Get use to it..... here, u can only be Anti-Govt. If you are Pro or Neutral like me.... ppl here will just flame U. But do remember that you have a RIGHT to your own VIEWS...... let no such ppl tell U otherwise.Originally posted by citymax:i will not entertain useless reply like this.
I do agree on the cost of living in Singapore is getting higher and higher. So we should focus on the topic of solving the problem for the lower income families, and not accusing the government for not doing anything.Originally posted by red_amoeba:I take gripes with the civil service pay increment. They justify like crazy on why minsisters deserve millon-dollar salary and yet on the other hand, they go around telling companies to adopt flexible pay structure because our cost is too high & not competitive - so tell me, what is what?
They compared their pays to private sector and they claimed if they don't receive this "competitive" pay, no one will stay in public sector and all will go into private sector. But they forget, you want private sector's pay but are you prepared to meet the KPIs set out? I have no complaints if the ministers all list out their KPIs, and at the end of every year, give the public an account of what has been achieved and what has not. If they have surpassed their KPIs, good, I say they deserve their pay rise. Otherwise, ps don't talk. This is the way of life. Can I tell my boss that if he doesn't give me a pay rise, I will be corrupted? It does not take much imagination what he's going to tell me.
One good example of failed KPI, we want to make Singapore an education hub - but UNSW closed down, thats a black mark on the relevant minstries. So, what have they done?
moreover, the latest report have it that our pay ranked highest amongst all third world countries - what an irony - why isn't our costs then third world costs? What is our learned leaders doing?
Secondly, I have no gripes if the leaders of Singapore are there because they won an election through public debates and the public / constituency voted them in - be in a slender margin or landslie - I have nothing to say. However, if you hang onto the coatails of someone else to enter parlliment, I don't know what to say about the leader - I don't see his leadership and I am not even half convinced that he can lead. And I cannot change this bceause I cannot use my vote to influence the outcome.
Every single day, costs of living are higher and given that Singapore being a free economy cannot be helped but surely the government can do something - not to increase the GST?? A mere 2% is peanuts to them but to us commoners its a huge affair. The justification of having to increase the GST to help the poor is akin to robbing Peter to help Tom. Does that mean if our GST is not increased, we will lose our competiveness & investments will dwindle? Aren't we the second most competitive economy?
please some? hm.....maybe. but what this the purpose of the policies? it is implemented to benefit the majority but does the present policies does that? today, what is implemented is more like a plug hole policiesOriginally posted by citymax:Thanks for all the valuable input that will make Singapore a better place to live in. I do agree we have incompetent leaders. The policies the present government bring out might please some and also will agitate a few. Some will benefits from the policies and some will suffer.
We cant be promoting a country tat can please everyone, or taking money out from the treasury to give to the people every month. Do rem that we are a small country, these money are a global advantage for us. Have u ever thought why our neighbouring country keep presuring us and send rumours among our ppl. this is to create a society unstable/chaos, and unfortunately, we prefer to hear things that we like to hear. that is why ppl in singapore keep on complaining on the system of the government.
In the coporate world, i do believe some of the management personnel also not up to the marks and also drawing millions of dollar a year. This is true and we cant have all the good apple in a big basket, there tend to have some rotten ones.
One question:Originally posted by citymax:But who gave their votes????
The majority of the citizens in Singapore.
So may i right to say only the minority are complaining on the system of the government.
When you monopolise the market, there is no need for you to improve.Originally posted by Bontakun:I see Eiizumi's point too. Too much power is in the current governing body. No others to check them. When you have an opponent, you strive to do better. If you have no opponents, you stopped.
i think u better not talk anymore, coz u just scold the majority of the Singaporean Stupid..Originally posted by maurizio13:Can't help it if the majority of Singaporeans are stupid!!!
Them, by giving out money just before the election swayed alot of votes to their side. Stupid Singaporeans thought they were given a free chicken, rejoiced at it, couple of months down the road, they have to cough out 2 chickens.
Hahaha.......
Past is past. What holds to our future generation is now.Originally posted by citymax:Hi,
I sense the battle for the next polls has already begin.
Alot of forumers are posting subject that insulted our current governement, i not sure what is their motives and what message are they bringing to the others forumers tat reads their posts.
