i was more incline to put the french and the Brit.Originally posted by charlize:The americans and the canadians always had this disdain for each other too.
What's new?
Wasn't your impression that Singaporeans thought "Singaporean in this whole wide world knows Chim English" a case of sheer biasness on your part? Sounds like the pot calling the kettle back.Originally posted by footprints:Yeah only Singaporean in this whole wide world knows Chim england! This is the f***ed up attitude i'm talking about.![]()
By labeling Singaporeans as being a "a people with a lop-sided and biased mind-set", xenophobic and essentially napoleon, aren't you putting forward certain stereotypes of your own?Originally posted by dreameryb:My friend once commented that Singaporeans are generally narrow-minded and ignorant, which I quickly dismissed as a gross generalization. She had a theory though: the temperament and character of a people is determined by the land where they are raised. In this regard, she makes a link between the limited geography of Singapore and the small-mindedness and pettiness of Singaporeans. I was skeptical of this “theory” for some time until I decided to venture into a Singapore on-line community. Here it seems that her theory has found some proof.
Hardly a single day goes by without somebody here making an effort to slight and sneer at China and Chinese nationals. Many comments are full of sheer prejudice and animosity towards my country. I need to remind some Singaporeans that bigotry and prejudice is a reflection of oneÂ’s social standing and upbringing. Studies have repeatedly proved that it is people from the lowest stratum of society in educational background and economic viability that are prone to harbor discrimination and prejudice. The hostile comments here therefore say a lot about the social standing of their posters.
I believe that some issues related to Chinese nationals are real to some extent, for example the manners of some Chinese persons, but not anywhere close to magnitude implied in some of the twisted accounts being offered here. I hardly see any of my fellow countrymen spit nowadays in major cities. On the contrary, I have witnessesed middle-aged Singaporean men spit on the street. Most of my friends are soft-spoken. On the contrary, those loud talkers on MRT trains are mainly Singaporean students, as my own observation attested. Another twisted argument I have encountered here is that we canÂ’t tolerate our own people such that we have to kill other Chinese nationals in Singapore, based on a few homicidal cases. Those who pursue this line of reasoning please first have your brains checked, as the level of retardedness they exhibit is appalling. Second, be reminded of the murder incident committed by your own people against your own countrymen in Australia and elsewhere.
The logic that prevails in some individuals here generally, is that whenever a Chinese national is seen spitting or talking loud, or committing murder, the same trait must also exist in the rest of the Chinese nationals. The same unpalatable behaviour, when witnessed in a Singaporean, is only seen as individual problem. Exactly the same incident is interpreted in different ways. Why is it so? The answer is simply that some of you are not capable of objective thinking. It seems to be a general problem amongst some of your people. It if persists, it bodes ill for your future. After all, what can we expect from a people with a lop-sided and biased mind-set?
In any case, enthusiastic China-bashers here need to examine their own behaviour before pointing fingers at us. Remember that members from a truly civilized society do not sneer at another society. Bear in mind the basic axiom that one disgraces oneself by talking ill of others. If anything counts as bad behavior in the 21st century, it is the alarming level of ignorance, xenophobia and retardedness displayed by some of the posters here.
But that is not the only reason why I am posting this. I am also interested in exploring why some Singaporeans are fond of bashing China. I think it may have to do with a pathological sense of inferiority as a citizen of a small country. Singaporeans know very well that their country has little chance of wielding substantial influence in the world stage. On the other hand, China is making huge progress on all fronts and looks set to becoming a major player in the world. The rapid metamorphoses China is undergoing and the rise of country as a whole has struck fear and bitterness among some Singaporeans who are too tiny-brained to comprehend world dynamics. In an eagerness to assert their own presence and for fear of being overshadowed by China, these people have resorted to China bashing to achieve a delusional sense of psychological balance. This is essentially reflective of the Napoleon syndrome that afflicts many of your people.
In this era defined by inter-dependence of countries, one really cannot afford to be close-minded and xenophobic. For a country like Singapore, the toxic attitude some of your countrymen displays towards foreigners is not healthy to your own development. It is very dangerous indeed for people of small countries to have tinier hearts.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:An angmoh onced told me, "I travelled in Asia extensively and I think I understand Chinese well, I understand the cantonese, the hokkien, the mandarin...." I said "wrong, if you want to know the difference in Chinese, it is better to look into groups like PRC Chinese, Taiwanese Chinese, HK/Macau Chinese, and the SEA Chinese, such as Singaporean Chinese." Afterall, Chinese is too numerous to be look as one entity.
When you look at the Chinese in PRC, there are the Beijing Chinese, the Shanghainese, the southerners, the northerners. In Taiwan, you have the 'ben shen ren' and the ' wai shen ren', and when you look the Singaporean, what do you find? can you tell the difference between the Chinese educated, the english educated and the "neither hear nor there" educated Chinese? There are big differences in their attitude and their outlook.
So, the China bashers you mentioned here do not represent Singaporean, not even the majority!
