Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Can we trust your judgment in writing without any thoughts nor knowledge of what life is like on the other side of the divide ?
Having a job is always better than being unemployed. That is precisely why we must not follow the wlefare states where unemployment benefits are so generous that it does not pay to work.
Lots of foreign workers who take much lower pay than locals not only can make ends meet but send money home as well. If depends on how you manage your finances. Spend within your means. If you cannot make ends meet, it's because you are spending beyond your means.
continue below
From Newsweek Special Edition : The Knowledge Revolution - Why Victory Will Go to the Smartest Nation & Companies.
Why SWEDEN is SO TOUGH...
''Those who think that the Swedish Welfare Model is too soft to survive in the Global Era miss the point. Yes, we are more generous than most, but we are far more competitive, too''
by Goran Persson - Prime Minister of Sweden
THE Economic success of the Scandinavian countries is surprising, perhaps, for some. It is often said that in the era of globalization, countries with generous welfare policies cannot be competitive. It is claimed that countries with high taxes and large public expenditures cannot be successful growth nations.
The rapid development of the Scandinavian countries during the past decade is a powerful argument against this logic.
True, we live in times of sweeping change. The last 10 years have taken us on a great journey, full of rapid and fascinating developments. The overall prosperity of the world is growing. People are rising out of hunger, oppression, and illiteracy. More countries have become democracies. Research and new technology offer new opportunities. Medicines are becoming cheaper and more widely accessible. At the same time new threats - in the form of terrorism, infectious diseases and climate change - spread fear around the world.
But change itself is nothing new for an open, trade-oriented country like Sweden.
For us, all this is challenging, but also exciting. Our economic growth is largely a product of continuous structural adjustments. We have encouraged those changes, and continue to do so. Our openness and innovative climate has help us to build a number of successful internation companies such as Saab, IKEA, Volvo, Ericsson and ASEA.
What is new is the pace of change. The globalization of economics and markets affect people's everyday lives. For society as a whole, the continuous shift of labor into new, more productive areas is of great benefit. But for individuals, these changes carry great costs. Workers in the most developed countries face competition from workers with lower wages and less secure working conditions. Businesses face tougher pressure on prices and a rapid increase in efficiency demand. At the same time, more jobs require high education and specific skills, and an increasing number of jobs are emerging in the service sector.
Along with the other Scandinavian countries, Sweden has been coping wel with this fast-changing environment. Our country has had higher growth over the past 10 years than the EU and Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development ( OECD ) average. Sweden is held to have the world's most internationalized economy after Ireland. We have been designated the most creative country in the world and the best climate for innovation in the EU. Sweden is third in the World Economic Forum's ranking of growth prospects, and invests more in education than any other OECD country except Denmark. Sweden is also in the lead at balancing growth and environmental concerns.
International studies confirm it time and again : Sweden is one of the world's most modern countries. We have strong social security - but a higher level of employment and work-force participation than most other countries. We have high public expenditures - but we have had greater economic growth in the past 10 years than the OECD average. We have a large public sector - but there is also a vigorous and expanding business sector that competes successfully in the world market.
I believe the reason we are doing relatively well is that we have developed policies that facilitate structural adjustment. That enables us to harness the full potential of globalization. It is not about protecting old and inefficient sectors. It is about facilitating change for the individual - to build bridges from the old to the new, from the shrinking sector to the innovative, from the stagnating to the vibrant and growing.
If Sweden has a larger land mass than this Little Red Dot, and she cannot depend on immigration, why is the Government of this Little Red Dot allowing a free flow of foreign talents in, and allowing them easy access to Citizenship or trial Permanent Residentship ?
To do so, we must provide people with opportunities to learn new things, to move or to change jobs late in life. And they need secure income, in case the unpredictable - an illness, unemployment - strkes. In a rapidly changing economy, lifelong education, a strong social-security system and active labor-market policies are key assets.
The Swedish model clearly shows that an ambitious welfare policy is fully compatible with free trade and openness. High taxes do not get in the way of good growth if they are levied through a sensibly constructed tax system that does not place an excessive burden on production.
On the contrary - a system of this kind is an advantage for development and growth. A robust public sector gives people the security to seek new opportunities and test new grounds. In this way, security goes hand in hand with development. Our experience also confirms this. Willingness to pay tax, moreover, is relatively high in Sweden, as people feel confident that the money is used to address common concerns - health care, schools and social services available to all.
In the same way, it is crucial to give women the same rights, opportunities and wages as men. Parenthood must not be an obstacle to work, which is why Swedish couples have the right to stay home with 80 percent pay for 13 months (including at least two months for the father) after chidlbirth, and to full-time day care. As a result, Sweden has one of the highest level of female labor participation in the world, and one fo the highest birthrates in the European Union. As Western populations age, a high birthrate is critical for maintaining a balance between the working-age people and retirees so we can afford pensions.
Sweden - small, cold, with a difficult language - cannot hope to rely on immigration.
I am convinced that the Swedish general welfare model is modern and forward-looking. It is not only fair. It can also be a very competitive model in a globalized economy.
Originally posted by Atobe:All that before you further take into consideration how the Swedes have actually achieved more without the significant strategic advantages Singapore possesses (from being a former British colony where English is the lingua franca to the location of its ports), but have failed to adequately leverage on.
[b]continuation
Singapore is facing the same challenges of a low birth rate, shrinking population made worst by an ageing population, global competition to keep the Countries economic engine running without stalling, and yet Sweden is supposed to be disadvantaged by its high tax and high social welfare system - is Singapore ahead of Sweden in this global competition ?
well the swedes have the facts and statistics and ranking status to prove their point that their system is working..Originally posted by ispyyy:alamak ... same thing wat...
high wages given... means have to give more tax...
end of the day, it is still given back to the government...
It is just a play around with figures...
Originally posted by 4getmenot:well the swedes have the facts and statistics and ranking status to prove their point that their system is working..
so not what that may not seem viable in signapore may be not viable in other countries..spore gahmen shud take a lesson or two from the swede and denmark government.. but of course they can;t .. afterall ministers with a million dollar salaries are supposed to be teaching and are inventive, not taking lessons from others whos drawing 1/5 of their salary right?![]()
Please lah....I believe this argument is just an excuse to keep uncompetitive companies in Singapore from going out of business and also It is an excuse for SG Gov taking an easy way out.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The minimum wage is also often the maximum wage. Let market forces decide what is fair and equitable wages.