Maybe a lock up for 20 plus years without trial can such people realise what is justice about.Originally posted by hloc:Thxs.... just like i too find some will see darkness in the light of day. Good day to U....![]()
Agree..... just like seeing a bomb suspect walk free after a love one had been killed in the blast will do the same.....Originally posted by (human):Maybe a lock up for 20 plus years without trial can such people realise what is justice about.
Without proven everyone can be bomb suspect, lock everyone up then.Originally posted by hloc:Agree..... just like seeing a bomb suspect walk free after a love one had been killed in the blast will do the same.....![]()
I wonder if you would say the same thing if you were locked up without trial and then exiled from Singapore for dissenting against GOvt policies. Would you like to join them?Originally posted by hloc:Agree..... just like seeing a bomb suspect walk free after a love one had been killed in the blast will do the same.....![]()
No.... i just hope its not me who is arrested. But as we can all see (read)... with the amount of anti-Govt 'speeches' in this forum..... and YET non of us is invited to visit ISD HQ for coffee.... what abused is there ??Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:I wonder if you would say the same thing if you were locked up without trial and then exiled from Singapore for dissenting against GOvt policies. Would you like to join them?
Have you decided to stuff your head into the ground in the face of facts?
Originally posted by hloc:Hmm I think you didn't really get my question.
Hi Hitler II...... long & short of my answer will be [b]NO......
NO, I don't want to be arrested......
NO, I'm not into any illegal activity.....
NO, I don't think the Govt has been behaving like a dictator, the prove being that most of us here are not under arrest or anything....
NO, I still believe prevention is better than cure, the JI case prove it.
NO, the world is not fair..... and all those u QUOTED are Ideas from GREAT man about a perfect WORLD...... But sadly, this WORLD is far from perfect.
btw..... the same Great Man you quoted from now have followers who insist that you join them or die...... so much for following ethical principal of reversibility/reciprocity[/b]
Originally posted by hloc:We cannot say that there is no abuse derived from the ISA, but an innocent's 32 years of golden life being taken away is no funny thing, and 39 others are still sitting inside, some of which might be really innocent and they do not know how long they will be inside and they have no opportunity at all to prove their innocence WITHOUT A TRIAL.
No.... i just hope its not me who is arrested. But as we can all see (read)... with the amount of anti-Govt 'speeches' in this forum..... and YET non of us is invited to visit ISD HQ for coffee.... what abused is there ??
A Law that [b]COULD be Abused does not means that it HAD BEEN Abused..... Thats the difference I'm talking about.....
We can all agree that we have difference points of view.... Mine is that not all Laws are being Abused...... While your views are all Laws could be Abused. So, I agree to disagree.....[/b]
Originally posted by hloc:I HAS been abused. Obviously you have been sleeping the last 20 years.
No.... i just hope its not me who is arrested. But as we can all see (read)... with the amount of anti-Govt 'speeches' in this forum..... and YET non of us is invited to visit ISD HQ for coffee.... what abused is there ??
A Law that [b]COULD be Abused does not means that it HAD BEEN Abused..... Thats the difference I'm talking about.....
We can all agree that we have difference points of view.... Mine is that not all Laws are being Abused...... While your views are all Laws could be Abused. So, I agree to disagree.....[/b]
Originally posted by hloc:The Law that COULD be Abused, HAVE BEEN USED TO ABUSE more THAN A DOZEN TIMES IN THE PAST - on those that were able to CREDIBLY CHALLENGE the legitimacy of the monopolistic grip on politics by the existing Ruling Elite.
If there was ever a person who intentionally closed his eyes, ears to the truth, you would fit that description perfectly.Originally posted by hloc:Well, to each his/her view. I still think ISA is a needed law in S'pore. And that is that. Thxs![]()
I tink he really fit into the category of 'typical singaporean'. "none of my business i don't care, can improve security can liao, people kena detained also not me, I WILL NEVER kena detain one ma cux I will never get involved in anything stupid"Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:If there was ever a person who intentionally closed his eyes, ears to the truth, you would fit that description perfectly.
i think it only work against us peasants suka suka LKY see u on street dun like ya face can have u locked up till u grow old and die u want that?Originally posted by hloc:Well, to each his/her view. I still think ISA is a needed law in S'pore. And that is that. Thxs![]()
This law seem perverted right? Should the constitution look into this and trial the people who have being detained for justice sake?Originally posted by kengkia:i think it only work against us peasants suka suka LKY see u on street dun like ya face can have u locked up till u grow old and die u want that?![]()
And I oppose your proposal. Like other countries in the region, we should keep the death penalty for drug traffickers and always ensure that the is equally applied to all, locals or foreigners.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I would also propose dropping the mandatory death penalty and replacing it with detention without trial for drug traffickers, period as deemed fit by the President.
Pray tell, did you hear that the Italian criminals are requesting death penalty rather than life time imprisonment?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:And I oppose your proposal. Like other countries in the region, we should keep the death penalty for drug traffickers and always ensure that the is equally applied to all, locals or foreigners.
The rate of offence has not dropped.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:And I oppose your proposal. Like other countries in the region, we should keep the death penalty for drug traffickers and always ensure that the is equally applied to all, locals or foreigners.
the constitution belongs to LKY alone...thats not gonna happen....Originally posted by (human):This law seem perverted right? Should the constitution look into this and trial the people who have being detained for justice sake?
No drop in drug offences? Where's your evidence or is this another convenient ex cathedra pronouncement from the leftist papal throne? Read this:Originally posted by LazerLordz:The rate of offence has not dropped.
Basically, a drug trafficker's mind and motivation is one that is based on hedging.
Go think more about that.
We hold these truths to be self evident: that all men are created equal; that they are endowed by their Creator with certain inalienable rights; that among these are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.Originally posted by kengkia:the constitution belongs to LKY alone...thats not gonna happen....![]()
the people who being detained is being detained of LKY sake only...
The data is not mindblowing.Trafficking and abuse of recreational/soft drugs have increased in popularity, e.g cannabis.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:No drop in drug offences? Where's your evidence or is this another convenient ex cathedra pronouncement from the leftist papal throne? Read this:
http://www.cnb.gov.sg/drugs/index.asp?name=Drug%20Situation%20Report%202006&type=Drug%20Situation%20Report
The rate of offence could have skyrocketed given our proximity to the production areas. Why is Australia a base for Vietnamese drug traffickers? Go think about that.
rather pluck figures from the air, I seeOriginally posted by LazerLordz:The data is not mindblowing.Trafficking and abuse of recreational/soft drugs have increased in popularity, e.g cannabis.
Secondly, I'm not one of those individuals that take government statistics at face value.