If you look at the people in this forum, where most would bash PAP, if they truely represent the majority singaporean, then PAP should never be in power. I am not surprised many kao pe kao bu here but still vote for PAP (i vote for WP), like many who bash PRC Chinese here, but when they meet their PRC Chinese senior in China, you won't find them speaking anything similar.
You must understand that China has developed very fast, PRC Chinese are flooding everywhere like never before, and among you, there are the good, the bad and the ugly! What then is the overall impression of PRC Chinese that has developed in the mind of Singaporean? Besides newspapers report, many of us have personal interaction with many of you, in and out of China.
In as much as many singaporeans need to get out and meet the world, many singaporeans should learn proper Chinese, and other languages to understand other people, there are as much corrections the PRC Chinese need to do to correct the wrong impressions that PRC, the country and the people presented to outsiders, since the cultural revolution.
PRC were 40 years behind the world outside during the cultural revolution, you progressed very much and caught up much of the development in hardware, but in software, sad to say, due to the large chinese population, still a lot need to be done. I still saw a PRC Chinese, wearing branded suit, carrying brief case, spitting on the marble, or granite floor inside the Beijing Airport building, in Jan this year. Toilets is still an experience for most of our ladies when travelling in China (though it has improved siginificantly over the years), and many singaporeans who visit their home town in China are still expected to bring in money to distribute to everybody.
Talking about PRC Chinese in Singapore, we have the general workers, the businessmen, the students, the peidu mama, the professionals, plus tens of thousands of you here on social visits, you don't and you can't present a collective impressions, often this is at the mercy of the media. It was only a while ago when the news about PRC in Singapore was only about peidu mama engaged in undesirable activities, and in the Universities, I saw many of you just keep to yourself instead of mixing around. People who only visit geylang will only remember the prostitutes, but there are also singapore who travel to china to look for wives. While many are bashing PRC Chinese here, there are also thousands of Singaporeans who packed the auditorium to listen to Prof YuDan on "YuDan Lun Yu xin de".
It is not about being biased, just different people see different things.
I would be happy if you chose to stay in Singapore, but since you leave, you are no different from many of those singaporeans, born and brought up here, but chose to migrate and then come online to bash everything, from the government, to the policies...... and the PRC people living in this country. Why you don't stay here and make a difference? Goh CT called you people quitter, and I know now quitters are not confined to those born and brought up in singapore only.
If everything and everybody was hunky dory with each other, we'll be living in a world filled with Monchichis and Care Bears.Originally posted by Arapahoe:i was more incline to put the french and the Brit.
Originally posted by footprints:dreameryb,
I think your statements are very fair and well written. How long did you live in singapore? Your style of writing hints of the singaporean flavour...
Anyways, i'm glad you've never encountered any of the problems personally. Perhaps these social problems are not as widespread as we thought.
Criticisms aside, i'm sure you must have dealt with many singaporeans on a personal level before, whats your impression?
Originally posted by Trump_Card:knn ... PRCs not considerate being one issue ,wat others he/she never pointed out? Does he/she realises the fact that china forums are bashing singaporeans too? Theres no rationality in their issues with singapore too godammit ... So its onli reasonable we bashed them the same way...
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=254276Originally posted by dreameryb:I do not know where you got the impression that China forums bash Singaporeans. Even if it were the case, which I highly doubt, is low level tit-for-tat the way to go? Singapore has been trying to project the image of being a civilized and gracious society, shouldn't its citizens start to embrace those values?
LOL... was just about to do that....Originally posted by allentyb:http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=254276
http://tomorrow.sg/archives/2006/05/24/a_forum_of_china_chinese_angered.html
pot calling kettle black again
hey dreameryb, do you need me to google more, so that you would just quit whining, and move on
Originally posted by rmyfrm:
I for one have grown pretty sick and tired of responding to this pointless thread.
I would just like to clarify one thing.
By asking you (and other PRCs to leave), I'm not avoiding the topic; rather, I'm proposing the most straightforward solution to everyone's problems (well, to those who have problems at least), and this solution works and applies to namely:-
[b]1) For the PRC who is over-demanding and full of complaints2) For the Singaporean who is demeaning and equally full of complaints
Clearly for the PRCs who are fine in Singapore (as for those Singaporeans fine with PRCs being in Singapore), there is no reason to leave.
And quite frankly, now that you're in the US and I assume have found greener pastures, there is no need to stir up any debate or argument. If you are genuinely concerned about the morality in Singapore, and the unfortunate position (if any) of PRCs, then you know as well as I do, that this forum is the inappropriate avenue to initiate change.
By starting this discussion with such a hateful and unobjective tone, you have already proven that you're not here to initiate change, but rather, to incite hate.
And I sincerely wish you the best in the States; because it clearly bodes well for you, and for us (Singaporeans in general), that someone like you is no longer here leeching off our resources.
EDIT: Do fairly note as well that I have not yet "bashed" or "bagged" PRCs. I have merely defended my country and countrymen from your very ... remarks. I once again clarify that I for one, am fine with the PRCs; I am self-assured and am not worried or threatened by their increasing presence in my country. Again, by asking certain PRCs to leave, it is a solution for those to which it applies, to think about.
