I doubt it.Originally posted by Mid9Sun:how how better go get a cert for cleaning tables, selling burgers at mcdonalds and a taxi driver license ...worry worry
aiyo....then security guard or dish washer???? any suggestions??Originally posted by charlize:I doubt it.
They would rather hire ah mas and secondary school students.
For 3 or 4 bucks an hour.
Really.
Security guards are for 60 and above lah.Originally posted by Mid9Sun:aiyo....then security guard or dish washer???? any suggestions??
where got ppl want see fat middle age man do pole dancing....u watch too much full monty liao.......Originally posted by charlize:Security guards are for 60 and above lah.
Dish washing? Foreigners will do the job way cheaper than you.
My suggestion is pole dancing at the casinoes next time.
And no, I am not joking.
Really.
Let me tell you a story about 2 salespersons.Originally posted by Mid9Sun:where got ppl want see fat middle age man do pole dancing....u watch too much full monty liao.......
What sort of jobs the over 40 can apply? Any real cases like what designation he got? Wont he lose confidence when he sees other interviewees younger than him applying the same job?Originally posted by googoomuck:Govt must legislate it. Most emloyers don't follow guidelines one.
But job seekers over 40 with degrees and relewant work experience must also be prepared to accept lower salaries.
Govt must have watchdogs also to ensure employers don't take advantage and pay starving wages.
Are you currently looking for a job and above 35?Originally posted by Mid9Sun:aiyo....then security guard or dish washer???? any suggestions??
Ur fren finally managed to get the job offered by the headhunter?Originally posted by charlize:One friend of mine got a shock when a headhunter asked her if she was 35 or younger over the phone.
When she asked the headhunter whether it really mattered, the headhunter told her although it is not explicitly stated by potential employers, the headhunters will likely not get the business if they start recommending "older" workers.
And it was not an isolated case. A couple of recruitment agencies also said the same thing so likely it must be pretty true.
Go figure.
A local cannot hired more than five foreigners n there is a quota imposed on the no of foreigners able to join the company.Originally posted by dreamykite:No wonder so many foreigners in Sg. They are here to replace the above 35 singaporeans?
How about doing biz nowsaday? How successful is it?
Serious? saw a lot of company with > 5 foreigners in companies and hardly any local.Originally posted by will4:A local cannot hired more than five foreigners n there is a quota imposed on the no of foreigners able to join the company.
Depend on whether you are handsome/pretty anot lor.Originally posted by dreamykite:When I am a teenager, I asked a neighbour auntie why she didn't go working. She said that above 35 nobody want to hire leow, especially the factory.
Then 2007, I heard that working ages increase from 55 to 62...I am optimistic..
However, I made a phone call yesterday asking about the criteria for a job. The person on the other line asked, "Are you above 21 and not above 35"
After hearing this, I am lucky I havent reach the ceiling of 35 yrs old yet. But I am depress, is it above 35 mean no job?![]()
What u mentioned is true n it is also reported in one of the report this year.Originally posted by ^tamago^:Singapore has become a stepping stone for FT's. You have to move faster than them. Yes, I mean migrate.![]()
The company I worked in almost always replace with a younger worker when an older one leaves. Does that means no older applicants?Originally posted by dreamykite:What sort of jobs the over 40 can apply? Any real cases like what designation he got? Wont he lose confidence when he sees other interviewees younger than him applying the same job?
Any over 40s here looking for a job and what's the outcome? (Successful or not?)
i want to change job but not yet 35Originally posted by dreamykite:Are you currently looking for a job and above 35?
lol not true..u want to see how many FT my company has??Originally posted by will4:A local cannot hired more than five foreigners n there is a quota imposed on the no of foreigners able to join the company.
So change lor. Will be too late when you reach 35.Originally posted by Mid9Sun:i want to change job but not yet 35
How many of them?Originally posted by Mid9Sun:lol not true..u want to see how many FT my company has??
CPF will only be able to take out after 55. How they bring the monies to their country?Originally posted by will4:What u mentioned is true n it is also reported in one of the report this year.
When people become PR, they will get CPF contribution also.
When they go back to their countries, they will bring back their CPF savings together.
In general, a PR after working for some time if attracted to migrate to other country, they normally go n naturally they cannot take out their CPF money.Originally posted by dreamykite:CPF will only be able to take out after 55. How they bring the monies to their country?
F & BOriginally posted by will4:How many of them?
What is ur company involved in?
Some people thought that UBS and Credit Suisse are Indian banks.Originally posted by Mid9Sun:lol not true..u want to see how many FT my company has??