Identity Crisis?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I can tell the difference between all the above, so what does that make me?![]()

Hmm.... my ancestor came from China, which was a democratic country called ROC. Lucky they left China before the communists took over. So they learned the real Chinese language, the fan ti, and because they didn't have to go through the cultural revolution, I inherited the real chinese culture. They also never have to participate in the "fan huan tong" movement, so I grow up in a traditional chinese family......Originally posted by WHATODO:Wow, so are you saying that Singaporean Chinese looks different from China Chinese? you are so clever. Wonder where did your ancestor come from?
you prove yourself to be a person who have travelled widely, the friends around you very international, and you care to recognise the difference between people. But who are you? you have to tell us.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I can tell the difference between all the above, so what does that make me?![]()
Who am I? I am myself lah dey..Originally posted by sgdiehard:you prove yourself to be a person who have travelled widely, the friends around you very international, and you care to recognise the difference between people. But who are you? you have to tell us.![]()
Originally posted by WHATODO:Identity crisis your si lang tao.
[b]Identity Crisis?[/b]
I never said you are rare. If your jobs takes you around different places, it is not difficult to tell the difference. The angmoh who travels often in north asian can tell the difference between korean, japs, and between northern chinese and southern chinese. They also know the difference between beijing chinese and the shanghainese. But such angmoh are rare, relatively speaking.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Who am I? I am myself lah dey..
And if you think I'm rare, you're wrong lah.
Any person who bothers to read the news can tell the difference between an Afghan and a Pakistan.![]()
Why not, just listen to their lingo.Originally posted by sgdiehard:I never said you are rare. If your jobs takes you around different places, it is not difficult to tell the difference. The angmoh who travels often in north asian can tell the difference between korean, japs, and between northern chinese and southern chinese. They also know the difference between beijing chinese and the shanghainese. But such angmoh are rare, relatively speaking.
My friend, who is a singh, always have problem when he travels to USA, they thought he was an afghan, because of the turban and his beard. we see the real singh but afgan from the tv, the yankees only watch CNN. Can you tell the difference between the indians and the pakistani, or even the bangladeshi?![]()
gee, you are good, I really have problem with indians (hindi and tamil), the pakistani, the bangliadeshi. I can tell the diff among the european, but most of the time before I guess they already tell me, especially the french.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Why not, just listen to their lingo.If you study in a place with that much international students, it's not hard to identify one.
Americans, generally those who live on the West or East Coast are more exposed to the world. I'm still amused by the remark of an Oklahoma City student made to my friend when she saw photos of our HDB skylines at night, when she went there on exchange..
"Gosh, do you guys live in like Star Wars?"![]()
The bottom end is, your root is from CHINA, just because you wear your cloth and comb your hair differently, what makes you think that you dont look like PRC Chinese? ahhahahOriginally posted by sgdiehard:Hmm.... my ancestor came from China, which was a democratic country called ROC. Lucky they left China before the communists took over. So they learned the real Chinese language, the fan ti, and because they didn't have to go through the cultural revolution, I inherited the real chinese culture. They also never have to participate in the "fan huan tong" movement, so I grow up in a traditional chinese family......if you changed the language, the culture and the tradition, you are less of the original Chinese as I am. So does it matter if our ancestors came from the same place?
When I first visited China when I was young, your government told me to use FEC, the locals used RMB. I knew then already I was different from you.![]()

On the contrary my friend, I wear my cloth and comb my hair exactly the way you do. It is not what is outside, it is what is inside. Our upbringing are different, our sense of values are different, our life style are different, ..... But our differences are not so great that we want to kill one another, I hope. Do you agree that there much difference among the 1.3 billion of you in PRC China? I was very sad that the differences among the Chinese in PRC were so great that you were prepared to kill one another, time and again in the very recent history of china, cultural revolution, tiananmen....Originally posted by WHATODO:The bottom end is, your root is from CHINA, just because you wear your cloth and comb your hair differently, what makes you think that you dont look like PRC Chinese? ahhahah
Getting them to shed off the excesses of Mao the idiot's damaging acts, and embrace Taiwan as equals, is like asking a cat to love birds.Originally posted by sgdiehard:On the contrary my friend, I wear my cloth and comb my hair exactly the way you do. It is not what is outside, it is what is inside. Our upbringing are different, our sense of values are different, our life style are different, ..... But our differences are not so great that we want to kill one another, I hope. Do you agree that there much difference among the 1.3 billion of you in PRC China? I was very sad that the differences among the Chinese in PRC were so great that you were prepared to kill one another, time and again in the very recent history of china, cultural revolution, tiananmen....
Learn to recognise and accept differences among chinese, re- establish the Zhong Hua wen min, inculcate "rong ren" (tolerance), make all ethnic chinese, especially those living outside of china proud of China. You can start with your own people in Taiwan.![]()
Originally posted by WHATODO:WHATODO,U HAF NO LOGIC AT ALL.IF CHINA N USA WAR NEITHER SIDE WIN DE..y? cos though US haf higher technological n firepower denn china,china haf LOADS of soldiers tt USA might nt be able 2 kill em all.And china will know when and where the US army is coming as they haf 2 come such an long way frm sea n air.if they use nukes both China n USA will be destroyed.den hu's be e UN's security concil members ar?