Do not mistake the silent good graces of fellow Singaporeans to be anything beyond that.[/b]
nobody cares about PRC feels, and since you want to voice out, sure go ahead and do so, but nobody cares at all, if you want to stand up for your countrymen, why not, ask them to change their behaviour, how about you start a poll and see who really give a damn to those PRC?Originally posted by dreameryb:Examine the red portion below against my original and/or subsequent posts. At which point was I being over-demanding and full of complaints? I believe I did my best to point out a real problem and try to explain its causes. I was merely asking for some objectivity and fairness in thinking. Would that count as an unreasonable demand?
The minority that have been subject to unfair treatments or labelling have the right to speak up. To ask them to either swallow the pains or leave reflects what "foorprints" calls a bully mentality.
You are right. This is not the place to initiate a change nor is that my intention in wriitng this thread. Since there are some voices against Chinese nationals here, I think it might be useful that voices from the other side are heard. Simple as that.
Originally posted by allentyb:nobody cares about PRC feels, and since you want to voice out, sure go ahead and do so, but nobody cares at all, if you want to stand up for your countrymen, why not, ask them to change their behaviour, how about you start a poll and see who really give a damn to those PRC?
you need to be humble, but please don't call yourself nobody. Like that discussion not going anywhere.Originally posted by allentyb:nobody cares about PRC feels, and since you want to voice out, sure go ahead and do so, but nobody cares at all, if you want to stand up for your countrymen, why not, ask them to change their behaviour, how about you start a poll and see who really give a damn to those PRC?
You know, what I could not let go to pass, was the fact that China for all the ignorance of their people as a whole, and their government's want of FACE, kept quiet about SARS until it spread all over the world, screwing up everyone's economy and causing the loss of many lives!!Originally posted by allentyb:![]()
if you don't like what you hear in this forum, walk away, you folks already have one fellow is creating so much nonsense in this forum, and don't expect us to be positive about PRC, this world is cruel and harsh, once you make a mistake, you will be black listed, don't expect us to give PRC another chance, when our jobs are jepordise, thanks to the government, and all the negative report about PRC, and what your people have done to this country,
didn't we give PRC a chance, if we can get along well, with the malay, indian and the rest of the ethic group, why can't we get along with PRC, there is a reason behind it
tell that to dreameryb, since he/she fit into the category, between that person is in US,and wait! that person is a PRC and lecturing us about our attitude and our behaviour in our own country, wow, that person is telling how we should behave in our own countryOriginally posted by ShutterBug:You know, what I could not let go to pass, was the fact that China for all the ignorance of their people as a whole, and their government's want of FACE, kept quiet about SARS until it spread all over the world, screwing up everyone's economy and causing the loss of many lives!!
I don't blame the PRCs who come here saturating every job market, and adding to vice trades, but I DO blame our government who for their greed of money are blind to all the ills caused by the influx of ill-mannered opportunists of all nature from China. Many of whom I believe will return to China after raping our job market, and will not stay to contribute and feed our very expensive government....
Originally posted by dreameryb:Note that you aren't helping PRCs by making sweeping statements back at Singaporeans. Though you try to cover your own tracks later on by saying "some", I think you have fallen into your own accusations of Singaporeans.
But that is not the only reason why I am posting this. I am also interested in exploring why some Singaporeans are fond of bashing China. I think it may have to do with a [b]pathological sense of inferiority as a citizen of a small country. Singaporeans know very well that their country has little chance of wielding substantial influence in the world stage. On the other hand, China is making huge progress on all fronts and looks set to becoming a major player in the world. The rapid metamorphoses China is undergoing and the rise of country as a whole has struck fear and bitterness among some Singaporeans who are too tiny-brained to comprehend world dynamics. In an eagerness to assert their own presence and for fear of being overshadowed by China, these people have resorted to China bashing to achieve a delusional sense of psychological balance. This is essentially reflective of the Napoleon syndrome that afflicts many of your people.
In this era defined by inter-dependence of countries, one really cannot afford to be close-minded and xenophobic. For a country like Singapore, the toxic attitude some of your countrymen displays towards foreigners is not healthy to your own development. It is very dangerous indeed for people of small countries to have tinier hearts.
actually I blame the govt like you.Originally posted by ShutterBug:You know, what I could not let go to pass, was the fact that China for all the ignorance of their people as a whole, and their government's want of FACE, kept quiet about SARS until it spread all over the world, screwing up everyone's economy and causing the loss of many lives!!
I don't blame the PRCs who come here saturating every job market, and adding to vice trades, but I DO blame our government who for their greed of money are blind to all the ills caused by the influx of ill-mannered opportunists of all nature from China. Many of whom I believe will return to China after raping our job market, and will not stay to contribute and feed our very expensive government....
You're so wise and philosophical, no wonder you choose the moniker.Originally posted by socrates:There are always assholes in every country, like singapore or china.
Conclusion is, stereotyping is never good. Hate the person who do the deed, not hate the group of people he is labelled under.