"The Japanese had, in fact, already sued for peace. The atomic bomb played no decisive part, from a purely military point of view, in the defeat of Japan." Fleet Admiral Chester W. Nimitz, Commander in Chief of the U.S. Pacific Fleet.[82]
"The use of [the atomic bombs] at Hiroshima and Nagasaki was of no material assistance in our war against Japan. The Japanese were already defeated and ready to surrender." Admiral William D. Leahy, Chief of Staff to President Truman.
"In 1945 Secretary of War Stimson, visiting my headquarters in Germany, informed me that our government was preparing to drop an atomic bomb on Japan. I was one of those who felt that there were a number of cogent reasons to question the wisdom of such an act. During his recitation of the relevant facts, I had been conscious of a feeling of depression and so I voiced to him my grave misgivings, first on the basis of my belief that Japan was already defeated and that dropping the bomb was completely unnecessary, and secondly because I thought that our country should avoid shocking world opinion by the use of a weapon whose employment was, I thought, no longer mandatory as a measure to save American lives." General Dwight D. Eisenhower.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:WTF are you talking about? How is there any similarity between Chinese Premier and Ah Bian? I thought you were one of the few guys with senses ... what happened?
we also have to ensure China premier and others Chinese leaders aren't people like ah bian or you (stupid)?
Also dun overestimate ur fellow comrades PLA, they still have to depend on Russia for military technology, and they better not be sure they can still count on what they used to, the cheap life of chinese soldiers (ren hai zhan shu).
The yankees had learned from the vietnamese, and so did the PLA (DO NOT FORGET). and now if they have to learn from fighting the Iraqi and the war against terrorism, what makes you think the PLA can do better?![]()
Originally posted by YaoRockets:1st he copy my style to rebutt me, if my words are absurd, what makes a follower of a fool?? More dumb rite? Talking abt english, how good is urs....?Look at the bold part...broken sentence and lousy language.
I think he was very clever to use your own words to show the absurdity in your statement, but clearly irony is something beyond your limited grasp of English language.
I hope your history knowledge isn't as bad, you did know US is the only country that ever used nukes on civilians, right? On Asians nonetheless. It's been said Truman wouldn't have dropped the nuke if it weren't to be used on some yellow faces. Yeah, you have one too.
Last time I heard, Hu didn't invade Iraq, Afghanistan. China hasn't been busy dropping bombs and installing "freedom" around the world. But same can't be said about Bush. "use some brain", even Americans aren't as optimistic about Bush as you do. LOL.
Hu is head of PRC, and Ah Bian is head of ROC. Both elected to positions according to each country's regulations. The fact the Hu was not elected by the people in a democratic way, and ah bian used tricks and cheats to get elected did not nullify their positions as leaders of both china. That is the similarity between the two.Originally posted by YaoRockets:WTF are you talking about? How is there any similarity between Chinese Premier and Ah Bian? I thought you were one of the few guys with senses ... what happened?
I don't remember China Premier ever threaten to install "freedom" in any country like Bush either. China gets her share of oil buy using $$$ not bullets and bombs.
Iraq is looking more and more like another Vietnam for US already, I don't think US has learned its lesson yet.
PLA is doing much better than US military by staying home and preserving peace. Isn't that what a military should be about? I don't see PLA opening up bases around the world and pretending to be world policemen.
US has been a big bully for sometime already. Too many examples in history.Originally posted by Unidentified:if US use warhead , causing high casualty in china , the whole world will start to change the way they look at US , not big brother , a bully
See nowaday dun care which race , only the minority care war start who fault , but majority of people will care who is the warhead casualty , the the citizen will start protesting against the use of warhead , the whole globe will start to defend against US
I don't blame you for your consideration alot of younger generation simply cut a slice of event use it as a premise to serve its arguement. Without due consideration of the historical decision and the information avalible at that time.Originally posted by YaoRockets:Sure, stick to your party line. Dress history to suit your needs and (white) conscious (where most Singaporean get their education and talking point).
I am not fan of Japanese but What US did was pure racism and the desire to "shock and awe":" we got the nuke, we got use it. besides, it's on the yellow man, nobody cares!"
German was already finished, European theater was secure, Japan was already defeated and they knew it, they were suing for peace but Truman wouldn't want it, that is, until he could wait for the bomb to be finished and dropped in Japan.
You have to understand it is Singaporean duty to counter "communist insurgency" of idealogy on the web. Can't tell if these are PLA spook or just ordinary civilianOriginally posted by Spartans:I have seen many posts which involved the PRCs.