[b]U.S. vs. China
Series of questions on this nightmare scenario:
1. Can the U.S. invade China in the first place?
2. Are America's technological and firepower advantages helpful in the long run against 1 billion people?
3. How effective would U.S. airpower be?
4. Is it safe to say every Chinese citizen would fight?
5. Can the U.S. hold up against a modern military supported by guerrilla warfare?
6. Any other thoughts?
I think China is one enemy the U.S. will need a miracle to defeat. I see it sort of as a whole bunch of people lining up against the Chinese coast to prevent an amphbious assault. An airborne assault is pretty dumb as well. The only advantage America will have is our airpower and sea-launched missiles, but that won't last forever.
In the end, I think it's a lose-lose situation for the U.S.
Also, does anyone know of any tactics or warplans the U.S. has in store regarding China?
'if they use nukes both China n USA will be destroyed' but there will still be alot more Chinese in the world than US people. Furthermore US will be so weak that any remaining US citizen will be killed by the Isalmic terrorist 'Jihad'. Right? So who is the biggest loser?Originally posted by zero747:WHATODO,U HAF NO LOGIC AT ALL.IF CHINA N USA WAR NEITHER SIDE WIN DE..y? cos though US haf higher technological n firepower denn china,china haf LOADS of soldiers tt USA might nt be able 2 kill em all.And china will know when and where the US army is coming as they haf 2 come such an long way frm sea n air.if they use nukes both China n USA will be destroyed.den hu's be e UN's security concil members ar?
so close n delete tis thread
HAHAHAHHA so comical!Originally posted by YaoRockets:It's screaming for a caption contest:
Guard A: did you see that? what should we do?
Guard B: How the fuck do I know?
Mao: Oh shit!
If USA goes into a major recession, if half of USA destroyed by aliens from outer space, you think China would win?Originally posted by WHATODO:'if they use nukes both China n USA will be destroyed' but there will still be alot more Chinese in the world than US people. Furthermore US will be so weak that any remaining US citizen will be killed by the Isalmic terrorist 'Jihad'. Right? So who is the biggest loser?
I didnt know that you can determine if life is expensive or cheap? All I know, is when the time has come it doesnt matter if your life is cheap or expensive.Originally posted by sgdiehard:If USA goes into a major recession, if half of USA destroyed by aliens from outer space, you think China would win?
It is not a matter of who lose, it is who win. If China hope to win only because you have more lives to spare, it only show how cheap your lives are, nothing else. That is where I am different from PRC Chinese, my life is expensive.![]()
May be I should put to you this way: if both China n USA destroyed by nukes, there will be no PRC Chinese in China, and among the chinese in the world there will be only a few PRC Chinese, does it matter what will happen to the remaining US citizens?Originally posted by WHATODO:'if they use nukes both China n USA will be destroyed' but there will still be alot more Chinese in the world than US people. Furthermore US will be so weak that any remaining US citizen will be killed by the Isalmic terrorist 'Jihad'. Right? So who is the biggest loser?
if you life is easily given up for the sake of politics, then your life has no value.Originally posted by WHATODO:I didnt know that you can determine if life is expensive or cheap? All I know, is when the time has come it doesnt matter if your life is cheap or expensive.
So my question is still the same... how different can your life be in comparison with PRC Chinese?
Really? I thought Singaporean are so scared of their goverment and always follow law? ahhaha so much for valuing your life!Originally posted by sgdiehard:if you life is easily given up for the sake of politics, then your life has no value.For us, we will never let "the time" comes, we don't have nukes.
Our government, though very authoritative, is elected through a democratic process. Our police, though very strict and need to collect fines to stay alive, they are not armed to kill those who break laws. Your government elected themselves, and killed your people with tanks and soldiers if you don't threaten the communist system.Originally posted by WHATODO:Really? I thought Singaporean are so scared of their goverment and always follow law? ahhaha so much for valuing your life!
Yes, you must tell that to Sgdiehard he is so looking down on PRC Chinese and he himself is Chinese! faintOriginally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Has some of us as Chinese been so blinded by nationalism that we use it to justify injustices against our fellow men?
Being Chinese is a lot more then being from China and rooting for everything that China comes up with regardless of if it makes sense or not.
Unity is one thing, but have anyone every wondered if some people are all heading over the same cliff? Whatever happened to virtues like humility and respecting out cultures and opinions? Whatever happened to making basic sense? What if you country does something you disagree with and think will do harm to your people in the long run, do you hide behind the concept of "nationalism" and see it as some racial "unity" thing?
The Germans did that once, and see the horrors they visited upon the world and themselves. We Chinese would do good to learn from their example... not letting people bully you is one thing... acting like a jerk just to prove you are strong to others is quite another.
Originally posted by WHATODO:Yes, you must tell that to Sgdiehard he is so looking down on PRC Chinese and he himself is Chinese! faint