Alamak! i thought the glass ceiling was 40 years young, now it has been lowered to 35. Better exit asap.Originally posted by charlize:One friend of mine got a shock when a headhunter asked her if she was 35 or younger over the phone.
When she asked the headhunter whether it really mattered, the headhunter told her although it is not explicitly stated by potential employers, the headhunters will likely not get the business if they start recommending "older" workers.
And it was not an isolated case. A couple of recruitment agencies also said the same thing so likely it must be pretty true.
Go figure.
Hallo , how clever u r ???limited!!!!Originally posted by citymax:da ma de..u enough hor...wat sillyporeans!
True,that what my daughter in law remained as a PR once bond served with this stupid sg gov then say sayalala!!!!Originally posted by will4:In general, a PR after working for some time if attracted to migrate to other country, they normally go n naturally they cannot take out their CPF money.
U should take into consideration the interest earned in their CPF account.
When PR can withdraw the money, they can get their CPF plus interest earned.
why, u got mrt track fetish ar?Originally posted by royston_ang:there always the mrt track.![]()
Ya... actually, this is very disturbing for me too... though, my peers that are after 35 shared their real life experience with me but I still feel unsecure... haha... tat is y I read all views in this topc. But to my disappointment, most of views blame everything except themself. Few views are constructive. Well... I guess I will just have to follow the flow... and need to be competive in order to survive lor...Originally posted by sg mata:this is quite disturbing.....with more people becoming jobless at age 35 and above, how would they be able to support their families?? they will probably need to settle for a job wif lesser pay, but with spore's ever increasing cost of living, would these people be able to make ends meet??? most of these people above 35 still have school going children and are sole breadwinners......![]()
There is a quota, not in absolute numbers but as a percentage:Originally posted by Mid9Sun:lol not true..u want to see how many FT my company has??
me too.Originally posted by maggot:Haiz...I'm 30...jobless...![]()
Precisely the issue here; if people are hard put to find employment pass 35, how does our gov expect people's children to support them in old age? Unless of course your children studied abroad in some prestigeous University, graduates there, and returns (which is hardly the norm) to find gainful employment. But chances are often usual that they stay abroad, get married and never returns - pulling the parents over in the process.Originally posted by sg mata:this is quite disturbing.....with more people becoming jobless at age 35 and above, how would they be able to support their families?? they will probably need to settle for a job wif lesser pay, but with spore's ever increasing cost of living, would these people be able to make ends meet??? most of these people above 35 still have school going children and are sole breadwinners......![]()
Seems the word 30 or plus is a plague.....Originally posted by dragg:me too.![]()
But still a dog!!!Why????Originally posted by Arapahoe:I think the case of Singapore job market is really having nobody but we ourselves to blame. At the end of the day who make the hiring decision ? who cultivate these behavior. As a matter of fact for professional individual at the age between 35 to 40 yrs old, the person performances level is at its best because individual would have 6 to 8 yrs of relevant work experience. They know the do's n don't. What is unfortunate is the interviewer is younger than the interviewee and the synergy does not match.
Here is a typical likely scenario of a Male individual career path.
1) start up in the mid 20's (with a basic degree and completed NS.)
2) spend 3 years in the first jobs
3) change job and get a higher pay
4) Move to a junior mgr position ( 3 - 4 years moving into specializing industry)
5) Change job move to a regional position or higher position. (continue in specialized sectors)
Recession...., 911...., SAR, bird flu,.....Corporate restructuring. Terminated.
Start all over.
6) taxi driver, start up catering, start up .com, start up foodcourt stall, start up delivery, (duration 1 yr)
7) back to work force, if fortunate you can still take another job with equal pay, or take a lower paid.if canÂ’t find any jobs look for a way out go oversea.
Importing FT is a short term solution to Singapore dilemma. What I think the Gov has fail over and over again is not enough help for local Singapore companies to either venture outside of Singapore or develop internal market. I think at the end of the day, It is Singapore company that are job retainer. Not MNC.
Personally, I survived thru 97 Asia Financial woe, encounter 2 recession, within 8 years, but came 911 all regional operation stops. I canÂ’t possibility retired before 40, so I left Singapore at the first sign of opportunity. At the end of the day I owe my success to my effort.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:yup yup~ at least still got protect sg citizen rights ah. How many ppls in the class of the s-pass workers in sg ?
There is a quota, not in absolute numbers but as a percentage:
S Pass: For middle level skilled manpower e.g. technicians.
S Pass applicants are assessed using a points system that takes into consideration their salary, qualifications, skills, work experience and job type. S Pass applicants must be minimally paid a fixed monthly salary of $1,800. [b]There is a 10% quota for S Pass holders at the company level, and a levy of $50 applies for each S Pass holder. S Pass holders paid a fixed monthly salary of more than $2,500 qualify for dependant privileges.
Pass (Work Permit):For semi-skilled and unskilled foreign workers that do not qualify for S Passes.
Source country restrictions apply for all industry sectors. For instance, Services sector companies are allowed to recruit R Pass workers from Malaysia, Hong Kong, Macau, South Korea and Taiwan only. Companies employing R Pass workers are also subjected to the prevailing sectoral controls such as dependency ratio and levy. R Pass holders are not eligible for dependant privileges. Work Permits are also issued to foreign domestic workers.
So FT from China and India are not allowed to work on R Passes in service sector companies whilst FT with S Passes are limited to 10% quota at the comapny level.
There is no quota for professionals, managers, executives and specialists who are paid at least $2,500.
(http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/work_pass/overview_of_work_passes.html)[/b]
Why u reply 2 him ,he is a dog!!!!!Originally posted by BadzMaro:yup yup~ at least still got protect sg citizen rights ah. How many ppls in the class of the s-pass workers in sg ?
Sorry for until now I have no clue what u r trying to say? Can you please write what you want to say and don't write what you mean?Originally posted by foomwee88:But still a dog!!!Why????
No $,I think!!!be a dog 2 earn @ like OM fake dog!!!
Many people cannot cope with the hard facts of life, disillusioned, frustrated, bitter....partly due to the government, born in the wrong family, but I think they have to bear most of the responsibilities. If he were as old as he said, he had chances to make the difference, and if he hadn't, he can still blame the government, because the PAP government has created an environment that has little tolerance for those who can make it. But you still has himself to blame, the most.Originally posted by Arapahoe:Sorry for until now I have no clue what u r trying to say? Can you please write what you want to say and don't write what you mean?