I feel over the past 40 odd years, the government has been doing alot for the citizen in Singapore, but still get insult for their policies. I wonder what is the best treatment they want from the Government.
Should we just moved backward to the troublesome period in 1950s, think how the government help the us during the economy crisis, how the ministers assist the Sars period. They done enough to earn our respect and not insults and complains from us why they need to earn so much money.
I do agree the society need to be more democratic and free voicing of the people. But how much trust are we prepare to give to the new opposition parties.
So 60% of the Singaporean worked as director, producer and casting manager huh..Originally posted by ShutterBug:One question:
Do you, and anyone of us here, really know WHO these 'majority' who voted for them are???
They are the Director, Producer, and Casting Manager of the entire GE show!
How old are you? Have you reached 40 yet? Are you still employed and approaching 40?
Come back here when you have lost your job to FTs or younger locals, at the age of 40 or even before, and see if you say the same thing!
Originally posted by hloc:Yah, you have a right to your own views. But if you have been corrected but persisted in your deluded views, you are nothing but a mere pooch, incapable of the right view.
Get use to it..... here, u can only be[b] Anti-Govt. If you are Pro or Neutral like me.... ppl here will just flame U. But do remember that you have a RIGHT to your own VIEWS...... let no such ppl tell U otherwise.[/b]
That is the bad thing. It will degrade if there is no need for improvement. We all have our history lessons with governments. I hope they learn more from there.Originally posted by maurizio13:When you monopolise the market, there is no need for you to improve.
When you are in a perfect competition, you need to strive to improve, else you would be kicked out.
Competition only brings out the best for consumers and citizens alike.
Dun oppose for the sake of opposing.Originally posted by citymax:i think u better not talk anymore, coz u just scold the majority of the Singaporean Stupid..
so u gave ur vote to opposition huh, which makes u cleverer then us huh...
what have they done to help. Oh i forgot they increase GST to help the poor. i'm sad you accepted the bait with GST credit but how long does it last or whether it help? today all the essential are on the rise. all medical cost are on the rise. transport fare are on the riseOriginally posted by citymax:I do agree on the cost of living in Singapore is getting higher and higher. So we should focus on the topic of solving the problem for the lower income families, and not accusing the government for not doing anything.
The GST credits are given out to all Singaporean, i know is not enough, but i do believe the government will have other plans.
Well PAP has a majority vote of 66.6% in a election system engineered by the PAP. And that is only in the contested GRCs and SMCs. A pity they(oppsition) didn't contest further.Originally posted by citymax:But who gave their votes????
The majority of the citizens in Singapore.
So may i right to say only the minority are complaining on the system of the government.
Paid $2500 and you're not happy?Originally posted by citymax:So 60% of the Singaporean worked as director, producer and casting manager huh..
im 30 years old, pay only 2500.
hopefully can strike toto and dun work.
but when reach 40 and find no job, i think we can gather at the top of the hdb and jump down together, coz as u say we will never find a job again after 40. No point living liao as we cant afford to pay our bills and the fees of our children.
I agree with you on the GST policy.Originally posted by Gazelle:I believe the whole idea of increasing GST by 2% is to fund some future expenditure which our government has yet to announce and I believe that this is likely to be something that will benefit the low income Singaporeans. Suppose if this is true, I will fully support the increase of 2% GST because
a) The lower income Singapore will gain at the expense of the middle and higher income earners, which I think it fair.
b) An increase in 2% GST will means that our government will generate more revenue fpr Singapore from the influx of tourists and foreigners. Yes, there is such thing as GST rebate, but not expenses can qualify for rebate.
PAP might be hard on the opposition who is trying to distablise the government, but I believe they are not cold blooded human beings who will neglect those who have left behind.
Actually PAP having 51% is still bad, they are still able to pass laws on their own. if they have 40-45% they can still be the ruling party if the rest of the 55% votes are split between two or more parties.Originally posted by Eiizumi:Seriously, for a stable nation, I rather have PAP as having the majority seats of more than 50%. But I would also want to see pposition of at least 45% simply become there is literally no opposition power to resist policies that the people feel it is not good for them.
I see. Never look into the Elections/ Parliament Act.Originally posted by Jontst78:Actually PAP having 51% is still bad, they are still able to pass laws on their own. if they have 40-45% they can still be the ruling party if the rest of the 55% votes are slipt between two or more parties.