Can I ask why people hate LKY so much?
If I had to ask you to list the 3 top reasons why you hate LKY, what would they be? Of course you could list more.
they never realise wot he has done for the country......
Originally posted by Deino:they never realise wot he has done for the country......
Is it, then you tell us what has he done.
Originally posted by qlqq9:
Is it, then you tell us what has he done.
Why don't you read this. An American viewpoint. Article written in 1999 by Terry McCarthy who was East Asia correspondent for TIME
http://www.time.com/time/asia/asia/magazine/1999/990823/lee1.html
Originally posted by onlooker123:
Why don't you read this. An American viewpoint. Article written in 1999 by Terry McCarthy who was East Asia correspondent for TIME
http://www.time.com/time/asia/asia/magazine/1999/990823/lee1.html
Thanks, but I wanna info from that person. I am going to see what good has he gotta talk about mm lee.
Originally posted by Sohyp1970:To all,
I also hate the Lee family’s, I do not hope that Lee Kuan Yew just died like that. I want him to see how Singapore and his PAP going decline! That will be worst than death!! See Singapore losing one after another first in Asia /world, PAP lost 10 sits in 2011 election. But most likely this will not happen, may be lost a few first in asia after Japan.
hahaha...wanting to see Signapore going down will continue to be your wet dream, hoping to see some other Asia countries overtaking Singapore is a challenge to these countries. To say that "but most likely this will not happen" shows that you haven't lost your senses.
You can hate the Lee family, you don't need to like PAP, think twice if you want to run down Singapore.
Originally posted by qlqq9:
Thanks, but I wanna info from that person. I am going to see what good has he gotta talk about mm lee.
Hahaha, don't want to listen to Terry McCarthy, the East Asia correspondence for TIME, but want to hear from Deino. Great respect for Deino.
An Interview With Lee Kuan Yew 2008
http://www.spacewar.com/reports/An_Interview_With_Lee_Kuan_Yew_2008_999.html
Well.....
From wot i have heard about him......he may bit fussy sometimes....
but this changes nothing....
Just imagine wot singapore would be like without him in the first place.....
I dun think we would be any better than malaysia......
You may hate him just like how indonesians hate their ex presidents.....
Do you hate him becoz you see his son becoming pm also?
There is a saying that goes "like father like son"
Lee didn't want to pamper his son by making him pm.......his son had to did it himself......
Tell me wot about him that you hate and i'll try the best of my knowledge to answer you.....
Originally posted by Deino:Well.....
From wot i have heard about him......he may bit fussy sometimes....
but this changes nothing....
Just imagine wot singapore would be like without him in the first place.....
I dun think we would be any better than malaysia......
You may hate him just like how indonesians hate their ex presidents.....
Do you hate him becoz you see his son becoming pm also?
There is a saying that goes "like father like son"
Lee didn't want to pamper his son by making him pm.......his son had to did it himself......
Tell me wot about him that you hate and i'll try the best of my knowledge to answer you.....
Did you volunteer to make yourself the spokesman of LKY?
i am not a fan of LKY, but at the same time i dont hate him too...
back to the thread, everyone will die... LKY MAY die tmr or he MAY die in another 100 years... No one noes... The thing is everyone will die one day... so if u want to see him die, be patient. With the monetary wealth that he possese, he would get top medical care one.
Originally posted by White_SoulReaper:i am not a fan of LKY, but at the same time i dont hate him too...
back to the thread, everyone will die... LKY MAY die tmr or he MAY die in another 100 years... No one noes... The thing is everyone will die one day... so if u want to see him die, be patient. With the monetary wealth that he possese, he would get top medical care one.
YOu are right, he is getting top medical care. He has a team of drs looking after him. I believe it is free as minister is covered medically.
... in so long as he is of flesh & blood, no amount of power or money can medicate/heal/cure him, when his TIME is up...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... in so long as he is of flesh & blood, no amount of power or money can medicate/heal/cure him, when his TIME is up...
Not sure if one day he is really critically ill to the extent doctors have to every minute monitor his condition and try their best to cure him. If nothing works and he dies finally, wonder if these docs will be punished by the lee family or not.
Originally posted by qlqq9:Not sure if one day he is really critically ill to the extent doctors have to every minute monitor his condition and try their best to cure him. If nothing works and he dies finally, wonder if these docs will be punished by the lee family or not.
... i mean, realistically... look at Suharto....
... how much prayers & mystic magics also die in the end...
... when time is UP... it's UP!
... Farking gives all a farking break...!
Originally posted by White_SoulReaper:i am not a fan of LKY, but at the same time i dont hate him too...
It is not May die, it is Will die. But what is important is WHEN. and if he die AFTER those who wanted him dead, then there are many who won't RIP.
Believe me, money cannot extend anybody's life by one second. Instead of cursing anybody to die, better to live a good life.
... problem is, a lot of people are finding it hard to live a "good life" with the "government" always screwing around with their retirement plans & delaying paying out their CPF monies...
Lifelong income committee to release report on Tuesday
By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 11 February 2008 1449 hrs
SINGAPORE: Details of a national scheme to provide lifelong income to Singaporeans to see them through their old age will be released on Tuesday.
The committee, set up to study the National Longevity Insurance Scheme, is headed by Professor Lim Pin.
Over the past two weeks, both Prof Lim and Manpower Minister Ng Eng Hen have given an insight into some of the committee's recommendations, among them is a new name for the concept – 'National Lifelong Income Scheme'.
According to a UN study, Singaporeans have a life expectancy of 80 years while the global average is only 67 years.
