What reform? You talking about the medical subsidies?Originally posted by soulwinner:Already reform taking place...
You are too slow...
but do u think the gahmen will want them to pay more lest they scare them away and the ruling party will encounter problems to fill the population up to 600m? and remember that jerk ever told singaporeans to be nice/kind to these people.Originally posted by maurizio13:I wonder how many would agree that the taxes paid by residents and permanent residents (compared to citizens) should be higher irrespective of their domicile.
Reasons:
1) They do not have a legal requirement to do national service, they are a free rider in the security provided by our forces. The provision of these security cost money, therefore the government should take the initiative to increase their taxes to recover the cost for the provision of this security.
2) These residents and permanent residents made Singapore their home because they feel safe here, a price must be paid for such safety. Like all Singaporean citizens who pay the price of such safety by serving their nation for 2 + 10 years.
3) These residents and permanent residents consume other economic resources (transport, water, electricity, medical, roads, HDB) which are also consumed by citizens, at the same price. Surely there must be a difference between citizens and non-citizens, if there isn't any; why even bother being a citizen.
For taxes, I mean income tax.
Other than HDB they consume other resources which are consumed by citizens too.Originally posted by allentyb:if you begin to tax the permanent residents, you probably going to chase them away, and beside, they don't have the privilege to apply for first hand HDB, so they already have less privilege, than singaporean
so in other words, i don't have a clue what you are talking about, and this will create an uproar, after all, this is a democracy country, everyone is suppose to be equal, so.................
Originally posted by Jontst78:Agree. They don't care as long as getting FTs can cater to what they want. They care less at the expense of the locals. Shiit gahmen!
I think maybe Higher Taxes should be for FTs tho, but thats contrary to the Govts direction.
The high influx of FT is gradually dimishing the already dimished bargaining power of job hunters(citizens and PRs) here in SG. Govt should do something in the legislation that strongly encourages employers to hire local instead of FTs.
The high influx of FT to increase the GDP, its like a athlete using performance enhancing steroids, will all the included side effects...[/b]
Frankly, I don't think they would want to chase them away, afterall, money is involved. But then again, those that make below a certain annual income don't pay taxes, I think it's $20,000. Only high income earners pay taxes, therefore they have to weigh the benefits of security and low income tax rates. If I am rich and I would need to make a choice between the two, I would choose security, afterall what is a few more percentage points off my annual income. As you earn more diminishing return sets in, what is another $20,000 to $30,000 (2% to 3%), if you make $1,000,000 a year.Originally posted by rane:but do u think the gahmen will want them to pay more lest they scare them away and the ruling party will encounter problems to fill the population up to 600m? and remember that jerk ever told singaporeans to be nice/kind to these people.
Besides the above, think Manpower should be strict to them, too. Set salary quota for them so that they will not be overpaid.
If the PR is already making 1 mil from his business, its already benefiting the local economy, as he/she will be spending a substiantial amount of that money locally. Buy hse, car, living expenses...Originally posted by maurizio13:Frankly, I don't think they would want to chase them away, afterall, money is involved. But then again, those that make below a certain annual income don't pay taxes, I think it's $20,000. Only high income earners pay taxes, therefore they have to weigh the benefits of security and low income tax rates. If I am rich and I would need to make a choice between the two, I would choose security, afterall what is a few more percentage points off my annual income. As you earn more diminishing return sets in, what is another $20,000 to $30,000 (2% to 3%), if you make $1,000,000 a year.
If you are a millionaire, would you prefer the safety of Singapore or Indonesia?
Depends on what country you are talking about. Does the country have conscription? Seriously, are we equals with the permanent resident? We spend 2 + 10 years dress in green pyjamas running around dense forest donating blood to wildlife.Originally posted by Jontst78:to Thread Starter,
If you were persuing PR in another country, would you like to be on a different Tax Table? PRs and Citizens should be on almost equal standing. "Almost" being the operative word.
I think maybe Higher Taxes should be for FTs tho, but thats contrary to the Govts direction.
The high influx of FT is gradually dimishing the already dimished bargaining power of job hunters(citizens and PRs) here in SG. Govt should do something in the legislation that strongly encourages employers to hire local instead of FTs.
The high influx of FT to increase the GDP, its like a athlete using performance enhancing steroids, will all the included side effects...
Then withdraw all the tax rebates that NS Men get? you rather continue to recieve your rebates, or tax PRs higher?Originally posted by maurizio13:Depends on what country you are talking about. Does the country have conscription? Seriously, are we equals with the permanent resident? We spend 2 + 10 years dress in green pyjamas running around dense forest donating blood to wildlife.
How many would agree that we are equals? If we are equals, they should abolish national service, so that we can be on the same ground as the permanent resident. Else, start taxing non-citizens on a different tax schedule or conscript them to do national service.
