Originally posted by spinsugar:
Right. Well the problem can't be serious, since we have not seen much coverage in our responsible media on the people supposedly suffering from this horrendous fate. Our media [b]is very responsible you know, they will surely be keen to dutifully expose such atrocities. Our government is the best in the world too and will never do anything to hurt their own people! Why, it may even have been an elaborate conjuration of the opposition to undermine support for the ruling party!
*dramatic gasp, swoons* Oh the thought!! Quick, fix the opposition! Buy the votes![/b]
we are cheap bloodOriginally posted by weiqimun:age aside, the odd thing here is FT is given so much weightage here, locals are treated like pariah....
I m in australia now [not permanently (yet)] and most of whom i speak to told me that aussie employers prefer local first. the barrier for FTs is so much higher for the same job. i think the same applies to many countries as well...another uniquely singapore trait.
ahem!..."structural retirement"Originally posted by fire & ice:More Quality Jobs for the People! We want quality jobs and not just any inching kurang job! I can get employed in a blink of an eye in a pub or restuarant as a waitress, cashier , cook but those jobs aren't for me!
so yes! unless you willing to downgrade, more often than not, the not soooo highly educated ones will suffer this early "retirement" syndrome!![]()
AHEM!!! Yes, you're absolutely right!Originally posted by mancha:ahem!..."structural retirement"
they don't suffer the same fate as the ordinary people so they don't hack the care!! only good at asking people to upgrade, be competitive to compete. do things to protect and care for themselves more than the nation. bloody damn!! by not setting quota to allow so many FTs here even how we upgrade to compete it is not very promising!!! gahmen very good think of themselves!! Why don't they get FTs to compete with them also? always expect the ordinary singaporeans to compete with FTs, they should give themselves chance to compete with the FTs to see where they stand!!Originally posted by ShutterBug:Precisely the issue here; if people are hard put to find employment pass 35, how does our gov expect people's children to support them in old age? Unless of course your children studied abroad in some prestigeous University, graduates there, and returns (which is hardly the norm) to find gainful employment. But chances are often usual that they stay abroad, get married and never returns - pulling the parents over in the process.
So within this issue of aged-descrimination in employment, lies the local brain and talent drain...unfortunately, our know-it-all gov chooses to be blind to all this happening before their eyes!
Originally posted by Omniknight:may I know why do you ask? ARe you going to employ us?
hey what jobs do you guys and gals here do, and whats your salary
so many degree holders have problems getting jobs.Originally posted by Omniknight:i pity those that spend $500k on a degree
At age 35 and out of jobs how to have children!!!!Originally posted by ShutterBug:Precisely the issue here; if people are hard put to find employment pass 35, how does our gov expect people's children to support them in old age? Unless of course your children studied abroad in some prestigeous University, graduates there, and returns (which is hardly the norm) to find gainful employment. But chances are often usual that they stay abroad, get married and never returns - pulling the parents over in the process.
So within this issue of aged-descrimination in employment, lies the local brain and talent drain...unfortunately, our know-it-all gov chooses to be blind to all this happening before their eyes!
Our gov is very kocky one... they will always do things until they kock-up in a big way, then start to turn around and give their action of damage control some smart sounding name....Originally posted by rane:they don't suffer the same fate as the ordinary people so they don't hack the care!! only good at asking people to upgrade, be competitive to compete. do things to protect and care for themselves more than the nation. bloody damn!! by not setting quota to allow so many FTs here even how we upgrade to compete it is not very promising!!! gahmen very good think of themselves!! Why don't they get FTs to compete with them also? always expect the ordinary singaporeans to compete with FTs, they should give themselves chance to compete with the FTs to see where they stand!!
Not true leh. I come across an engineering firm, hired more that 5 China engineers. About 40% of the engineers are from PRC. Besides, engineers, they also employ clerks from PRC.Originally posted by will4:A local cannot hired more than five foreigners n there is a quota imposed on the no of foreigners able to join the company.
According to their wishes, things are done and implemented. Sad, most of us can't afford to migrate and I also worry for my old age if I can manage to cope with the cost of living here. Remember the toad called Lee Hsien Loong said more than once that he is not making this a welfare state. He sounded so heartless whenever he said this. Doesn't he know what goes around comes around, what goes up must come down!! So heartless, doesn't he afraid his cancer will recur!! Oh whatever God, please deal with this fellow! Fxxk !!! Think we should give the present ruling party a break and get a new political party or the existing opposition party to take over!!!Originally posted by ShutterBug:Our gov is very kocky one... they will always do things until they kock-up in a big way, then start to turn around and give their action of damage control some smart sounding name....
Look at how they now embrace Casinos, and F1 racing here... look at what happened to their Stop at Two policy... there so many other stupid things they do which in the end, need to make U-turn!
Will they ever ONCE listen to us? No... not even till when the cows and all of the animal kingdom comes home...!
They pay themselves MILLIONS... for what? To be "brain dead" to more revenues and incomes for themselves....
Like I've said, and I know for all of us who cannot afford to migrate out, are doomed if this stubborn gov of ours refuses to change and continues to be centerd on power, money, and self-gains...
and the gahmen said don't depend on them and expect people of Singapore to help to increase birth rate when people have problems looking for jobs. Theirs is the only secure job in Singapore. Iron rice bowls!!Originally posted by necten:Im 31 already liao this year... and believe me, competing with those fresh grads can be really frustrating.... No skill upgrade, too old, slow learner, etc etc etc.... So many resumes send no replies.... Sigh!!!
Fricking competition in Singapore is killing the older workers off! how to juggle between family life and work and REMAIN at the top...
Precisely brother! For "low" educated guys like me (im diploma btw), how to compete? Every Sat see recruit but so hard to get jobs!!!Originally posted by rane:and the gahmen said don't depend on them and expect people of Singapore to help to increase birth rate when people have problems looking for jobs. Theirs is the only secure job in Singapore. Iron rice bowls!!