists here.
wow, that sounds very scary!Originally posted by dreameryb:In fact, should one dare to say in my face even the slightest demeaning things about me and my country, that person will regret it...
Thks for ur articulated comment , crackpot ... U have pinpointed the bad qualities of us singaporeans but failed to do so for ur countrymen ...I think ur country have a serious problem too...And that problem is u guys being so annoying ... Little wonder countries like HK doesn't like PRCs too...Originally posted by dreameryb:I will just address a few of the responses in this thread. I shall refrain from engaging with certain foul-mouthed imbeciles who are not capable of rational thinking. There is no need to reduce oneself to the level of such low life.
well little one, guess we two leave such deep impression on ya that you'd remembered us always.Originally posted by rane:agree, and such people are sheepo whatever and that slipshades. Think these two are clones.
Finally you posted.Originally posted by dreameryb:I will just address a few of the responses in this thread. I shall refrain from engaging with certain foul-mouthed imbeciles who are not capable of rational thinking. There is no need to reduce oneself to the level of such low life.
There is this argument that Chinese nationals go to Singapore and expect unconditional acceptance due to ethnic affinity. This is an interesting but ultimately unconvincing argument without factual substantiation.While I'm not sure the facts out there, coming from personal experience, this does happen. I've only encountered it once. I'm not a good arguer, so it doesn't make sense to argue with her, and I just let it go. That experience is pretty nice though, despite being ugly. It shows some ethnic affinity between us and them.
But if there is one thing anybody expects when arriving in a foreign country, it is the basic level of respect and the absence of discrimination. If that is too much to ask, then it is a sorry state of affairs in your country.This probably won't happen. As long as a place is inhabited by humans, some forms of discrimination will occur. This is to due to cultures and stereotypes. If one doesn't fit in, one will be subjected to discrimination. While not all people behave this way, the few bad ones leave a bad enough impression.
There seems to be a prevalent sentiment that every Chinese national is bad until proven otherwise.What applies to majority doesn't apply to minority. Personally, I believed otherwise. Unless I've encountered the bad, I refuse to believe that a person is really bad.
Is there rhyme or reason to assume that most Chinese women engage in dubious trade? Yet, that kind of twisted thinking seems to prevail amongst a sizeable proportion of your country. It betrays a very superficial level of thinking that refuses to see things beyond their surface. It is this kind of thinking which projects the impression that you have a narrow mind-set.What gives you this idea? Most Chinese women are decent enough, although sometimes the clothes they wear don't hint that. Some are real skimpy.
Read the fifth paragraph from the bottom...Originally posted by Trump_Card:Thks for ur articulated comment , crackpot ... U have pinpointed the bad qualities of us singaporeans but failed to do so for ur countrymen ...I think ur country have a serious problem too...And that problem is u guys being so annoying ... Little wonder countries like HK doesn't like PRCs too...
Yeah only Singaporean in this whole wide world knows Chim england! This is the f***ed up attitude i'm talking about.Originally posted by Texcoco II:Chim england sia, from a PRC
Let's all give this a rest shall we.Originally posted by footprints:Yeah only Singaporean in this whole wide world knows Chim england! This is the f***ed up attitude i'm talking about.![]()
knn ... PRCs not considerate being one issue ,wat others he/she never pointed out? Does he/she realises the fact that china forums are bashing singaporeans too? Theres no rationality in their issues with singapore too godammit ... So its onli reasonable we bashed them the same way...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Read the fifth paragraph from the bottom...
dreameryb did mention that some Chinese nationals aren't considerate enough, as per the issues brought up by rane.