They should pay taxes regardless how much they earn here. Nothing is free!!Originally posted by maurizio13:Frankly, I don't think they would want to chase them away, afterall, money is involved. But then again, those that make below a certain annual income don't pay taxes, I think it's $20,000. Only high income earners pay taxes, therefore they have to weigh the benefits of security and low income tax rates. If I am rich and I would need to make a choice between the two, I would choose security, afterall what is a few more percentage points off my annual income. As you earn more diminishing return sets in, what is another $20,000 to $30,000 (2% to 3%), if you make $1,000,000 a year.
If you are a millionaire, would you prefer the safety of Singapore or Indonesia?
If the PR is already making $1 million from his business, it does not "necessarily" mean that he is benefitting the economy. If he uses Singapore as a transit point for his import / export business, re-routes the shipment to another country.Originally posted by Jontst78:If the PR is already making 1 mil from his business, its already benefiting the local economy, as he/she will be spending a substiantial amount of that money locally. Buy hse, car, living expenses...
PR is a 2 way thing, They have to have some sort of benefit for them to be PR, and hence bring thier money in here.
Medical cost are in the first place subsidised, removing the subsidies does not equalised the effects of the provision of security (army, air force, navy and police). If something cost $100, citizens pay $50, non-citizens pay $100; how are they going to recover the cost of the provision of security?Originally posted by Jontst78:There are already differences with PRs and Citizens....
At the top of my head..
Medical costs are different
Cant buy new HDB flat
Childcare subsidies will be eventually withdrawn, 1st deductions start this year....
There are more, anyone else like to add?
Like I said, its almost equal, not completely equal...
Or the prospective PR can say, apply PR for what? Stay on Employment pass better
The Income Tax Act (ITA), as I know, does not distinguish between permanent resident and citizens. They only have a distinction for resident and non-resident, the resident will typically spend more than 183 days in Singapore (irregardless of your citizenship); whereas if you spend less than 183 days in Singapore, you will be regarded as a non-resident (unless you satisfy the criteria for qualitative test, which you might then elect to be a resident).Originally posted by Jontst78:Then withdraw all the tax rebates that NS Men get? you rather continue to recieve your rebates, or tax PRs higher?
Can anyone verify that FTs are also on the same Tax Table as PRs?
Singapore got citizens one meh? I thought got only coolies... ("coolies" is spelt C.O.O.L.I.E.S not C.I.T.I.Z.E.N.S)Originally posted by maurizio13:I wonder how many would agree that the taxes paid by residents and permanent residents (compared to citizens) should be higher irrespective of their domicile.
Reasons:
1) They do not have a legal requirement to do national service, they are a free rider in the security provided by our forces. The provision of these security cost money, therefore the government should take the initiative to increase their taxes to recover the cost for the provision of this security.
2) These residents and permanent residents made Singapore their home because they feel safe here, a price must be paid for such safety. Like all Singaporean citizens who pay the price of such safety by serving their nation for 2 + 10 years.
3) These residents and permanent residents consume other economic resources (transport, water, electricity, medical, roads, HDB) which are also consumed by citizens, at the same price. Surely there must be a difference between citizens and non-citizens, if there isn't any; why even bother being a citizen.
For taxes, I mean income tax.
I think the TS just want to be a freeloader so that FT can work for him and he can shake his legs and "contribute" to singapore via Sgforums speaker's corner.Originally posted by curryman:I think u r quite ignorant to start this topic.
what msg are u sending to foreigners?
no countries in this world is doing this double standards that u suggest...
the government is already doing the right thing by limiting the subsidies for PR.
w/o PR singapore economy would crash if u know ur economics well....
You can claim that you are citizen and done NS, but who can testify to it. Who knows, I could be a PR fighting for equality for citizens.Originally posted by Jontst78:Just for the record, I'm a citizen who has done NS.
Well then, should females be conscripted too? or should Females citizens pay higher Tax?
What about PRs who then become citizens? Should they then serve NS? Or should there be a seperate Tax table for Female citizens and citizen immigrants.
PRs are, in general already recieving less benefits than citizens, and they should be receiving much more than Pass holders.
As long as a resident is economically active in Singapore, they are already contributing to the economy, even the low income PRs. Even if they are misers, its still not a defecit for the economy. A substiantial amount of thier Money goes into Retail, Food, medical, banking, maybe even having to Pay for a COE. Most of which is unavoidable.
PR admission criteria has always been to determine whether the individual will be a positive contributor to the economy or a liability. As along as they are not a liability, I feel there shouldn't be an issue.
Then there is the choice that the government has to make then, between promoting PRs to come and casuing an uproar.
Or should Female citizens, immigrant citizens and PRs be on the same tax table?
PR also serve NS is they are around 18 years of age. I have men from CHINA.Originally posted by maurizio13:Permanent resident pay the same taxes as citizens, but citizens have the added disadvantage of having to serve national service 2 + 10 years. A higher tax rate of afew percent needs to recognise this disparity.