And it is estimated that by the year 2030, 900,000 Singaporeans will be above 65 years old.
Zulkifli Baharudin, member of the National Longevity Insurance Committee, said: "Not many people have thought about it but when you sit down and really discuss in a detailed manner, most people do have their concerns. They want to make sure that they live a meaningful life.
"People have concerns about their ability to live independent lives, the ability to continue to have whatever income they have for the rest of their lives, (along with the) understanding that some of the family support structures may not be as strong as what they were in the past."
Hence, there is a need to ensure that Singaporeans have enough savings to see them through their lifetime.
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced plans to help Singaporeans work longer and have more for their retirement in his National Day Rally Speech last year.
He also revealed that the government would make some form of annuity compulsory for CPF members.
A month later, the National Longevity Insurance Committee was set up. Its mandate is to design a national scheme that would be basic, affordable and fair to provide Singaporeans income for life from their CPF savings.
The committee consulted nearly 600 Singaporeans from all walks of life for their views on how the scheme can help address the challenges of an ageing population.
Denise Phua, MP and member, GPC for Manpower, said: "Most Singaporeans are very low in financial literacy. It is important for them to know – whether they are in the average income, high income or low income (groups) – how much they would need till the day they pass on. The Lifelong Income Scheme is a very good start-up for them."
Observers said one of the challenges in operating the National Lifelong Income Scheme pertains to letting Singaporeans have the option of choosing the age at which they would want to start receiving the payouts.
Among the recommendations that have come out so far is to start the payouts at the age of 80.
Dr Ng announced earlier this month that the scheme would kick in by 2013 and he said about 60 percent of active CPF members will get at least S$600 per month for life under the scheme.
"I hope the committee could give people a lot of hope for the future... (they could) predetermine what they want to have as a meaningful standard of living in the future," said Mr Zulkifli.
There is, however, the concern that some Singaporeans still stand the risk of being excluded.
Ms Phua said: "Some of them may not have the minimum sum in the CPF, and I truly hope that the government and other helping hands would be able to creatively stitch some solutions to help them to be included in the National Lifelong Income Scheme."
The committee has also proposed that the CPF Board administers the scheme.
- CNA/so
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... problem is, a lot of people are finding it hard to live a "good life" with the "government" always screwing around with their retirement plans & delaying paying out their CPF monies...
Definitely true that some finding it hard to live a "good life". A good example is a malay man depends on the CPF money to give the son a good uni education but he is shattered because the good and money minded gahmen PAP has extended the CPF withdrawal age.
To all,
Lee Kuan Yew Die or not die I don't care, what he and his PAP the Hurt have done to us the Chinese edu the cannot be undone. After 25 years my first time think about Suicide, today married a Malaysian Chinese woman for 10 years, computer technician for 11years. All because of my good Malaysian friends, I take it as I never exist in Singapore my heart belong to the Malaysia Chinese Community. I wish I can leave this sad place, only be here to work during office hours
When he will he died only GODS know, time for him to go he will have to go. We are no body to predicted. No way he can stand up when he is lower down to his grave even if he can feel something goes wrong.![]()
Originally posted by qlqq9:Did you volunteer to make yourself the spokesman of LKY?
(0) (0) '''''
---------------
Originally posted by Sohyp1970:To all,
Lee Kuan Yew Die or not die I don't care, what he and his PAP the Hurt have done to us the Chinese edu the cannot be undone. After 25 years my first time think about Suicide, today married a Malaysian Chinese woman for 10 years, computer technician for 11years. All because of my good Malaysian friends, I take it as I never exist in Singapore my heart belong to the Malaysia Chinese Community. I wish I can leave this sad place, only be here to work during office hours
When he will he died only GODS know, time for him to go he will have to go. We are no body to predicted. No way he can stand up when he is lower down to his grave even if he can feel something goes wrong.
Dear Sohyp1970,
you have pointed out the greatest error made by LKY, downgraded and finally closed Chinese education, shut Nanyang Uni, resulting in a big group of Chinese educated being marginalized. This group of Chinese helicopters were the most discriminated minority in Singapore, much more than any race, or minorities of any religion.
Who were his accomplish? the many english educated, including many who are against him, wishing for his dead.
Don have to wish him dead, Sohyp1970, people like you are taller than that.
Many Chinese ed now are perfectly bilingual. People like you can take on the PRC chinese even when they speak english, unlike many Singaporean who think they speak english but actually they only speak singlish and half past six mandarin.
You are the people who can truely represent the Chinese Singaporean in a multiracial society, you don't have the stench of the former colonial ruler. You have the culture of the Chinese race holding citizenship of a young country, while many Singaporeans call themselves Chinese but have only the culture of the over 40 years of Singapore history which they cannot agree with.
Stand tall, my friend. I know many many people like you, they are older than me, but I don't see them any less successful in life.
Remember, it is the Chinese ed that make Singapore multi lingual. Make sure your children learn their chinese well. When LKY died, the only that will make him turn in his grave is when his grand children speak only english and migrate to america.
I wonder when Lee Kuan Yew is going to die.
Many people in Singapore are eager to get rid of Lee Kuan Yew.
sad but true.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I wonder when Lee Kuan Yew is going to die.
sad but true.
Many, as in Singapore or in sgforums?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I wonder when Lee Kuan Yew is going to die.
sad but true.
Yes, people from all walks of life, from young to old waiting for the day to come. Saw him on TV, he does not appear healthy by his movement. There will be celebrations on his death. Wear red, wear red on his funeral day.