Singaporeans are pretty hostile to them. But I have to say, althought 90% of the PRCs cmi, there is still 10% good ones.
they are the new generation of chinese, probably high on chinese nationalism. In today's context, communism has lost its original meaning, especially in china. Better to worry about the effect of global warming than communist insurgency or any PLA spook.Originally posted by Arapahoe:You have to understand it is Singaporean duty to counter "communist insurgency" of idealogy on the web. Can't tell if these are PLA spook or just ordinary civilian![]()
Some of us are simply suspicious of the PRC government's intentions in Asia.Originally posted by Arapahoe:You have to understand it is Singaporean duty to counter "communist insurgency" of idealogy on the web. Can't tell if these are PLA spook or just ordinary civilian![]()
Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:U are just copying my word...typical china man...pirates....cmon my post also want to copy and then claim to be "made in china"???
BTW BUSH DID NOT NUKE U PPL...so even if u were to copy my style , use some brain....bush is the president now and u should thank God he isnt that mad to nuke china....
Go la ,go and copy everyone post and claim them to be made in china la...cheap cheap...

Strange, thats like being suspecious at our own race? So if I see any Chinese on the street i.e. you, I will be suspicious? But if I see some white or black guy on the street I wont be?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Some of us are simply suspicious of the PRC government's intentions in Asia.
Don't mistake that for disliking Chinese nationals as a whole.

stop playing the racial sentiment here. let me tell you this, in Singapore, or in any hotels in China, if I see any chinese woman wondering around alone, with eyes looking out for people, I suspect they would come up to offer their service. 10 years ago, I would be 100% correct, today, probably 80%. "xian sheng, nin yao an mo ma?"Originally posted by WHATODO:Strange, thats like being suspecious at our own race? So if I see any Chinese on the street i.e. you, I will be suspicious? But if I see some white or black guy on the street I wont be?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:stop playing the racial sentiment here. let me tell you this, in Singapore, or in any hotels in China, if I see any chinese woman wondering around alone, with eyes looking out for people, I suspect they would come up to offer their service. 10 years ago, I would be 100% correct, today, probably 80%. "xian sheng, nin yao an mo ma?"![]()
Originally posted by WHATODO:If you don't know the basics of international relations, don't play here. This is the adults' table.
[b]
Strange, thats like being suspecious at our own race? So if I see any Chinese on the street i.e. you, I will be suspicious? But if I see some white or black guy on the street I wont be?
Originally posted by WHATODO:if you don't understand, then let me make it very clear, those are the PRC women. I don't suspect the Chinese women from anywhere else, except those from PRC.
When you say 'CHINESE' women, are you reffering to all the Chinese women i.e. Singaporean Chinese, Indonesian Chinese, Malaysian Chinese etc?
Racial haterd starts from: Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering
So you scared or something? Relax lah bro.. dun suffer[/b]
I think you have not get the point....Given that we are all in a POT.Originally posted by WHATODO:Strange, thats like being suspecious at our own race? So if I see any Chinese on the street i.e. you, I will be suspicious? But if I see some white or black guy on the street I wont be?
So how do you tell if they are PRC Chinese and Singaporean Chinese by just looking at them?Originally posted by sgdiehard:if you don't understand, then let me make it very clear, those are the PRC women. I don't suspect the Chinese women from anywhere else, except those from PRC.
scared? no, just find them irritating.
with your mentality like that, you better address me as "shu shu", what "bro", mei da mei xiao.
First look, usually 80% correct, when they speak, 100% correct.Originally posted by WHATODO:So how do you tell if they are PRC Chinese and Singaporean Chinese by just looking at them?
I can tell the difference between all the above, so what does that make me?Originally posted by sgdiehard:First look, usually 80% correct, when they speak, 100% correct.
The angmoh can't tell the difference between the korean, japanese or chinese. Asian can't tell the difference between a french and a british. I bet you can't tell the difference between a afgan and a singh. But, a German will tell you if another German comes from the north or the south, because he has since enough of them to tell the difference.
Get to know more and understand the chinese outside china, you will tell how we can tell the difference
Wow, so are you saying that Singaporean Chinese looks different from China Chinese? you are so clever. Wonder where did your ancestor come from?Originally posted by sgdiehard:First look, usually 80% correct, when they speak, 100% correct.
The angmoh can't tell the difference between the korean, japanese or chinese. Asian can't tell the difference between a french and a british. I bet you can't tell the difference between a afgan and a singh. But, a German will tell you if another German comes from the north or the south, because he has since enough of them to tell the difference.
Get to know more and understand the chinese outside china, you will tell how we can tell the difference